We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay and christmas party night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“overnight stay and christmas party night”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great hotel for a party night,good atmosphere,good food and although staff were very busy they were helpful and pleasant. Our room was large with walk in wardrobe and large bathroom although friends rooms were smaller, beds were very comfortable and room was cleaned to a high standard. The only problem with the room was that it looked onto the roof of Queen Street station and we could here the station announcer from early morning.Breakfast was buffet style and very good and staff were very attentive. Would certainly return. The location is ideal as it is right in the city centre at George Square which was beautifully decorated for christmas

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    448
    422
    261
    187
See reviews for
195
586
87
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Are you kidding me. !!! I booked this hotel through BA as one if there recommended hotels !! 3 days and nights of smelly linen that had been washed and dried since the hotel opened. . Carpets, dust , old chairs from the dump . Slidey windows which overlooked queen street station 5am "the train now approaching" room. 201 never ever stay here . Horrible , dirty and damn right rude to have people pay that much money .. Wake up glasgow at least have your premier located hotels in a condition liveable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasgowrecruiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had an afternoon high tea which was an offer from Itison . Lovely and fresh sandwiches, cakes and the best fruit scones. Great to sit and look out at all the xmas lights etc. Staff were run ragged but were very helpful..Good festive afternoon treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebirdie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location, within walking distance to both train stations and very centrally located.
Staff we're very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are ok, a little on the small side but the bed was annoying, it is on wheels so it keeps on rolling all over the place if you try to site on it or site up in bed :/
All in all a nice clean hotel, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here we were very anxious regarding our one night stay here - how wrong we were!! There were four of us, females on our Christmas weekend away. The hotel reception, bar and dining area was lovely and the hotel was very warm which is sometimes unusual in an old building. The staff were very courteous and efficient and we were checked into our rooms (222 and 316) which were club rooms fronting George Square. There was some noise later on in the evening, but we expected that being in an old building with original sash and case windows in the heart of Glasgow!! The room was lovely - clean, warm and spacious with all the usual amenities....what more could you ask for! The breakfast in the morning was also very good with a great selection of food for everyone, again the staff were very efficient and helpful. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again as the location is second to none, we will be booking for next year. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I booked this hotel and the Christmas party night. I only intended staying at the party night for a short time as I needed to be up and away early the next day. Once I got to my room I realised that my room was right above the party !! The DJ could well have been in my room with me! Absolutely horrendous! And to make matters worse, the TV doesn't even work! So I'm sitting in a room that looks like its straight out of the 70s, listening to party music with no TV. Great night!! I will never again stay at this hotel. Ever!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNOWF1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Writing this in a bedroom at the Millenium Hotel, Glasgow. Imposing building in George Square but that is where I stopped being impressed.

In a 4 star (really?) hotel I do not expect
1) to pay for my accommodation up front and additionally have my card authorised for any extras.
2) to pay £5 a day for the use of an indifferent WiFi connection that keeps cutting out
3) to find a letter in my room (105) saying that on Thursday night there is a function and if I want they will move me to a quieter room - oh and that there will be no restaurant service on Thursday
4) after moving the first time to find the function noise in the quieter room (212) to be only marginally better but that in addition until 10pm the noise from the fair opposite was as bad
5) to find that when I move a second time this evening to another room (320) which was quieter noone offered to help me with my luggage - also why did they not give me the quieter room on the first change?
6) to buy vouchers for breakfast - thought that only happened in budget hotels
7) to find both of the first two bedrooms were shabby and had stains on the carpets
8) to have no proper desk & chair to work at in any of my rooms

On a positive note the 2nd and 3rd rooms actually has adequate lighting - but as I only got here at 10:30 I can't enjoy it much as I want to sleep!

I don't think I will be staying here again and will be advising my colleagues accordingly - I have spent well over 100 nights this year in hotels and this is the most disappointing. It is poor value for money and not the place if travelling on business.

Roll on travelling home tomorrow

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing