We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room fine, bathroon not and had 'visitors'”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #79 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
fife
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Room fine, bathroon not and had 'visitors'”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

So I checked in, fine, room was nice enough but noticed straight away bathroom was really dated. Black mould etc and cracks in the shower- fine for just me for a few nights as long as there are no other problems. Breakfast ok, wasnt expecting much but it was ok. So final night I notice a big bug crawl across the floor, I get a little closer and realise its a cockroach!! Obviously I squish it and contact the night porter who has no interest and says its a fly. So I leave it till morning to talk to the receptionist. So morning comes and I go to speak to her and she doesnt seem to care either, just advises me to email the manager. May I point out not once had a mentioned gettibg a refund. So I email the manager explaining the situation. The reply I got is a joke! He basically called me a liar and said all I wanted was a refund when actually I just wanted an apology. I would definitely stay clear of this hotel and will be warning everyone else to as well

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank luckiescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    193
    151
    61
    79
See reviews for
86
145
94
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My 2 teens and I stayed in this charming house for 3 nights while we strolled through the heart of the Art District, Sauchiehall Street shopping, and the banks of the Clyde River.. Fantastic Breakfasts! Nice large rooms too.. Made our first Scottish visit wonderfully memorable!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jsacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms (ours had a bay window!), very good choice of breakfast, perfectly functioning wifi, and walking distance from downtown. Nothing to push it into the exceptional category, but definitely nothing to complain about either.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mpigliucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, BC
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here May 2014, the night after the fire at the Art School. Despite road blocks and smoke smell, staff were carrying on with business and were more than kind and helpful! We had asked to change our room to a lower level, once we realized just how many stairs there are, and suggest anyone with luggage of bad hips/knees to do the same. Breakfast was outstanding and the kitchen staff a delight!

Yes, it needs updating and some repairs, but it is what it is and location/price make up for it. Would we go back? In a flash!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrsbcbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabaudia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is in an old Victorian house that means with small rooms, on different floors with no lift. I stayed two separated nights. The first I was in a cute and full of light room on the second floor. The other night (because I asked a room on a lower level, hopefully ground floor) I stayed in a different room, underground level that was very cold and dump, bigger but with a very old bathroom. Personnel was kind and helpful and a good breakfast. The hotel itself is 10 minutes walk from center but it is up a hill, not easy to get to with luggage. At the moment road is closed on one side for refurbishment to The Glasgow School of Art.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Central location, but not good for value (too £££ for a single room). There was a tiny tv (far from the bed) in the corner and the shower was very small . Needs some work and renovation to make it worth the price. Slept decently but didn't make it for breakfast as I had stuff to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edsbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Ideal for visiting the city centre. The bedrooms seem to have recently been refurbished and are comparable to Travelodge standards so very clean and comfortable. Staff seemed friendly and the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. If you can get this place then book it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
420 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Property: Victorian House
Address: 212 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian House 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Glasgow
Victorian Hotel Glasgow
House Victorian
Victorian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing