We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was lovely and clean. We stayed here for one night and unfortunately never got any sleep the noise of bins and whatever else they were moving around. Then to be woken up at 9am buy some workmen in the hotel drilling wasnt very good considering we hadn't slept with the noise through the night...... Also after coming back from a concert and spending £20 on books we left them at the bar,went back for them and they had gone,these where books not something you would just through away. But we were told that this is what happened to them??? Don't think so.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank hibby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to add you review to our listing. I am sorry you were disappointed with aspects of your stay and do please hope you will accept my apologies. We do keep lost property for 3 months and sadly no books had been handed in.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity of a return visit so we can show you a genuine hassle free experience.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned last weekend after a third stay in this hotel during the last 3 years - would not think of staying anywhere else. Hotel very clean, warm and comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. If we needed more milk (I'm a tea/coffee drinker) we only had to ask. Hope to be back again next year before Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to have you staying with us and I look forward to many more visits next year.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank essate
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Good experience at Ibis Glasgow. Counter staff were helpful. Clean but compact room with 2 single beds. No complaints..good value for money though going to the hotel from Central Glasgow train station was tough with our luggage, up the slopes and a fair distance from train station. Slightly easier alternative was to board a train at Charing Cross (GBp1.40), short walk behind the hotel to Queen St Train station and walk from there to Central.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeWoodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can look forward to a return visit.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The manager of this hotel, was very rude and unhelpful, unexplained to me they lifted the full price of the room from my card on the afternoon I checked in, they then again charged me when leaving the hotel, when I rang to speak to Janice about this situation she did not want to help at all and told me it was not her issue. I am out money and her level of rudeness for a manager of a hotel is not on. I would not stay here again due to the stress her and her staff have caused me with their lack of explaining. That coupled also with the fact the cleaners barely cleaned our room and did the bare minimum. Very sad as the hotel was in a good location and unfortunatley the staff and manager have made the experience very frustrating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Miss Millar

I am sorry that due to our poor explanations you were at a disadvantage. I can assure you that this matter has been addressed both personally for my own performance and the staff member involved.

I do hope that in future we have the opportunity to show you a genuine trouble free experience at Ibis.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A positive experience with the Ibis Hotel in Aberdeen led us to booking the Ibis City Centre Hotel in Glasgow. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff made the week another positive experience for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CelticMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear CelticMIss

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay both here and in Aberdeen. I do hope you will choose to stay in one of our other hotels soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending a conference at SECC (which is not a short walk).
On arrival the reception area was a bit intimidating, large male crowd watching football and drinking but there was no noise elsewhere.
I was on 6th floor which was very quiet, no noise from other rooms or street below.
Room was clean and comfortable with good wardrobe space, good tv, tea and coffee. Bathroom is like a tardis but shower is very good. Room was cleaned every day to a high standard.
Breakfast was very good for a budget hotel and even provided Twinnings tea :-).
Fairly centrally located but took us 30-40 mins to walk to SECC every day despite trying to find a 'quick route' each time.

Great budget hotel, wouldn't want to come here on a romantic weekend but for a short business trip it ticked all the boxes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank MossyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for your review, I do appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. As you can see Glasgow is a very eclectic city and we can have conferences, concerts, and international football matches all on at the same time. We do welcome everyone and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,243 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £35 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing