We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Things got off to a good start when we arrived in the early morning after an overnight flight hoping for an early check-in. It was great to have some sleeping time! Staff was courteous, although not overly friendly... The room was very modern and comfortable. We especially liked the iMac computer available for use in the room, although more extensive instructions on how to operate it would have been appreciated. The breakfast was overpriced, but the room was very good value for the money, in a scenic location beside the river... Overall, we were very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    929
    305
    102
    34
See reviews for
255
1,029
131
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed here for one night prior to leaving from Glasgow airport. We got an incredible bed and breakfast deal through booking directly with the hotel. We also chose to have an evening meal in the restaurant and were inpressed with the quality of the meal.

Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. Our room was spotless, comfortable and had everything we needed. This is an ideal hotel for a short stay and we would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed for one night at this hotel in order to attend business meeting.

Had last stayed there when the hotel was new around about 8 years ago.To be honest not much has changed really in that time apart from the fact that they have Apple Mac computers to use as a TV in your room. Bed was not the most comfortable and room was pretty small in size. Decor was very much in the style of a Premier Travel Inn.

Only get a very small shower room. No bath. Air conditioning is very noisy.

Service at breakfast was slow and tables in restaurant are so close to each other that it feels like you are in the personal space of others.

This is not the worst hotel in Glasgow, far from it, however there are many better hotels for a similar price.

This hotel is a good 3 star hotel but due to room size and comfort of the bed I would not give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garstang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

just returned from 3days in glasgow and absolutly loved the city inn, we arrived by train at 9.45am and we took a taxi to the city inn to leave our luggage and planned to have breakfast and go off for a walk and find our way round when we arrived at the hotel they said we could check in straight away as the room was ready i can honestly say this is the first time this has ever happened to us, check inn was very easy and quick we went to our room on the 5th floor it was lovely, we had our 8yr old son with us and he loved the hotel, it is about 20min walk from buchanan street , the city bus tour which stops right outside the hotel is an excellant way to get around it was £9 per adult and no charge for my son it lasts for 2days and you can hop on and off as many times as you like so we used this as aposed to taxis and we got to see everything aswell.
glasgow itself is not the best in my oppinion but we had a lovely 3days and the hotel made it for us i could not fault anything there, we ate in city cafe in the evenings 2 menus to choose both excellant food and value.we would definatly stay there again but i have to say the only reason i would go back to glasgow is for the shopping.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennyGarstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I have now stayed here several times and it never disapoints. The rooms are lovely, have everything you want and if you get a view of the river , even better. The breakfast is delicious with everything cooked to order and loads of choice of cold buffet items , lovely fruit salad etc. They will make you a proper coffee if you ask. The staff are all really helpful and couldnt have been nicer to us. We ate in the restuarant with family and the dinner was gorgeous. Definitely one of my favourite places to stay in Glasgow and well worth the good value deal I found on Late Rooms.Com. Worth checking out, especially if you are going to the SECC to a concert.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,015 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Very handy hotel by the river. Easy walking distance to the SECC and city centre.



Rooms are very small and have too much furniture crammed in so consequently one has to move the chair to access the wardrobe and drawers that are inside it. Nice River views with floor to ceiling windows. High tech TV, DVD, PC Radio system.

Beds are queen size but very comfortable and clean.

Shower rooms are tiny, in fact be aware if you suffer at all from claustrophobia. I don’t and even I was starting to feel a tiny bit anxious in there with the door closed.

The room came with nice toiletries (the white company) and robes sadly torn and tatty but seemed like a nice touch.

Other guests could be heard but only slightly and given that this place feels a bit like a travel inn that was a nice surprise as we expected much more noise.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection of cooked and buffet dishes. Coffee was terrible.

Service is impeccable everyone from reception to porter was professional friendly polite and efficient. Top marks to all.



Would I recommend it? Yes for a short stay definitely but not quality luxury.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Had a very good weekend in Glasgow, and this hotel filled oour needs

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBillbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing