We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in the west end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Apartments
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

these folks sure know how to make you feel welcome. we stayed with them for a month in a double studio. our studio was lovely, clean and spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. The property is located in a lovely area, very quiet at night & only a 10 min walk to some action. best thing about staying here too is the friendliness of the staff, nothing is too much trouble from the front desk staff, to the housekeepers & maintenence crew, & even the most lovliest of owners des! they really go out of their way to make your stay in Glasgow comfortable. I highly recommend!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank rugirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The White House and taking the time to post your review.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed in apartment 16 which was large and we appointed. The bathroom was nice and the kitchen was workmanlike.
I really enjoyed my stay here as the surrounding area is very pleasant and there are plenty of places within walking distance to eat or shop for food. In my case I bought food, prepared it in the kitchen then relaxed in the spacious settee whilst I ate it

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We were pleased to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us here at The White House.

We hope to see you return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and had previously stayed at these apartments and had nothing but praise for the accommodation but this changed when we returned for a 2nd visit 2 weeks ago. We were allocated Room 15 and initial impression was good. However that changed within a very short time. The bed mattress was extremely hard and my weight (20 Stone) made no impression on it !. Only 1 bed side light. The sofa had no support so our thighs rested on the wooden cross member. The TV was an old CRT which worked but had a dark picture and having a screen size of about 20" was too small for the room. There was a dining table and chairs of a wrought iron design. The chairs were very uncomfortable being straight upright with a small pad on the centre of your back which forced your chest out. There was no lingering over dinner there !.
A smaller point was the extremely short lead on the hair drier which wouldn't reach up to the mirror making it impossible for my wife to dry.style her hair as normal. And finally the refrigerator provided was so loud we had to use ear plugs. AVOID !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mawkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. We appreciate all feedback as this helps to improve customer service and ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay.Our office staff are here until 5pm Mon - Fri and our caretakers are in the building 24hrs therefore had we been notified of any issues with the apartment at the time we could have resolved them there and then.

All of our apartments are very different and i am sure we would have been able to find you a suitable alternative.

We were sorry you did not enjoy your stay however we hope to see you return again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent four days in Glasgow having been on a tour of Scotland. This is a very relaxing solution to continually having to pack up and move on plus fit in with specific breakfast times. In the right area for access to the busy West End scene and it was great to visit our old stamping ground of the University. Comfortable rooms with very high ceilings and space a plenty. Small perfectly adequate kitchen and we ate in one evening having been to the aforementioned M & S Simply Food around the corner. (Well, a couple of corners and a main road, actually.) Time to replace the old CRT Television + Freeview box, however. Visit Byres Road, go downmarket a little and do try the University Café towards the Dumbarton Road end - run by the same family for 40 plus years. Real, old fashioned freshly cooked breakfasts to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonspa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, Bookings & Reception at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. We always encourage customer feedback as part of our exemplary service provision and we are delighted that your stay was a positive experience. We are pleased to add that we have upgraded our TV's as well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here for one night on business and the accommodation was booked on my behalf. If I was coming to Glasgow, this wouldn't be my first choice. If you don't have a car then there really isn't anywhere to go and eat, the best thing is to go the simply M&S food outlet at the petrol station around the corner!
I was in room 15 which was ok, nothing special. However, if you do stay in this room bring some industrial sized earplugs. The room above has by far the noisiest floorboards I have ever heard. Not helped by the person staying there deciding at 12:15am that they wanted to pace up and down continually for 2 1/2 hours. The noise from the floorboards woke me up and as the noise was constant - something really needs to be done about this.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank bevoirbelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are located in the heart of the West End of Glasgow with Byres Rd and Hyndland being only 10 minutes walk away with restaurants and food outlets. We also have guest information books in all apartments where you will find further information about Glasgow and places to eat, we do have staff within the building 24hrs that would be more than willing to help with any issues you may have including moving you to another apartment should you have issues with the apartment you are in i.e. creaking floorboards.

We hope to see you return to The White House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Fantastic location, Amazing staff - great facilities. Apt 22 this time. thank you Margaret & team. We always stay at white house if they have space. They put our online shopping in the fridge for us! nothing is too much trouble. we feel safe and comfortable.Makes us nostalgic for our west end roots.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AuntyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.

I will pass your comments onto Margaret and the rest of the team.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you back at The White House soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We chose The White House to be close to a wedding venue we were attending. We are originally from Glasgow, so know the area, and location, transport etc. was ideal.
On entering our apartment ( No. 2 ) , we thought we had entered an antique shop, or lounge from about early 1970's. the bath only had a hand held shower.....shades of past Greek holidays.
On a positive note, bed comfortable, everything clean and staff helpful.
In short, okay for the money but very, very out of date.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

As you can see from previous responses we appreciate all feedback good or bad.
The apartment that you were booked into is a very traditional apartment and isn’t to everyone’s taste however some of our guests request this apartment upon booking.
Our office staff are in the building till 5pm and we have a caretaker here throughout the night if you had of mentioned at the time this apartment was not to your taste we would have moved you to another apartment.

We hope to welcome you back very soon for a true White House experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,799 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,133 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,757 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Apartments

Address: 11-13 Cleveden Crescent, Glasgow G12 0PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range: £35 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a classic Victorian Crescent in Glasgow’s fashionable West End, the long established White House Apartments are superbly located for long or short-term stays in the city. A warm & friendly Scottish welcome will make you feel at home. With competitive rates and only ten minutes from Glasgow City Centre with free on street parking. Each unique and charming apartment, with fully equipped kitchen and bathroom, has been tastefully furnished with your home comforts and requirements in mind. Available in a variety of styles, from Single Studios to Mews Cottages to Three Bedroom Apartments, we specialise in exclusive, yet affordable, quality self catering accommodation. Our properties have been independently graded by Visit Scotland and we guarantee a clean, fresh and relaxing environment with friendly staff on hand at all times to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We have 32 apartments located in Cleveden Crescent and various other accommodation in Glasgow located throughout the West End. Our portfolio also has various rental opportunities for 6 months or more. We look forward to welcoming you to share the unique experience of The White House Apartments for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The White House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Apartments Hotel Glasgow
The White House Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing