We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting !”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #80 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 April 2013

stayed here 6/04/13 for one night for a girls night away , i have sent 2 emails to the manager regarding our room (56) i have still not recieved a reply which just lhe looked like it had just been opend up and not cleaned properly, the windows didnt open/ close properly and ,many more complaints , the breakfast was basic and NOT wht was advertised and most of the staff were not so helpfull ( sharon and the nite porter were superb!) i really am stuck for words to describe this hotel ! be worned the pictures on the website and the actual hotel and not the same, , i am going to be taken this hotel owner/ manager to heath and saftey,it is not worth £60 for a twin room or a 3 star hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn_s41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dawn


I am sorry you experienced a bad time during your stay.

Your room has been re-assessed and renovated now. All matters have been dealt with apart from the carpet. This will be changed in due course.

Your demands for a refund after your stay were unacceptable. If you had checked out upon seeing all the items you have photographed, we would have happily given a full refund. Asking for a refund after you depart is not acceptable.

Also, smoking in our rooms is not acceptable. Our night porter informed me about this.

All our rooms are non-smoking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

(Room 39) Really big room, clean and nice. Nice big tv, good to be able to watch tv in bed without specs. Coffee table useable. but pretty beat

Drinking glass in room had someone else's lip marks on it. This is hospitality 101 guys you really need to put the room stuff thru the dishwasher, you can't just wipe it with a dirty bath towel that's gross.

Some of the staff really really nice and helpful, special thanks to the lady who helped us up he steps... And the really friendly night porter cyclist. Some of the others were pretty grumpy however.

Breakfast... Oh where to start. Well, help yourself juice/coffee/toast, very good and efficient. Then it's down hill I'm afraid, cold croissants.... Bacon soaking in grease... sausages cooked without turning so they're burned one side and not cooked the other. ... Fried eggs , must have been cooked an hour prior then hardened under the lights.... And most worryingly, black pudding, cooked and served still in its plastic packaging, so all the chemicals from the plastic melt into the food. Surely a proper chef wouldn't make this errors. And the breakfast server guy... What a grumpy sod, a smile wouldn't hurt once in a while you know.

Would I stay there again? Good question. Yes I probably would if they sort out the breakfast issues, otherwise I'd choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Booked the room for two nights but decided to check out the next morning, because the toilet seat was cracked and the bath was clogged. So we practically couldn't shower for our stay there.
Room and the bathroom were spacious which was amazing, but the broken bath and cracked toilet seat were the biggest let down.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute option when attending an event at the Kings Theatre, the website was easy to use and book, the price was very reasonable and the hotel was in a great location to walk to the theatre.

On street parking was available when we arrived, check in was very fast and efficient. The room was large, clean and equipped with everything required. The bathroom was a little tired but everything was clean and worked. The breakfast was included in the price and provided a choice of hot and cold items served in the conservatory which was very pleasant.

The hotel was exactly what we needed for a single overnight in Glasgow, I'd recommend to others and we would book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zazaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Booked this hotel to enable us to attend a family funeral. Other relatives followed suit. Room was comfortable,clean and warm. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We had arrived in Glasgow by train so had no need of parking. Accessibility by car is difficult and there is a steep approach for pedestrians and stairs up to the entrance and no lift within the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would have no difficulty recommending this hotel for people on a budget who are relatively fit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Unamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

when checking in to the hotel we where shown a modern room but it was not ready and thay had no staff to make the room up.the sceond room was old and had 4 single beds in it and there was only me and my wife. the 3rd room was very old and dated the bed sheets had holes in it and the mattres was very hard at £47 for a nights stay i would expect more.breakfast was filling but cold. sorry to say i will not be going back to this hotel the only good point is the location. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

At 32 pounds per night for a single en-suite room, this was real value in the heart of Glasgow. Excellent location - just s couple of minutes away from the pedestrianised retail hub of the city. The room was clean and simple with an lcd TV and the bed was reasonably comfy. The only little snag was the slightly uneven polished floorboards which a guest could stub their toe on. Overall, cheap and cheerful and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
438 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
224 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Address: 212 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £20 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian House 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Glasgow
Victorian Hotel Glasgow
House Victorian
Victorian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing