We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in November 2011.
We stayed in a double room for two nights and the hotel provides everything you expect in an ibis. It was clean and tidy with welcoming staff. The check in desk area can get a little overcrowded at times but all in all, this is a great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayavee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review of our hotel I do hope we will see you again later this year.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights and it was a great rate! 15 minute walk to all te shoppig and pubs! It was really easy to get cabs there. The restaurant was sub-par with a really long wait for dinner but breakfast was free and a decent buffet selection.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow and our part in making it a lovely trip for you.

Do come again soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is located within a walking distance from the city center (we had to walk from/to the bus and train stations, it took us about 10-12 minutes), in a quiet area.
As part of the Ibis chain, the hotel meets the standards as for room quality and service.
Wifi is available for free at the lobby (but not in the room). Staff was extremely friendly.
Breakfast is OK but you can find better options if you feel like walking a bit around outside of the hotel. We took the offer to pay less for breakfast by paying the night before (5 pounds instead of 7.5). I would argue that 7.5 pounds is way too much.
There was a big group staying while we were there - the dining area got a bit crowded in the morning and the elevators were hard to get and slow. Other than that, the fact that there was a group there did not impact our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate your time in doing this.

I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Value for money considering good central city location - ~10-15 min walk to city centre. Walking distance to many cheap multcultural eateries on Sauchiehall Street and cute bars. Unfortunately parking is expensive (~12 pounds per day). Parking ok on Sunday as can use street parking, or if you are going for day trips as free street parking from 6pm to 8am. Basic hotel rooms, kept very clean. Great spacious showers. Beds not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to add your review of our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I do hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Good value for money considering we booked 2 nights before our stay. Very basic, but clean, safe & comfortable with a great city centre location. Gentleman at front desk extreamly friendly & helpful. Only downside was parking. We parked in multi-level parking until 4pm then used pay & display (60p per 15min) street parking until 6pm when it was free until 8am the following day. Surprisingly quiet considering location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac_smith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ibis Glasgow and adding a review about our hotel. Our city centre location has many benefits and the free street parking after 6pm is great value. I do hope we will see you staying with us again soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

After a long drive we arrived at the Glasgow Ibis hotel. First impressions were good, the hotel looked clean enough and the reception staff were very helpful and efficient. We asked about parking and the receptionist informed us that our car 'should be okay outside as there was a police station across the road'. This made me laugh and I soon remembered which city I was in and that we had taken the full insurance option for the hire car.

We went to the room and decided to pay for the £10 deal to access the hotel's internet and complete some work. With this deal you are entitled to an ethernet connection and full access to the on demand movie service. After unpacking everything we turned the TV on only to discover that the screen was broken and not displaying properly. We went to reception to inform them and they decided to move us to another room. We were given keys to the second room and returned to the original room to repack our belongings. Upon arrival at the second room we thought we would be smart and check the internet connection via the TV BEFORE unpacking everything. The TV came on with no problem and we activated the service before unpacking yet again. The internet connection was incredibly slow, so slow in fact I was having flashbacks to the days of dial up connections and modems!

After giving up on the internet we decided to watch a movie via the on demand service. After selecting our movie it was soon apparent that the slow connection not only effected the internet but also the movies! The movie would stall and in some cases skip 5 minutes ahead which was incredibly frustrating. We phoned reception to inform them and they suggested that we try a different movie to see if there is any improvement. Of course, there wasn't and we ended up watching a film that should have been 1.5 hours in 2 hours time.

We then decided to go down to the hotel's restaurant for a meal as they had some pretty impressive specials displayed on a board in reception. We went to the restaurant and sat at a table for quite while with not a soul around to take our order. In all fairness, one very nice Australian lady was not only in charge of reception but also for the bar and restaurant! When our order was finally taken we were informed that they did not have the meals we wanted. We asked why they were advertising the specials in reception if they did not exist but did not receive a clear answer. It then became clear that the lady in the kitchen was training and did not know where to find the beef in the fridge. Our meals finally arrived and the disappointment soon sank in. The fish looked as if it had been taken out of an Iceland packet and cremated in an oven and the burgers were even worse. Do yourself a favour and DO NOT eat at this hotel as your money will be better spent at one of the many restaurants around the corner.

On the bright side, our car was still there in the morning and we only had to step over a homeless man to access our boot to load the luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that you had some disappointments during your stay with us. We can always learn from every experience of our guests.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to wlcome you back so we can offer you a hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed in hotel for a one night....the rooms was of reasonable size and its very clean...the bathrooms were very clean and the shower works gud..The staffs were very friendly and the check in formalities were so fast..But the disadv is the breakfast menu is not upto......and more thing AC was not working .. the most important disadv is the bed is not comfy..ohh we were getting back pains because of this bed..

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Vaissathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel, I am sorry that not every part of your stay met with your expectations. I hope we can do better next time. We have just finished installing brand new beds in 75% of our bedrooms so perhaps these would suit you better.

Please do not hesitate to get in tuoch if I can be of further assistance.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 93 in Glasgow
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £30 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing