We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive Premises & Setting, Efficient Rooms, Slightly Out of the Way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Attractive Premises & Setting, Efficient Rooms, Slightly Out of the Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I spent a night in Glasgow at the very end of May, as I had a flight out of Scotland the next day, and decided to see a little bit of Glasgow while I was at it. I booked an advance purchase room with breakfast for a great price and had a wonderful experience at the City Inn.

The hotel was compact but well appointed. Front desk staff were friendly, and check in and check out were easy. The hotel is next to the River Clyde, and my upper floor room had a pleasant view looking out onto the water (just as I requested!).

The room was compact as well, perhaps a bit too compact, but again everything was well appointed. The iMac entertainment system was novel and very much appreciated, and its all-in-one design helped maximize the free space available inside the room. The bathroom was clean and well laid-out.

I found the breakfast experience a bit confusing, as it was semi-buffet and semi-waiter service. However, the food and drink were good and the riverside setting was relaxing.

The only issue I had with the hotel was access to its location. I liked being on the water and knew that the City Inn was between the central business district and the west end, but it was not easy to reach on public transport. (But that's the fault of Glasgow's poor public transport and not the City Inn, for the record.) I had to walk to/from here, which was fine during my stay but a bit tedious upon arrival and departure with luggage.

Overall, I recommend the City Inn while visiting Glasgow. It's a nice place!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    932
    305
    102
    34
See reviews for
257
1,032
131
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed for two nights and was very impressed. Having free wifi and Imacs in each room was fantastic. The location of the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Central Station along the River Clyde. Really helpful and courteous staff, would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marrenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We spent three nights in the City Inn whilst visiting museums and art galleries in Glasgow. Hotel staff are charming, food is good and the river view rooms are compact but extremely well equipped. A pleasant 20 min walk along the river to the city centre and the excellent city tour bus stops outside the hotel. This is highly recommended and as it is a hop on and off and tickets are valid for 2 days excellent way of getting around sights.
We had a good deal with last min.com and would certainly recommend this hotel and the concept of City Inn

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

My Company uses City Inns as a matter of routine therefore I have stayed in many of the chains hotels and the Glasgow outpost on more than one occaision. My view is it seems to have gone down hill a little.

Service on my most recent visit left me with the feeling that there is something amiss with the staff morale and motivation to serve the guest - No smiles and somewhat abrupt. Appearance wise standards are slipping too with unshaven and scruffy staff,

Maintenance and cleanliness wise there seems to be opportunity here - looking in detail it looks less well cared for now and - well used.

The worst point my room smelt like a chain smoking sweaty rugby team with wet dogs had used the room before me. Not nice. The quilts and pillows were well worn and limp.

Its a shame that a guenuinely innovative chain like this is beginnning to show signs of complacency by not perfecting the details that used to set it apart.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disco09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay at City Inn Glasgow.

It is very disappointing to read that on this occasion we did not achieve our normal high level of service.

You can be assured that we are not complacent and will address every point you have made.

I am grateful that you are aware of the exceptional standards we normally offer having previously had a positive experience in Glasgow and in our sister Hotels.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss your recent stay further by emailing: brian.mcnelis@cityinn.com or phoning the Hotel 0141 240 1002

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed at the City Inn on a Sunday night in August. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the river and the view was lovely The room was clean and comfortable and had a mini bar, safe, ironing board and best of all an imac media system. This included internet, dvd, cd as well as your TV and was great.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast had all the usual options with some extra choices such as smoked haddock, kippers or smoked salmon. It was waiter service for the cooked options and buffet style for the cereal, fruit, juice etc. The hotel also has a private car park which is free. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights this August. It wasn't the cheapest but we had difficulties finding anything for under £120/night. Oddly the dinner plus bed and breakfast was a less expensive option than just the bed and breakfast, so that was a pretty good deal.

First impressions were not super positive, as the Glasgow Airport bus doesn't stop anywhere near the hotel, so a taxi is necessary if you do not have your own car. The location in general isn't good - nice view of the river, but it's difficult to access, not close to anything (other then the motorway overpass and the exhibition centre), and the area felt a bit dodgy at night.

Inside was clean and modern. Tiny yet functional and very clean bathroom. Room was well kept and decent size. Unexpected bonus was the full iMac computer in the room (!) which functions as both a television and a computer.

The breakfast/dining room is quite lovely, the staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast itself is delicious and plentiful - lots of options for different diets. The dinner we had one night was really nice too, good quality and presentation.

Another bonus is the free outdoor parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

I went to a concert in Glasgow this place was perfect. City centre, friendly staff (I was on my own) in the bar made me feel right at home. I love Glasgow anyway, so if you are looking for value in the city centre this one did it for me anyway. Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolcream7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#23 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing