We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and convenient but VERY ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheap and convenient but VERY ordinary”
Reviewed 9 November 2006

Stayed one night on business in November 2006.
Very cheap - very convenient for central Glasgow.

However, my advice is not to stay here if you are worried about what the hotel is like.

For every good thing, there is a bad thing

Good: cheap, central, clean sheets, clean bathroom

Bad: Shower came to bits in my hand, carpet hadn't been hoovered for about a week, staff friendly enough but oh-so-slow, bar area utterly un-relaxing - I had a beer and couldn't wait to finish it.

To mirror what someone else said: the Novotel next door looks so much more inviting.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiel9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    705
    328
    79
    60
See reviews for
155
614
177
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

We stayed in a double room for one night during mid-Sep. The room is spacious and the bathroom look likes a space-age tube. The room is clean but it do have a few stains, which is acceptable. We do not pay the 5 pounds per person for the breakfast, as there are plenty of choices nearby at a lower price.

The hotel is in a good location, and is a short 10-minute walk to Buchanan Street. There is nothing fancy or spectacular about the hotel or the staff. If you are looking for a quite place to sleep at a reasonable price (I paid for 50GBP for the night), this is okay.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Good sized room, quiet. Bathroom fine. Breakfasts varied. Some days there was no coffee and noone checking everything was running OK. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hebegebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Stayed here with my wife for a mid wk night in Sept, everything was adequate, room, breakfast, etc. The reason for the rating is based on the reception staff, and the talking lift. When we arrived we were assured by the staff on reception that we infact did NOT have a reservation, who checked three times, however when she treble checked her spelling of our name, found she had spelt it incorrectly (not a great surprise after talking with her), and was given our room card. The nights 'sleep' we had was non-existent as we were woken up everytime anyone arrived at our floor with the lift bellowing out "DOORS OPENING,DOORS CLOSING" totally unnecessarily, all through the night. We were finally woken for good at 6:20am having planned a lie-in to recover from this, by a staff member smashing some piece of equiptment against our door. When i complained about the lift at check-out i was told that the lift has always done this (have stayed here several times, and never heard it before), was also told they would get maintenence to look at it, but if its always been like this why do they think they need to change it now? Was also told no one else has complained about this, totally impossible to believe. If you're one of those people who enjoy sleeping during the night do not waste your time or money on this place

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff and noise
  • Tips/Secrets — If you have ears don't bother with this place
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19701982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Stayed at this hotel on 14/08/06 for one night as i had a flight to catch in the mornibg and because of the terror threat wanted to save a 1hr commute from my house.

I have to say i was very dissapointed in the service and the quality and cleanliness of the room.At the price i did not expect much and realy only wanted a bed for the night,however hotel let itself down hugely.Firstly i had booked a non smoking room and got a smoking room,everything in the room stank of stale cigarettes~even the towels!

The floor and walls were covered in stains,and there was a large hole in the wall next to my bed.The room had obviously been cleaned ,its just that it was at least one year overdue for a total refit.The television was not tuned in properly and presented double images on most stations.This did not lead to a pleasant stay and the only area of the room that was up tp scratch was the bathroom,which apeared to be a single low maintenance GRP module and was thus very clean and presentable.

I have stayed in other Ibis hotels before and have always been very satisfied,and trust me at the price i didnt expect Gleneagles but the standard of my room was simply unacceptable.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room looked like the Beastie Boys had had a party there.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the room first.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joscco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2006

Nothing fancy about this place but it was very convenient and good value. It's located in the central part of the city about a 10 minute walk to George's Square and 15 minutes to the University. There is a bar and snack bar that were open late hours. The room was a generous size and even the shower was good size. It was clean and had a comfortable bed. No complaints.

Helpful?
2 Thank chicagoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 June 2006

My daughter and I stayed at the Ibis Glasgow during a recent shopping trip. We've stayed in Travel Inns previously but thought we'd give another hotel a try.

We found the staff at reception very welcoming on our arrival and extremely helpful the following day when we were trying to locate shops.

The breakfast was perfectly adequate for a budget hotel and the room was clean. One suggestion though, a waste bin in the shower room and bedroom would be helpful.

It's in a quiet location but still near the main shopping areas.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,553 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing