We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shabby room”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here with my partner from her birthday. We liked the central location of the hotel & being right next to the train station. Before we arrived at the hotel we had requested one of the recently refurbished rooms at the front of the hotel & to be located away from the elevators. On arrival we were attended to very professionally & promptly. First impressions were good with regards to the décor, the layout of the foyer, restaurant & bar. However, when we entered our room which was located at the rear of the building overlooking the train station, we were horrified. The room was shabby,wallpaper peeling off, water stains on the walls & ceilings, cracked tiles in the bathroom & the room was freezing!!! Every 5 mins you could clearly hear the bing bong of the train station announcer. The breakfast was good, lacking white pudding or haggis to make a proper Scottish breakfast & the staff were attentive. We won't be staying here again as the room was so bad it's put us off & the fact that we made a special request & it was ignored. Shame really as we stay in Glasgow often & really enjoy the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    453
    426
    262
    189
See reviews for
198
596
89
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel room I was in had an ample bathroom but the sil was not clean. Lent on it to pick up towel and my hand was all dusty.

Breakfast in bed was great but the staff knocked a few times to see if we where in the room, this was annoying.

Overall enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinas Burgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a great value for money stay at this hotel, the only issue being the very poor state of the mattress in our room, my wife had to put 2 pillows into the middle of the bed to prevent her rolling into the middle, otherwise the room was ok, decor a bit dated, staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, we didnt have a comfy restful sleep but the location and price were fantastic value, Please sort out the mattress in room 201 in particular...
Mr B

Room Tip: Test the mattress as soon as you get into the room you are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst on a business trip in early February 2013.

The hotel on first impressions is very impressive, bang in the middle of George Square, with a glass front.

We were checked in efficiently with no problems and the reception staff give us a good idea of what was round about the hotel restaurant and pub wise.

Once we got to the room we found it to be clean, spacious and modern with 2 double beds and a huge bathroom.

We had breakfast which we both found to be of a good standard. It consisted of the usual fry up, various fruits and cereals.

All in all a very good hotel which neither of us could pick a fault with and would return to whether it be for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartfamilyJLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed before room was badly positioned. Queen st station we overlooked the back of. Bing bong every 5 mins. Not good at all. Staying again 17 th till19th may 2013 but want the best room in hotel please or we won't be back . Giving it another chance we think. Will phone up and check first. Friendly staff. Great breakfast and the front conservatory is great to sit in and watch the world going by.

Room Tip: Club room or suite. Stay clear 4th floor. Our room over looked queen st station. Bing bong every 5 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just back from a lovely night at this hotel. I had booked online for a special rate and mentioned it was our wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday. When we checked in at 2pm reception said they had upgraded our room we were not dissapointed a lovely big room overlooking George Square. Plenty of room big comfy bed and pillows big bathroom and big tv always a good thing. Staff were all lovely and would definetely go back to stay. An ideal location for shopping sight-seeing and right beside Queen Street Station which you would never know as we never heard anything from outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a club room as they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvubecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Took my daughter with a 5pm voucher , staff very attentive , glass of prosecco , then sandwiches - tuna , ham and cheese and cucumber and creme fraiche , lovely little cakes , only minor complaint scones were a bit hard but served with cream and strawberry slice

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,076 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,704 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing