We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent basic hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

If all you need is an excellent, basic, clean, modern hotel, then this place is for you. It's central but quiet, only about a year old, clean, great beds, nice staff and we got a really really good deal via bookings.com. Via this site you have to request twins or double room via the special request box, and even that went well. I got a confirmation a few days before that is was sorted. I'd go back here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    712
    338
    81
    63
See reviews for
162
626
179
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

About 10 minutes walk from Central station and everything else. Room size was ok and clean. Strong chemical smell (like mothballs) as we entered the room but did not complain as you get used to it after a few minutes. Our room was farthest along the hallway on the 5th floor - which is great for us who are light sleepers and as the doors do not offer much insulation from hallway noise. Very basic - as expected as it is cheap. The sheets are tucked into the mattress protector instead of the mattress itself, so everything gets untucked after tossing and turning. TV has only free channels. No free wi-fi in rooms (but free at the reception - but not a lot of seats there). Breakfast is an additional charge. Recommended if you're on a tight budget and not looking for anything special.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the end of hallways as you will hear conversations thru the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaG_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to the site, I am sure other visitors will find it very helpful.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Central Location, just off Sauchiehall Street and although there is parking outside the building, the hotel give you a discount on a nearby long stay carpark which is good.
Room fine, spacious and clean - although the beds werent made very well, all the sheets untucked and duvet not zipped shut so just a bit untidy looking. Shower pressure was great, nice "space age" bathroom pod, clean and ideal for a couple nights stay.
Breakfast good, not a huge variety but coffee and croissants were fine.
Staff friendly, although didnt have to use reception more than once during the stay.
Would stay again -ideal for business trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to our site, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would greatly look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Ibis is ideal for somewhere cheap, clean & comfy to stay. I was going for a night out & shopping with the girls so I didn't need a 5* spa.

Room was comfy & spotless.

Staff were welcoming & helpful when needed.

About 20 min walk from train station & town - quite hilly though.

Taxis are cheap!

Really worth it - thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozorro92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Madam

Thank you for your posting, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Jancie Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

stayed two nights 27/28 oct.great value,good location,very friendly staff.very comfortable rooms.breakfast was good but great.we flew into prestwick. there is a currency exchange in the airport but be warned they will rip you off. took train to glasgow 50mins you get 1/2 price when you show boarding pass cost 10.30 for 3.restaurants in the area are mostly good and cheap.glasgow city itself is quiet nice,the people themselves are friendly.

Room Tip: get a room at the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your kind words, my team will be delighted to hear from yuo.

Do stay again next time you are in Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I would be happy to give this hotel 4 stars if the room hadn't smelled of fresh wall paint and a funny smell coming out of the toilet, it was like we could smell the plumbing. Location was excellent for shopping, short walk from Buchanan Street, parking couldn't have been better, right in front of the entrance to the hotel, free from 6 pm on a Sat and free on Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhimrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you could still smell the painting which we completed the week before.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stay in lots of hotels and tend not to write. This has to be an exception. In terms of value for money you won't beat this. In my first week the room was excellent. I wondered if I was just lucky. In the second week the room was even better. Next week will be my third week. Although the thermostat didn't work, i didn't have the heart to complain because everything else was so brilliant and the rooms are generally perfect temperature anyway. In the past I have paid double elsewhere and found this to be far greater value.

There is an ironing room on the second floor which makes life a lot easier rather than having to order an iron up etc.

Close to city centre.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I found the 6th floor to be better than the 1st floor - but honestly not much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your review I am glad we can help make your stay comfortable each week.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
504 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing