We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea minus the customer service!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea minus the customer service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My mum & I headed to the Millennium Hotel for an afternoon tea using a voucher. (itison)
initial impressions weren't great. Was asked to wait as a table was cleared, rather than seating us then dealing with this task - the restaurant was nearly empty.
Then another member of staff came over to look up and down the bookings several times before finally locating our name on the short list! Then the GREEN highlighter came out to score us off!

Once seated, the prosecco arrived instantaneously. Great, we can have this then the tea platter can come out. Nope, that came out staright away too. The feeling that this hadn't been made especially for us was apparent!

Coffee came in a small pot and that was the last we saw a member of staff anywhere near our table!

My back was to the door which everytime it opened, it stuck. This resulted in myself and another woman from a nearby table taking it in turns to close it.

Overall? The sandwiches, cakes, coffee, prosecco were all spot on.
The customer service was non-existant.

The toilets REALLY need maintenance. Was shocked at how run down they looked.

Establishments really anger me when they don't fall over guests the same when they're on 'a deal'. Called me stupid, but I thought the whole point was to lure the client back this time, paying full price! How silly of me!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    445
    411
    258
    185
See reviews for
191
576
86
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Millenium. The hotel itself is lovely, brilliant location and very striking building. We arrived a bit early and the lady at reception was very accommodating and allowed us to check in early as our room was ready. The club suite we stayed in was lovely, very clean and large with a separate little living room. The bathroom also had everything you could need and very clean! (only thing is a few cracked floor tiles that could be replaced) Along with the suite we were entitled to free drinks in the club lounge between 5-7 which went down very well and the staff in there were also really nice and helpful! A buffet cooked Breakfast was also included and it was so good! Just what I needed after my 30th birthday party the night before. We never got to bed until around 5 as we were celebrating but I was woken at 8 with work going on in George Square which was unfortunate. I don't know how feasible it would be for the hotel to look at double glazing.... it would have improved my stay 10 fold to have a little bit longer in bed :) I also lost a necklace while at the hotel and although it couldn't be found the staff were great in looking for it after I had left, so thank you.

Room Tip: I would always go for a suite room, better value for money and more room in my opinion. however the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and i enjoyed a one night stay at the millennium and have no complaints at all.Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very large and well fitted out.No car parking on site would be the only downside to our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrob120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, an excellent hotel for the price. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel was immaculate. I would have loved to have stayed there longer. I certainly would recommend it o any one. The only down side was that breakfast was not included in the price,and when we looked at the menu it was rather expensive.

Room Tip: I had a second floor room which was perfect, as there is a lift. I did'nt hear any noise and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippychic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Arranged to stay at the hotel for a girls weekend with my mother and daughter. Best thing about this hotel is that it's so close to railway station.

On arrival the man on reception was very helpful and friendly, good start. We had vouchers for a meal in the restaurant which we had not booked, but the guy on reception made sure that we could get a table, but not until later which was ok considering we hadn't book..

Arrived at room which is very dated and stinking of stale smoke, not very nice.

Went down for meal just before 2030, ordered meal, starter arrived at 2130, now we had asked for my daughters meal at the same time as starter, 6yr old daughter getting her tea at that time.

Never managed to eat all courses we had paid for, because of such poor service. Was supposed to be eating at hotel on our 2nd night, which was also paid for, but could no face sitting another 1hr 30 mins.

Could write more, but very disappointed with hotel and the constant excuses for quiet simply shocking service!!

Would not recommend a trip at the Millennium.



Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I first stayed in this hotel back in April 2013, the stay was a disaster, from start to finish.
I was offered another stay in a Suite in the hotel, and was assured that the place had been refurbished and I would have a lovely time.
Nothing had changed!
The hotel is maintained to a very very low standard, for example the chair in our room was totally worn through on the arms, I went to move the deck light so the steam from the kettle did not go in it and the top of the light fell off!
Breakfast is reminiscent of a 1970s Butlins. We went down more than an hour before they stopped serving and they had run out a lot of things. I asked for some salami on day one - there was none, but I was told someone would bring some over. Never turned up.
The second day I asked for some again and was met with a response of 'I have no idea why that's still on the menu we stopped doing that months ago'
In general the staff were rude an unhelpful.
There are only two redeeming things about this hotel - the location and the Consierge!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimonHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine Ayrshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Room was very dated and had water marks on ceiling making it look quite dirty .Was very disappointed with the room. The hotel itself is in an ideal position for exploring Glasgow. Don't think I would stay here again as there are better hotels around in the same price bracket

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing