We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Great stay at City Inn Glasgow with my mate. Very clean and nicely decorated hotel. Contempoary feel, quite stylish for a very good value hotel. 15 minute walk along the river to centre of town or about 5 mins in a taxi so very convenient indeed. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout our two night stay. We were late for breakfast on the second day and the staff could not have been more helpful and they basicaly arranged a special breakfast for us in the bar/cafe area. We tried to leave a tip for the staff for their special service but they would not accept this and they did all of this with a smile and good manners. Totally charming. Would certainly suggest this hotel to any of my friends going to stay over in Glasgow and would stay here again myself. Mant thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,490 - 2,496 of 2,694 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2009

After staying at the City Inn Westminster and being so impressed I thought I would book the City Inn Glasgow. The staff are warm and welcoming but I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. Stains on the carpet and curtains which is not good for a 4* Hotel especially the price I paid. (London was cheaper!) Facilities in room are to the same high standard. Breakfast first morning was a hit or a miss and after waiting some time I had to ask waiting staff to take my order. However they do have a good selection to choose from both continental and cooked. Dishwasher must need a good clean as some of the crockery is coming out dirtier than when it went in. Location is good for SECC. Didn't attempt the walk from town, didn't look pleasant but taxi cost about £5. Not sure I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed in Glasgow a few times recently due to business and the City Inn is the only place I have been back to, again and again. The rooms are very comfortable, the in-room iMac entertainment with free internet is a very nice touch. The resteraunt serves excellent food both in the evenings and during breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docskeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed here for a concert on the 23rd and was not disappointed. It was literally a 3 minute walk to the SECC, no taxi's needed unless you wanted to go deeper into the city - and even then they only cost approx £6. The restaurant had lovely food before the concert and the room was comfy with a view of the river. All the amenities were of a high standard and the staff were all very nice. The only negative side was the I had pre-paid for an early check in since I was arriving on an early flight, their system was down and they couldn't find my booking. As a result instead of checking in at 10am I checked in around 2pm, they did their best to facilitate us though. Would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekysiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I was at a concert at the SECC and got a good deal online for this hotel which is 5 minutes walk away from the venue which was excellent. Room was good sized with a brilliant view out over the river. Restaurant did a very nice early evening special menu which was good value and the bar was a cool place to come back to after the concert. Nice not to have to worry about taxis! The great thing is its a short walk to the train station and its only 2 stops into the city so it would be fine for a sightseeing citybreak as well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triathlonkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I'd read a rave about City Inns in the Observer, and the Glasgow facility lived up to the billing for the most part. Rooms are not huge, but are well laid out, and I was especially pleased that the room not only had WiFi but an actual computer (on which you could also watch TV). Staff were knowledgeable and friendly, and everything seemed very clean. The only real drawback is the location--great fot SECC but not much else, including restaurants--but it's a quick and cheap taxi ride to the Merchant City or Byres Road. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onegoodyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Stayed at City Inn for one night with colleagues as we were attending a conference. The Hotel is located on the bank of the River Clyde right next to the SECC so ideal if you are visiting here. City Centre is only a short tax ride away or a 20 minute walk if you are feeling energetic.

Check-in was efficient but there was no explanation of facilities, restaurant times or the breakfast drill.

The Hotel is very modern with first class in-room facilities. Each room has an i-mac which gives you access to the hotel's Sky TV (full package with all the sports), freeview channels and a host of other facilities. It's essentially a Mac Computer so you can work on documents, files etc, access broadban internet (complimentary) as well as itunes, etc etc. Room is also equipped with iron & board.

This Hotel (along with others in the City Inn group) has rooms with shower only so if you are looking for a bath you'll be disappointed. The shower room is well kitted out with good fittings and a heated mirror which is always a bonus.

The hotel has a 'fitness room' but it is very, very small with a treadmill, cross trainer and weights bench only. Maximum of three people and always full. If this is a priority for you, the Marriott in Glasgow is a better choice.

The restaurant food was good and they were running a special giving you 3 courses from the a-la-carte menu at £21 which is good for the quality of the food. The breakfast was good with a buffet continental breakfast and hot breakfast which was cooked to order and high quality.

Overall a good stay and if you like facilities and don't mind being a bit out of the city centre, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,431 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
1,195 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,487 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £52 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing