We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overall good, but not great”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it is 4 star and apparently in city centre. We found the staff to be brilliant, smiley and very helpful throughout.
However, whilst the hotel is very clean and comfortable, the rooms are very small ( we did get moved to a slightly bigger room, which was much appreciated). For us, it took about 20-25 minutes to walk ( lovely walk along the river) to George Square, not the 10 mins we were told it was from City centre.
The wifi was also very poor throughout and when I asked for help to improve the service, I was informed that they could provide ethernet cables for laptops, but nothing could be done to improve service to my ipad.
Whilst I have little to complain about in particular, there is also little that would make us return - apart from lovely staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weemouse0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear weemouse0802

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations and that the Wifi was not to your satisfaction.

We were one of the first hotels in Glasgow to offer complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and recognise that increased demand for this service requires further investment - we expect our Wifi to be enhanced before the end of the year with the installation of new equipment allowing faster download speeds.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    1,000
    327
    109
    44
See reviews for
289
1,115
137
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here while on business during Commonwealth Games. It was the perfect base. Room was on the river side right beside the bridge. Small but perfectly clean with everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. Restaurant food was good and the service excellent. Perfect end to the working day was a drink on the terrace overlooking the river. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room. Colleagues on the road side had some noise from the pub across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear ScottishLady38

Thank you for such a positive review.

Our newly refurbished riverside terrace is a great location to unwind after a hard day at work!

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Visiting relatives and had free time, so we went by train to Glasgow. You walk out of train station catch the tour bus and it drops you off at stop 13 in front of the Garden Inn. Nice quiet area not far in 1/2 hour walking distance to downtown or as I did purchased two day pass on the tour bus. LOOK FOR THE SIGN which I attached.
Great breakfast served which is extra, but worth it. I am a Hilton Member and booked on-line in USA.Tip ask for room facing the river.
Do Not miss the Riverside Museum just down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matusla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Matusla

Thank you for your review and taking the time to upload some photos.

Our central location on the sightseeing bus network allows for easy access to both the shopping district and west-end areas of Glasgow.

I do agree that the Riverside Museum for transport is a must visit when staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel really doesn't seem budget at all - its beautiful inside and the room was very luxurious. Our hotel room looked out onto the Clyde and the Squinty Bridge.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful and gave us advice on how to get to the railway station, ordering a taxi for us which arrived faster than we could get downstairs for!
The room had an iMac which was very modern but the television reception wasn't as good as a normal television.
Overall, highly recommended - great for access to the SCC but a little far out from the city centre unless using a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Have lost count the number of times stayed at this hotel.

Always stay here if we are coming down for a concert or football. Very good location. 2 min walk to SECC or Hydro, 20min walk to Ibrox and a 15min walk to The Quay. Prob about half hour walk into town or you can get a taxi.

Wide choice at the buffet breakfast. Decent selection at supper time too. There is a wee pantry that sells crisps, sweets, juice/alcohol, ice cream and ready meals if required.

Yes the rooms are more on the cramped side esp the showerroom but it has everything you need and how much time do you actually spend in your room anyways.

Will always return to this hotel when visiting Glasgow which is atleast 4 times a year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenhuni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here on an overnight stay as we were going to a concert at The Hydro which is a 1 minute walk from the hotel. It's an ideal location with no noisy traffic going past. Staff were very friendly, room was clean and tidy. We also ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal which had plenty choice. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice in the buffet. We have already booked for another stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GILLIANO015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at the Hilton twice during May, good location, great rooms and facilities and the staff very friendly and helpful. There is a good Italian restaurant across the road. Booked hotel through Qantas , very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,350 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing