We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis is the best budget hotel in UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ibis the the best budget hotel in any city of UK. Customer service was very good. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was in city center & there were many very good Indian restaurants nearby. All attractions are also easily approachable using black cab. I'll recommend Ibis hotel in any UK city to my all Indian friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekPooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your kind words, we very much enjoyed looking after you during your stay. I do hope we can look forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have been at this hotel quite a few times, and this was the 2nd time the smoke alarm went off and disturbed our sleep, the beds were "improved" but extremely hard and uncomfortable, the rooms had a fresh coat of paint and the carpet looked as if it had been there forever it hasn't changed in at least 5years!! the cleaners didn't take our rubbish away make our bed, until the 2nd day, only towels were left outside and that was it. Will be using a different hotel in the future!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank roberty8351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review however I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately our smoke alarms have to be sensitive so unintentionally other guests can set them off. We do have to respond as though it was a real fire until we know otherwise and we know seconds count so do have to disturb you to this effect.

I have noted the points you mentioned in regards housekeeping I will discuss these with the housekeeper, for sure they will err on the side of caution when you are staying over as they won't always understand your intentions. They leave the towels if you have a do not disturb on your door which prevents them entering the room.

The carpets we have are the Ibis standard an have all been replaced over the last three years and we have a pogramme to wash them regualrly over each year.. During our next refurbishment the colour and style will be changed. This can already be seen in some of our sister hotels already.

I do hope you will reconsider and stay in Ibis again and see the improvements we continue to make.

Kind regards

Jancie Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

The bed was comfy and the shower was great. Breakfast was naff...sausages like slugs, warm and greasy hashbrowns, no fried eggs. The bacon was good. The thing i hated most was the en suite shower/loo: this offers zero privacy in terms of sound proofing so if you have a shy bladder or simply wish to maintain those little elements of mystery and romance in your relationship then avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev_Ian_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for your review and the important feedback. I am sorry our breakfast offering was not to your taste, we are always looking of ways to improve so will take your points on board.

I do hope you will choose to stay with Ibis again soon and allow us to show you a hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Staff were very helpfull and friendly. Only blip was my wife and I were expecting a double room but didn't specify this upon booking so ended up with a twin room. However the plus points were many. pre-paid breakfast ate my body weight in sausages n bacon mmmm heaven.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank casaenelsol094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to the site, I am really pleased you enjoyed our sausages. I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Was ok.. Priced more than if ever pay for the standard .. Staff and breakfast excellent !!! On a positive the shower and room were all ok.. View over city was great...bed and pillows smell great.. Just on a down side we had the rain on the Saturday which damp ended the tour!! Scottish weather !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbgolfing2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for your comments, the weather on saturday was spectacularly wet, even for us. Still we need the water for the whisky and the landscape so there are some benefits.

I do hope we can look forward to seeing you on a sunnier day.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Ibis has stark and utilitarian rooms which are alright for 1 or 2 days but I have sympathy for anyone staying longer. The bathroom is fine and the shower has good water pressure however you only get 1 towel per person- no hand towels. They charge for wi-fi in your room and they charge for breakfast, either is a good value.

Con: noise from saturday night idiots showing the world how loud their cars are

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John98020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

DEar Sir

Thank you for taking the time to add the review to our website, we do have available additional towels/toiletries/tea/coffee for anyone who requests above what we have in the room ready for your arrival. we do also have free wifif being installed in lat June this year so will be a great addition to our services.

I do hopw you will return to Ibis in the future and see how your suggestions are put to good effect.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have to review my stay at the IBIS Glasgow as it was an absolute joke. The stay was fine enough clean decent rooms however there cleaning staff is a shambles. We were woken at 7.30am by what seemed like a 100 people chatting in polish or Latvian in the next room for non stop until I went out to see and shouted as it was soo disruptive. On the first morning we got up early the cleaners were sitting around in the hallway, I find this totally unprofessional. They need to get a grip of this. Do not stay here if you like a lie in.

Room Tip: Do not stay if you want a lie in as overly noisy cleaners will disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EmzR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review of the hotel, please accept my sincere apologies for the behaviour of our housekeeping team. This we have addressed immediately we saw your comments.

I do hope you will give us a second chance and choose to stay at Ibis in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,175 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,608 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing