We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping Trip Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Aberdeen
14
Reviewed 22 June 2006

My daughter and I stayed at the Ibis Glasgow during a recent shopping trip. We've stayed in Travel Inns previously but thought we'd give another hotel a try.

We found the staff at reception very welcoming on our arrival and extremely helpful the following day when we were trying to locate shops.

The breakfast was perfectly adequate for a budget hotel and the room was clean. One suggestion though, a waste bin in the shower room and bedroom would be helpful.

It's in a quiet location but still near the main shopping areas.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Ibis for two nights in May 2006. The hotel is centrally located, it's a bit difficult to get to by car navigating the one way streets. There is no parking onsite, but there is street parking which is free from Friday 6pm to Monday 8am, or a public car park nearby.

Our room was modern and clean and we were able to walk from the hotel to just about anywhere we wanted to go.

We did not have the continental breakfast for 5 pounds/person, the JD Wetherspoon pub/restaurant just two blocks away has a full scottish breakfast for 2 pounds.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank iplayazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

We decided to take a side trip from London at the last minute, and booked a room on lastminute for 47.95 GBP per night, for Monday & Tuesday nights (that translated to US $168.07 for the two nights on my VISA bill). This appears to be the same rate I would have gotten on Ibis's own booking site, but I would have assumed Ibis was more expensive so I never would have checked that... I was checking tatty B&Bs and was pleasantly surprised to find this to be in the same price range.
It was a very hilly but easy walk from Central Station, no more than 15 minutes away by foot for a reasonably fit person with a rolling suitcase. The building is pretty ugly, presenting a dark red block of concrete to the street (in contrast to the spectaclar Victorian, Art Nouveau and modern architecture we had passed on our walk). Check in was simple and quick. Although I was pretty sure I had requested a no-smoking room on line, I was told there were none available; this turned out to be no real problem since, although our 5th floor hallway smelled of stale smoke, the room itself did not at all. The construction is new and very basic, in fact, I wondered if the whole place might be modular. The bathroom in particular is sort of a molded plastic pod/unit; really quite nice and spotless. The shower was very good, and tall enough for six-foot tall people to use without stooping. Other than the space-age bathroom, this place is really no frills - shelves instead of bureaus, a built-in desk/table unit, plastic lamp shades and a platform bed. The bed was good - surprisingly comfortable, and huge for the UK (queen size, maybe). The floors felt like concrete under a thin but clean carpet. Televison has the basic 4 or 5 channels plus others in Spanish, French, German, Japanese, etc. The TV also had a built in clock and alarm. Our view was of a working office building across the street, so you need to keep the curtain closed till you are dressed. The one window does open for fresh air, and there is a thermostat/fan control too. The window drapery makes it appear that you have a huge picture window, but behind one half is just a wall.
The bar in the lobby stays open till one a.m. It's really the breakfast area/snack bar -- brightly lit, not pub-like at all, but it's there and it's open, and you can take a drink up to your room if you choose. We stopped in at the end of both nights; service was amusingly inept but friendly. There were all sorts of folks there, and it was fine. All of Scotland is no-smoking now, so no public area is smoky any more.
We didn't make it to breakfast so I can't report on that; when you check out they ask if you had breakfast, and knock off the pricey fee without question if you say no. It's 4.22 pounds per person, which is a lot for Glasgow. There are plenty of places nearby where you could do better.
There is internet access in the lobby if you don't bring your own computer, but it's not a very good deal - I think it was 1 pound for about 12 minutes, and the service is very slow so you don't get much done in your 12 minutes.
This place is a really good deal, centrally located, spotless and comfortable. No hesitation in recommending it to all but the fussiest. And Glasgow is GREAT!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank martyjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Paisley
13
Reviewed 27 February 2006

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lossieglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,260 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,671 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £38 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing