We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to City centre. Reasonable rates.”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Close to City centre. Reasonable rates.”
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Warm and friendly welcome on arrival at this large Guest house which is several period terraced properties joined together. Our 2 rooms, one of which was a good value single, had both been recently decorated with the exception of various fittings. No air con in the rooms which is to be expected, on-suite bathrooms were on the small side but perfectly adequate. Bed linen and towels ok. Buffet breakfast was good and plentiful with the eggs cooked to order, with a choice of breads, juices and hot beverages and served in an attractive stone floored dining area. There is a small outdoor patio area for smokers and fresh air freaks. 5 minutes walk to subway and #20 + 62 buses and maybe a little longer to the restaurant zone. Check out is 10:30 but we were able to leave bags in reception for later collection. Wanted to rate the place about 3.6 but 4 it is. Museum of Transport is a gem particularly if you like your model ships and just a £6 taxi ride away.

  • Liked — Location and cost
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    186
    149
    56
    73
See reviews for
82
138
92
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Stayed at this dirty "hotel" for 3 nights, and never again if I ever visit Glasgow some other time! The room was very shabby, the linen and bedclothing smelled and felt sticky and fat. The glass in the bathrooom for my toothbrush was full of toothpaste stains, and wherever I set my eyes there were paint coming off and stains. The carpet on the floor was really bad - for an asthmatic (which I'm not, fortunately) the dusty air would probably have caused a fit!
The breakfast was ok, but only if you like food full of fat and sugar.
I would'nt dream of recomending this accomodation to anyone!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Annebil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

Of course it's not a luxury hotel (and the shower is not really spacious), but you can't expect that for the price... Was a bit sceptical after reading the negative reviews on this site, but was pleasantly surprised: the room was ok, and the staff really friendly. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

April 10,2007
Had a 4 night stay at the Victorian House Hotel.
The staff was extremely helpful, taxis available when we needed them etc.
The room was a bit chilly so they got us a space heater right away.
Breakfast was a very good selection of hot and cold and available when we needed it some early mornings.
Had a family room. very clean , but simple.very quiet, peaceful.
Only drawback was a very small bathroom, only a shower, but a larger new one in the hall with tub etc.
There is no elevator so ask for a lower floor if this is a problem.
Our was #57, one flight up.
Would definitely stay there again.
In an expensive city it is a good bargain, unless you are very in to your creature comforts.

  • Liked — the quiet homey atmosphere and good location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n. ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I was pleasantly surprised by this guesthouse. We had a basment room which was really big. The bed was comfy and the shower was strong and hot, and it was cheap, so it was good value for money. It was pretty noisy in the mornings though, being below the kitchen, and the cooked breakfast was just a tad dodgy. This however is a perfectly acceptable place to stay, and is well located.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chs_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

As a single lone female traveller, I arrived in Glasgow on Saturday and found details of this hotel on TripAdvisor in an internet cafe. I popped in on the off-chance as it was close by and was offered the option of a standard room at £32 or ensuite at £39 including breakfast. I asked to view beforehand and after seeing that the room was OK and the shared bathrooms spotless, I took the standard room for one night.

The room decor was tired, but othewise the hotel was fine. I only needed it as a safe place to lay my head as I was visiting friends who could not accomodate me overnight.

The hotel staff were friendly and helped with taxis and information when I needed it. The breakfast was excellent with a help-yourself-to-as-much-as-you-like policy on hot and cold buffet and drinks. As a single traveller it was nice to be able to choose my own table and spread newspapers over it for a good hour in the morning rather than being shunted off into a lonely corner as can happen when you're travelling alone!

The location was central and superb for popping out to the shops and back to get changed before going out. There was a Tesco or Sainsbury (can't remember which) within 10 mins walk, on the main shopping street, which was handy to stock up on bottled water and snacks.

I only took a taxi to the station on departure because I was heavily laden with bags at that point.

Not somewhere I would go for a romantic weekend - but practical, clean and pleasant for an overnight stay. I'd stay there again under similar circumstances!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tequilasunrise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

The room we were in had seen better days. However, since the place was quite cheap we didn't mind too much - that was until we pulled down the bed and saw that the sheets were dirty. The room was unbearably hot (even though we had the heater off the entire time). Finally, three flights of stairs is pushing it when you are trying to carry lots of luggage. They should think about installing some lifts. Nevertheless, the brekkie was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MegAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
City Centre
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#83 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Property: Victorian House
Address: 212 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian House 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Glasgow
Victorian Hotel Glasgow
House Victorian
Victorian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing