We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impressions are wrong”
Review of Merchant City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant City Inn
Ranked #84 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My first impression upon arriving was not that good. It appeared to be a bit run down. However, my room 107 had recently been refurbished, albeit economically. It was clean and comfortable and of a nice size. The bathroom was a good size and the fittings acceptable. The sealant around the bath could do with a bit of attention though. The basement breakfast room is pleasant and comfortable. I would advise paying the £3 supplement to upgrade to the Scottish breakfast as the 'continental' seems a bit basic. No cheese or cold meats or hard boiled eggs, just cereals and croissants and fruit. The staff explained to me that they are in the process of revamping the hotel. The central location and for the price i would consider it to be a bargain and will definitely stay there again when i return to Glasgow in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

I arrived at this hotel and almost immediately wished I had not. I was alone and had to climb two steep and uneven flights of stairs and the two men working at reception did not even bother to help me with my bags or even ask me if I did indeed need any help.

After lugging my bags upstairs what awaited me was awful. Dirty rooms covered with dust, only one light working in the bathroom, old-fashioned facilities and no heating - which in February is a problem.

The main problem however was on my first night trying to settle in three men unlocked my door and entered my room without even knocking. I got such a fright. One man told me they were here to look around to sort out renovations that they were going to carry out......better to knock the place down and start again. Then two days later the maid opened my door with a key, again without knocking. I was furious and complained to a receptionist. She did not seem to care too much and just said that she would 'speak to the girl'. The next night I moved some furniture in front of the door just in case...

As a girl travelling alone, this honestly was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. I would wholly advise against booking at this establishment.

From start to finish it was awful

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talktolaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Overnight stay for two with full breakfast for £60.00 in the Merchant City are of Glasgow so I class this as a bargin. Don't expect the lap of luxury but it is an honest, clean well run hotel. The rooms are a decent size and showers hot and powerful. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast room quite basic but the chef on duty was friendly and cooked to order so food was fresh and hot. I would recommend this hotel for a bolt hole if your in Glasgow for the sales or looking for somewhere of value for an overnight if your seeing a show or out with the girl but not a romantic break. That's not to the depremeant of the establishment, the place was clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripholiday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night (Hogmanay) into 1/1/2014. Very friendly welcome from the Manager/receptionist. He explained why I hadn't been able to get through on the phone - It had been shut since 22/12/13 and was re-opening for 1 night and then closing until 6/1/14. Room 204 was basic and needs a good overhaul, beds were clean and spotless. Furniture in need of skipping. Tiles coming off bathroom wall. Panel under bath broken. Unfortunately our room was opposite a night club (no fault of the hotel) but very noisy (probably every weekend, not just New Years Day). Breakfast staff were very friendly and there was a good selection of cereals etc for a cold breakfast. I suppose £80 for City Centre is not too bad but we would not stay here again. I feel sorry for the Staff, they deserve better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Good location and good price but probably wouldn't stay again. Bit grotty and too noisy and some room lights and TV not working. Would prefer to pay more for better accommodation. Alright if you don't want to pay much and you take ear plugs with you!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly77A77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked Merchant City Inn for 3 nights for my family visiting from France. The Merchant City Inn was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. My family had a excellent stay and the breakfast was good. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

arrived on saturday and was allocated room 310,paid £70 for myself and wife.later found out other people only paid £50.RIPPED OFF ?the room was really bad with dampness,shower room was really dirty.my brother was in room 308 and it seemed ok apart from the flea bites on his body and face in the morning.now to breakfast,i paid £3 for full scottish breakfast,brochure looks great ,only wish food was the same,burnt and black sausage,burnt bacon,old beans,hard fried eggs.no kippers no black pudding no haggis,2 end slices of hard bread.i have stayed in a few glasgow hotels and this has to be the worst by far,would definately NOT recommend this hotel,only good thing about it was location

Room Tip: ask for room in the brochure and on opposite side of gay bar unless you want to be kept awake with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Merchant City
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#81 of 93 in Glasgow
466 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant City Inn

Address: 52 Virginia Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1TY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £48 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merchant City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned 3-star Merchant City Inn provides is set in the centre of Glasgow, in a secluded street adjacent to renowned Argyle Street and 2 minutes' walk from George Square. It is in the heart of Glasgow's famous Merchant City district, with magnificent shopping streets, and offering countless restaurants, bars, designer boutiques and theatres. A continental breakfast is available every morning. The 40 bedrooms are all fully furnished with stylish but modern amenities. The hotel also has easy access to nearby tourist cities, being easily accessible to city centre train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant City Hotel Glasgow
Merchant Hotel Glasgow
The Merchant Hotel
Merchant City Inn Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing