We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I can't say much to fault this hotel. For the price it was very reasonable indeed.
A nice big room and the hotel was very clean. My advice to any potential guest would be to avoid weekends especially if there is a concert on at the new Hydro venue as my last night was spoiled be over the top fans of my least favorite old rocker Rod Stewart.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to our listing, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    703
    328
    79
    60
See reviews for
154
611
177
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed two nights in the Ibis Glasgow City Centre following one night at Novotel City centre (the sister hotel) next door.

From the moment we entered this hotel we knew it was miles better than the Novotel next door. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. They already had our key card ready for us. That meant we felt special. They provided all the times and amenities to us - without us having to ask. The hotel has free wi-fi (next door at the Novotel it will cost you £11) They offer a free breakfast (it’s £13 per person next door at the Novotel.)

Our room was bright and cheerful. There is a nice bathroom that’s almost - but not quite - a wet room. The lifts were controlled by security key card. The lift was efficient and reliable.

The bed was large and comfy. The TV wasbright and clear - not a great choice of channels though. The room was clean and tidy. We missed a chance to get our room serviced (overslept I'm afraid!) But the cleaner left a bag of fresh towels outside the door. How thoughtful!

It was a great stay at the Ibis - a fantastic choice for anyone on a budget in Glasgow. Highly recommended.

So much better than the NOVOTEL next door! Chalk and cheese really.

Room Tip: There is quite a lot of noise from the roads. Ask for a room away from the roads if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Neilmach

Thank you so much for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them on to the whole team to serve as encouragement for them to keep up the good work.

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed in the Ibis for 2 nights while in Glasgow, hotel is about 10 mins walk from Central Station. 2 min walk to the bars on Sauchiehall Street.
All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and I wouldnt hesitate to stay in this hotel again..Rooms and beds a little small but more than adequate. Kettle and coffee/tea in the room and a hairdryer too. Shower was great .Good price and more facilities than I expected for a 2 star hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Anna

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments about your stay, I am sure others will find it helpful. I do hope we have the pleasure of helping with your next stay in Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit further out of town than we usually stay but i would stay here again. Only a 10-15min walk from queen st station and round the corner from some great bars & restaurants. Fab value for money. Only disappointment was they gave us a card to play a game online on 12th Oct when the game finished on the 9th!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Beth

Thank you for adding your review to our listing, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope we will see you back in Glasgow soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

As usual the Glasgow Ibis staff were exceptional although sadly on this occasion the room was less so. The plug socket was hanging off the wall which I feel is a fire hazard and the shower was broken so flooded our entire bathroom & part of the main room carpet.
Apart from this the stay was fine and like I say, the staff are all lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Heather

Thank you for your review and do please accept my apologies that we had some maintenance issues during your stay. If during your future visit there is anything similar then do please let us know and we will be happy to fix it or move your room.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,550 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#11 of 95 in Glasgow
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing