We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible unfortunate stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible unfortunate stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed a night as part of our coach tour of Scotland and what a disaster as the hotel was full with many tour groups and we were unlucky to be assigned a room with problematic air-conditioning unit (which they called a air-cooler) and the room was so small that the luggage we placed a suitable space was receiving steady drops of condensed water from the Air-Cool unit above it! The Asst. GM tried to explain to me due to the heatwave externally, the system is causing the problem and he was unable to change my room as it will be the same as well as they are full. He came up to our room and placed a towel to prevent the drips which effectively rendered the unit obsolete as we basically have to shut it down. The small window did not offer any respite so we have had a restless and stuffy sleep on top of the bed with only the bed sheet as cover.

The general condition of this Ibis is poor with obvious wear & tear throughout from what appeared to be a high traffic hotel, taking in coach tours and transient travelers. This hotel which is in a good location and it is walking distance to the main streets with shops and restaurants/bars need to be renovated. What a contrast to the decent Ibis we stayed at Bristol?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for adding your review onto the site, I am sorry that due to the very unseasonably warm weather throughout the country in July this year that you found the room too warm. You were correctly informed that we do not have an air conditioning system but an air cooling system which services the whole hotel and this does cause the condensation you experienced. This is not an issue we can repair as it is a completely natural occurence and the only way to stop condensation is to switch the unit off.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Ibis in Bristol and hope the rest of your stay in the UK was as comfortable.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    689
    320
    78
    57
See reviews for
153
596
173
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel was everything I expect of an Ibis hotel although, unfortunately, if you have luggage, it is a bit more out of the way from the main train station than would normally be the case. I did walk since I didn't have lots of luggage but it was chiefly an uphill walk so, if I stayed in the future, I would take a taxi. The bed was extremely comfortable, check-in efficient and courteous and the benefit of tea-making facilities in the room. Certainly value-for-money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear gerigenie

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to our site, I am sure other guests will find it helpful. I do hope we can look forward to your next stay with Ibis.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in August 2013 as a part of a tour. Love the fact that Ibis is exactly the same across the UK (maybe everywhere; I will find out!). I knew I would get a great room, not surprised. Clean and presentable, comfy bed. Right in the centre of Glasgow, very convenient. Love the bathroom pod; always has a shower that's easy to use (not always the case in the UK)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JessLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Jess

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review to our listing. I am delighted you have discovered Ibis as we are growing everywhere you will enjoy the same comfort and hospitality worldwide.

I do hope we can look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

cheap, cheerful, efficient check in and out. Vey clean, very comfy bed, good black out blinds and opening window and hot powerful shower. Not a glamour hotel but wasn't expecting it
Job done for overnight stay in Glasgow for work

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreysarahjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Sarah from Surrey

Thank you for taking the time to add your review onto our website, I am really pleased to note you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose Ibis again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic well equipped rooms, immaculately clean bathroom and free wifi. Centrally located and near to all shopping. Definitely worth a try, especially when compared against some of the other hotels on a similar or higher price range.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Christopher

Thank you for taking the time to add your review, I am sure others will find it useful. We enjoyed looking after you on your recent visit and do hope you will choose Ibis again for your next stay.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing