We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the iMac”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Free WiFi, an iMac in each room, enormous beds - just what you want for a business trip away. Reasonably priced and close to the Science Centre and Imax and only 5 minutes cab journey from the station (or a 25 minute stroll along the River). This area of Glasgow is gradually being developed to cater for business hotels and leisure both sides of the Clyde River. Outside the hotel is not very attractive and looks functional but the service inside is very good and having your own computer in the room is great not only for business but for contacting home via Skype etc. Breakfast was great too. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anicedropofclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,335 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at the hotel while attending a family members 21st in Glasgow back in November 2009. We had booked into our room (which we got at a great rate online) and put our bags in the cupboard and then went out into glasgow to do some shopping. On our return the room key wouldnt work and the "do not disturb" sign was on our door. Turned out they had checked someone else into our room while our things were still in there.
Obviously we spoke to reception and the duty manager sorted things out. We were transferred to another room and he retrieved our belongings and kindly upgraded us to a breakfast package for the morning.
On my return home I thought I would email the manager of the hotel to advise of this and he replied and offered us a complimentary stay full bed and breakfast for a date of our choice. We gratefully accepted as we are often through in Glasgow for various events.
We cashed in our complimentary stay for the Sat 24th April and what a success it was. When I checked about our reservation I had asked if they could book me a further room for my friends which they kindly did and gave them a reduced rate also which was very much appreciated. The room was spotless and looking over the river, very happy with the tv/internet service in the room and complimentary toiletries by White Company are fabby! We had a great night out and a comfortable stay on our return.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely, all staff were very pleasant. I will definitely be back, it is in a great location and is easy to find and with free parking it is very high on our list.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone - couples, business, friends etc it would cater for it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed on a Friday night as we were attending a wedding reception. The blonde receptionist (female) was extremely welcoming and friendly and, on request, allocated us a river-view room. Our room was perfect for our needs - clean and homely with an IMac computer/TV. I liked the small touches of White Company products and fluffy white towels.
Downstairs int he bar, the bartender was polite but not overly interested in chatting when we attempted to make conversation. Being bartenders in a boutique hotel ourselves we notice this kind of effort which is why I'm pointing this out, as I was left feeling a little foolish for having tried to initiate a chat. We had a light snack in the comfortable bar lounge before heading out for the evening, in the taxi called for us by the receptionist.
In the morning the staff were excellent - our breakfast was tasty and I felt spoiled by the choice on offer - cereals, toast, salmon, cheeses, plus a cooked breakfast. Very nice.
Again the receptionist on departure was lovely, wishing us a pleasant journey home.
The only marring of our experience was the selfish group of concert-goers who decided to wake us up at 7.20am on a Saturday morning, shouting to each other across the hall.
At only £59 for the night I consider this well spent and would thoroughly recommend for a short stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazed-ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Having stayed in City Inns in Birmingham and Westminster, we were a little disappointed with this hotel. I booked on the internet, and the room was charged to my credit card twice, although this was sorted out quite quickly after I phoned the hotel. The room we were given was on the front of the hotel, overlooking a boarded off site awaiting development, where presumably a building has been demolished, so not a pretty view (I guess the rooms to the rear of the hotel have a much more desirable view of the river). The iMacs in City Inn rooms are a nice feature, but the room overall felt a little tired, with a very small bathroom. Although, being in a city, noise is to be expected, we have always had a very good night’s sleep in other City Inns. However, there seems to be a taxi rank or drivers' waiting area opposite this hotel, so there was a fair amount of noise from revellers until late in the night (nothing more sinister than drunken cheers, but enough to disturb your sleep). We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was of a good standard and reasonably priced, and a good breakfast. The other positive is that most of the staff were very polite and attentive, but one or two of the ladies serving in the restaurant were a little bit direct. Overall, we’ve always been impressed by City Inn, and would continue to use their other hotels, but we’d think twice before staying in City Inn Glasgow again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandD_Geog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I stayed at the City Inn whilst on a business trip to Glasgow and found it to be a really enjoyable experience. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. The rooms have iMacs so I was able to work and contact friend on msn. The breakfast was one of the best I've had and there is a handy Indian restaurant over the road for an evening meal.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Just stayed the one night, on return from a holiday. The room was clean, comfortable and modern. The breakfast was excellent - good fruit juice, smoked salmon, good quality cooked breakfast to order, ... . Car parking was a difficulty. The weekend price we paid of £60 was great value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller001Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Really liked this hotel. Stayed for a gig at SECC which was within walking distance and we could get the car parked in their car park. The hotel itself was very gadgety (other half LOVED the Mac set up!), clean and modern. The staff were lovely and had the bar been a little cheaper we probably would have spent more time in there!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nervette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,384 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,368 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £65 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing