We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the location is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Only the location is good”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

As the title suggests this Hotel has a great location. It is central, ideal for the shops and next door to Queen Street Station. That is the only positive comment I have!

The bedroom I had was tired to the point of shabby. Whilst the bed and the bathroom were clean the walls were dirty, the paintwork was chipped and the air conditioning didn't work. Given the radiator was set to full blast cooling the room involved opening the poorly fitting single glazed window and enduring the noise from the train station below to get the temperature to a reasonable level. After a disturbed night due to heat and noise I went downstairs for breakfast. I left hungry as the chairs in the restaurant were so dirty and stained I was afraid to sit on them. As a regular user of Millennium Hotels this one came as a shock as they are usually very well maintained. Not so in Glasgow, I will not be returning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    448
    422
    261
    187
See reviews for
195
586
87
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I haven't submitted a review for some time. However, having read many negative comments about the Millenium, I wanted to submit a positive review. I had afternoon tea using a voucher, this afternoon and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Reception staff were very welcoming, restaurant staff likewise, although our booking wasn't listed, this was managed without a fuss and we were quickly shown to a table. I had booked 3 veggie sandwich options which were lovely and fresh and a carnivore selection for 1. These were also fresh and served on a separate plate. It would have been better to have provided a selection of white and brown bread but this is a minor point. Cakes and scones lovely, coffee plentiful, service great. The ambience in the lovely high ceilinged restaurant was lovely. As good an afternoon tea,in fact better than that served in some much grander hotels, and I have sampled many! Thank you Jodi and team.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had lunch there yesterday .
Having worked in catering myself ,found the staff were 10 out of 10 food great and ideal seats in conservatory over looking George square . We will be back soon great day thanks to all .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My mum & I headed to the Millennium Hotel for an afternoon tea using a voucher. (itison)
initial impressions weren't great. Was asked to wait as a table was cleared, rather than seating us then dealing with this task - the restaurant was nearly empty.
Then another member of staff came over to look up and down the bookings several times before finally locating our name on the short list! Then the GREEN highlighter came out to score us off!

Once seated, the prosecco arrived instantaneously. Great, we can have this then the tea platter can come out. Nope, that came out staright away too. The feeling that this hadn't been made especially for us was apparent!

Coffee came in a small pot and that was the last we saw a member of staff anywhere near our table!

My back was to the door which everytime it opened, it stuck. This resulted in myself and another woman from a nearby table taking it in turns to close it.

Overall? The sandwiches, cakes, coffee, prosecco were all spot on.
The customer service was non-existant.

The toilets REALLY need maintenance. Was shocked at how run down they looked.

Establishments really anger me when they don't fall over guests the same when they're on 'a deal'. Called me stupid, but I thought the whole point was to lure the client back this time, paying full price! How silly of me!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Millenium. The hotel itself is lovely, brilliant location and very striking building. We arrived a bit early and the lady at reception was very accommodating and allowed us to check in early as our room was ready. The club suite we stayed in was lovely, very clean and large with a separate little living room. The bathroom also had everything you could need and very clean! (only thing is a few cracked floor tiles that could be replaced) Along with the suite we were entitled to free drinks in the club lounge between 5-7 which went down very well and the staff in there were also really nice and helpful! A buffet cooked Breakfast was also included and it was so good! Just what I needed after my 30th birthday party the night before. We never got to bed until around 5 as we were celebrating but I was woken at 8 with work going on in George Square which was unfortunate. I don't know how feasible it would be for the hotel to look at double glazing.... it would have improved my stay 10 fold to have a little bit longer in bed :) I also lost a necklace while at the hotel and although it couldn't be found the staff were great in looking for it after I had left, so thank you.

Room Tip: I would always go for a suite room, better value for money and more room in my opinion. however the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and i enjoyed a one night stay at the millennium and have no complaints at all.Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very large and well fitted out.No car parking on site would be the only downside to our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrob120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, an excellent hotel for the price. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel was immaculate. I would have loved to have stayed there longer. I certainly would recommend it o any one. The only down side was that breakfast was not included in the price,and when we looked at the menu it was rather expensive.

Room Tip: I had a second floor room which was perfect, as there is a lift. I did'nt hear any noise and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippychic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing