We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money :-)”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here with my partner on New Years Eve, had a very comfortable stay, and were well looked after. We did not eat or drink in the hotel, however we did use the bar in the hotel next door (Novotel) which is part of the same company, and this was well set out and well priced.
Excellent location in Glasgow as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickrailroad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Nick

Thank you for your review, I am glad you were able to use facilities in both our hotels and hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    697
    324
    79
    58
See reviews for
154
604
176
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had a one night stay at the Ibis after going to an event at the Hydro. Chose the hotel due to its location, just 15 mins from George Square, and was just £50 for the night. Breakfast was an extra £8 per person but you had a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, selection of hot food (sausages, egg etc) and toast/pastries/pancakes/bread. Large selection of teas and coffee plus apple or orange juice. Room was decent size and the beds were comfortable but not overly large - our room was at the back so there wasn't a view. Didn't get disturbed by the comings and goings of other guests although there was traffic noise as the window was open due to the room being very hot even with the heating off. Basic shower room with powerful shower which soaked the entire floor area (but it dried out quickly!).
Managed to park outside on the meters which are free after 6pm on a Saturday through to early Monday morning. If you do need to pay then you need plenty of 20p pieces to feed the meter.
A very enjoyable trip to Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortbreadandwhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Shortbreadandwhisky

Thank you for adding a review of our hotel onto the site. I am sure other guests will find it useful and I do hope you will be able to make another trip to Glasgow and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently when on an evening out in Glasgow. We paid only £30 for a midweek night, which is great value for Glasgow City Centre.

No different from any other Ibis hotel, it was clean, well maintained and well located. The staff were helpful and the new Ibis bed was as always, very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badbob1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Badbob

Thank you for your review and I am glad to see you benefitted from our advance purchase offers, always available on our own website. The new Ibis Sweet beds have been a revelation and will be available to purchase soon for your home.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed overnight in this hotel..very convenient for our theatre trip and to Mal Maison where we had dinner.

Our room was very comfortable and the shower in the bathroom was excellent.

The down side was the noise of the traffic outside.

The choices of food at breakfast was varied although some of the hot choices were a bit overcooked.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are away from the front because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for adding your review to our lsiting , I am sure other guests will find your tip very helpful. I do hope we can look forward to you next visit to Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at the Ibis Central in Glasgow for 2 nights in December when I was in the city to see Hanson in concert at the O2 ABC venue.

I had stayed at an Ibis before, as well as an Ibis Budget, so I knew roughly what to expect, and I wasn’t disappointed. The hotel is very centrally located and it’s easy to walk to all the main attractions, shopping areas etc. It’s in a quiet side street so there is actually very little noise. My room faced, well, a brick wall actually - so I didn’t have much of a view, but it didn’t matter as I wasn’t planning to spend much time there.

The bathroom was in the typical ‘pod’ style incorporating the shower and the basin area - I’d come across that at another Ibis property before. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was quite spacious. The Ibis, despite being a budget chain, knows how to put little touches here and there to make the experience more pleasant for a guest; for example, the TV screen was on when I checked in, with some kind of Ibis greeting on loop. There were plenty of information cards, restaurant menu etc. And of course, the Ibis offers free wi-fi throughout, which is essential, in this day and age, and yet a lot of budget chains don’t.

The only let-down was the breakfast buffet. There really was very little choice and I’d had a much better breakfast at an Ibis Budget in Manchester a few months before. I would certainly stay at this hotel again, but perhaps next time I wouldn’t pay for breakfast in advance and I’d choose to go to a nearby cafe instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperopoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Paperopoli

Thank you for adding your review to our listing, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and do please accpet my apologies that you felt the breakfast was not to the same standard. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback will help us to do this.

I do hope you will choose Ibis agin for your next stay.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the third time.Brilliant location, spacious clean and quiet room with a window you can actually open. Still the best shower I have ever had in a hotel. Safe area and not too far away from anything.Being a single explorer, I feel safe on the streets around it and the requirement to swipe the room key to gain access adds to it.
I ll be back.Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Chrissy

Thank you for your review, we do love having you visit and can't wait till the next time. Do try to bring some sunny weather with you.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had booked 2 hotel rooms for a weekend and payed full price when booking. Was suppose to head to Glasgow for the weekend as I got some terrible news that a family member was on her last stages of life, I couldn't go to Scotland. The hotel refused to refund me anything and also would not let me even change my dates. The hotel was given 5 days notice so not as if it was last minute. I would advise anyone not to pay upfront when booking this hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Ms Q

Thank you for taking the time to add a review of your reservation experience of the hotel.
Please accept once more my condolences on the sad news of your relative.
We do have a range of rates available to book which are flexible to cancel up until the day of arrival. Unfortunately on this occasion you chose our heavily discounted, prepaid , non refundable rate and so we honour the terms and conditions of the booking you agreed to at the time. We can provide an invoice for your insurance company so that you can reclaim the expense. I understand at this time you are upset but had you been able to come to the hotel you would have seen what great service and value we do provide.
I remain at your disposal.

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing