We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, basic, clean - Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice, basic, clean - Does the job”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for an overnight stay as attending a concert at the Hydro. Getting to the hotel is a bit of a pain due to the one way streets, but once we got there, there were ample parking spaces outside, the drawback however is that the on street parking is £6ph(!), Mon - Sat 8 - 6. We popped into the hotel to be told there is a multi-storey carpark nearby (about 4-5 streets away), but again you were looking at roughly £12 per half day, so we just paid the £24 to park outside for the remaining chargeable hours to save having to navigate the one way system again.

Receptionist was great, checked in smoothly, told we could pay the balance of stay next day by card (paid initial amount via accor points). Asked for a toilet, but told to go to Novotel next door as the Ibis ones were being refurbished. Headed to our room, which was on the 5th floor, room key needed to operate lift going up. Room was basic, but clean and with a very comfortable bed and pillows, but roasting hot even with the air-con on. Window had been left open, which we appreciated. Shower room was clean and stocked with paper, towels and and "all-in-one" face, hair and body wash bottle. If you are not a fan of these, take your own toiletries.

Fire alarm went off in the early hours of Sunday morning and needless to say IT IS LOUD! We left our room and congregated outside until the fire brigade arrived. We had no direction from staff as to where to muster, or be advised what was going on, i.e. whether an actual fire or some idiot hitting the alarm. Turned out to be the latter, so back we trudged up 10 flights of stairs to the 5th floor. The next morning we asked what had happened and the gentleman behind the desk advised it was apparently a drunken prank and they were in the process of identifying who it was from the swiped roomkey when they accessed the lift.

Went to pay the balance, but was told that it had already been taken from my credit card. Slightly annoyed at this as I had wanted to pay by debit card, but the payment had already come off, so not much I could do. However, was pleased that the rate had been reduced from the advertised amount due to the refurbishment that was going on, so can't really complain in the end!

Overall we had a pleasant stay and a really good sleep up to the alarm going off. The hotel is well situated, with plenty of bars, restaurants and taxis in close proximity. We will more than likely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 528 faces office block, window has no screen so be careful when coming out of shower into bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCabrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear GCabrio

Thank you for taking the time to add your review of our hotel and sharing your experiences. We learn from every situation and your feedback is especially helpful in this respect.

I do hope we can welcome you back for a future stay at Ibis Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    696
    324
    79
    58
See reviews for
154
604
176
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yes, it's not the Ritz but £80 or so gets you a modern and spotlessly clean room with everything you need (including a hairdryer, which isn't always the case in budget hotels). Beds were very comfortable. What really made this stay stand out though were the staff, such a friendly welcome and they were very helpful. Top marks and a great choice if you're looking for somewhere to crash in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear weejoey

Thank you for your review , it's great to see you enjoyed our hospitality and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Modern clean hotel entrance. Booked into room immediately by very friendly staff. Liked that you needed your door key to access the lift, a good safety feature. The rooms were modern and clean and the bed was very comfy. Good powerful shower in a good size shower cubicle, bathroom small but perfectly functional. Down side was the noisy bin collections at 06.00 at the back of the hotel, but can't hold the hotel resposible for that as these things happen in a city. Would definitely return and would recommend to friends. 10 mins walking distance to shops etc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Margaret B

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel , I am sorry you were woken by the bin men and do hope you will not be disturbed on your next visit to the hotel.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It is an Ibis! This means a little basic, but clean, comfortable and low cost. This one is positioned very near the Kings Theatre and some very good eating places, so perfect for a Theatre night out without the hassle of getting home late at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Chasmac_11

Thank you for your review and your canny tips which will certainly help any other prospective visitors. I do hope you are able to stay with us again and enjoy a night out in Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed overnight for an event we attended round the corner, which was handy. Staff were lovely and the hotel is bright and nice and clean. Our room was clean and the bathroom was lovely but the room itself is in desperate need of a makeover. It's seen better days I think but it was comfortable. Had cooked breakfast from the buffet in the morning which was perfect with a big choice. Had a room up above the front door. Couldn't hear a thing until we opened the bedroom window and it was extremely noisy and you get all the smoke coming up from the people smoking outside the front door.

Room Tip: If you pick a room at the front of the hotel up above the front door it's fine if you keep the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divadolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Jacquie525

Thank you for your review of the hotel, it is great to see how much you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we will see you again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had no option but to stay here in a very busy week. Fine for the price, wouldn't want to be here for a long stay. Clean. Plastic moulded bathroom. Bar next to reception is handy but not exactly cosy. Efficient service. Would stay here again if options were limited.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear scott4u

Thank you for leaving your impressions of the hotel on our listing. I am glad that you did enjoy the short stay you had with us and do hope we will be a viable option for you in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for one night and really only needed a bed! Rooms are basic but clean and the bed was comfortable. Some of the corridors and part of the lift area seem a little tired.

Staff, however, are excellent and made me feel very welcome.

Happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldMurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear donaldmackenzie

Thank you for taknig the time to add a revie to our lsiting, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing