We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great city centre hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great city centre hotel.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Millenium for 3 nights DB&B in October on a Hotel Connections deal.The location on George Square is as close as you can get to the city centre.Train station next to hotel,bus station and Royal Concert Hall within 10 mins.The city sightseeing bus leaves from across the road from hotel at George Square with a 2 day ticket costing only £11.City centre restaurants & bars all within easy walking distance and the Merchant City about 10 mins walk.The room was fine and the food really tasty and if they have room you can eat in the conservatory overlooking George Square but it is probably better to book this option on arrival as it tends to get busy.Overall a very good experience and its closeness to the attractions make it ideal for persons with mobility problems.Friendly helpful staff made it a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for a room overlooking the Square but it may require an upgrade fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    447
    415
    259
    186
See reviews for
195
581
87
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for one night on Saturday 3rd November. we'd booked 3 rooms, requesting that they be ready early as we were being picked up at 1pm for a wedding. Arrived to be told that they had nothing available until 2pm, we begged for at least one room and the 6 of us got ready in there. That room wasnt great, but it was a lot better than the room we checked into that night. The reception area / bar and conservatory areas are all lovely and give a really good impression, but get out of the lift on one of the floors and you'll feel like you've stepped into the movie set of The Shining... creaky corridor floorboards, old rooms, bathrooms circa 1969 mental institution, scary furniture, windows that don't stay open, carpet with black stains on them, carpet with red stains.. a grand total of 1 bath towel in the bathroom which we had to share, 1 hand towel, no cold water so shower was scalding hot, toilet doesn't flush properly. I complained on check out and the receptionist just smiled & nodded so I'm presuming that this is a normal complaint... AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubDimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed for one night on 10/23/2012. We booked 2 Club Rooms but couldn't get into the Club Lounge and the included breakfast was worthless since they don't start serving until 7 am and we had a flight to catch. The beds were horrible, the carpet stained and the electricity didn't work in one of the rooms. Also had to wait about 5 minutes for someone to show up at the reception desk. The front desk staff seemed to be apathetic and clueless.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Spent a night here on business and was put in room 103. This room sits right on the extractor chimney and the constant noise makes this room awful. The view is so bad that they have frosted the lower half of the window so you cannot see anything out of the window. They may as well have bricked it up! Bathroom was clean but old and tired. Shower difficult to use and no power.

Service at reception was slow but friendly, no free wifi (get with it Millenium!), reception area dirty during the day, restaurant food and service great except for the welcome at the door where the man was concentrating on highlighting his tiny chart of seating plans rather than welcome his guests!

Come on Millenium, this hotel needs a rocket. It needs refurbishment and someone to manage the teams and get them to deliver a modern and efficient service. You are killing your business and rely solely on the great location.

Will not stay here ever again unless there is a serious refurb!

Finally 103 should be closed...... This room is like a prison cell.

Room Tip: Avoid 103 and 105 whatever you do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawoodall75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Was booked in for two nights just this last weekend. Very disappointed there was not a clean chair in any of the dinning area's to sit on, all were stained. So much so you did not even want to sit down. The bed and linen was clean. The whole hotel is badly in need of refurbishment, I certinly would not return unless this was done.
The food was average, nothing spectacular. We had access to the club lounge which 24hrs. You get free drinks from 5pm-7pm snacks = muffins in a packet or a packet of crisps.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for one night as we were seeing a show in Glasgow. The location of the hotel is perfect, being right on George Square and right beside Queen Street Station. But that is all this once excellent hotel really has going for it now.

The welcome we received was ok, although not particularly warm or friendly - the chap was just going through the motions. That said, as our room wasn't ready there was no problem leaving our bags while we went off to do some shopping. We returned a few hours later and were checked-in by a much more pleasant guy.

Our room faced George Square and was right at the end of the corridor, meaning we had double aspect windows which was great. The room was small, but functionable. Where the hotel really lets itself down is the upkeep of the rooms. The walls in our room were dirty, the bedside 'table' is a cheap piece of wood bolted to the wall (put me in mind of a cheap B&B in Blackpool). There was a strange smell and the furnitre was tired, tatty and well worn. The bathroom again was as clean as it could be given how old it was. More water leaked out the back of the tap than came out of the fawcett. That said, the bed was comofrtable and the sheets were clean. Towels were also lovely and fluffy

Breakfast was nothing special, although adequate. Food was luke warm at best and the quality of the offering was ok, although not as good as I would have expected

We got a good deal on this hotel, and the location is great. If I had paid anymore and was staying any longer - I probably would have asked for my money back and gone elsewhere. There are much better 4* hotels close by, that might be a little more expensive - but are definitely worth the extra. Even the Mercure (3*) around the corner is much better

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Noisy room due to proximity to queen street. This could be fixed with dent windows, but on the positive very spacious. I especially like the walk in wardrobe. I have stayed in hotels with bathrooms this size. I won't be staying here again due to the noise and decode. It needs modernisation to compete in the area, wifi is rural at best!

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mabfrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,009 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
1,636 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
905 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing