We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #78 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

service was excellent from the minute we entered,til we left.WE didn't stay,just went in for dinner.Food average,&not cheap.Four of us enjoyed our starter,WE were disappointment in our mains.Myself &one of my pals had dessert,Again abit expensive for what you get.The couple next to us had a voucher,wish we had one

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    458
    429
    263
    191
See reviews for
200
604
92
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is immediately beside Queen St Station on George Square which is ideal for shopping and fab bars and restaurants in the Merchant City as you can walk everywhere.
We paid £80 room only for our double and bought breakfast vouchers @ £8.95 each on arrival.
The public areas are great and breakfast was very good, great selection and some choices cooked to order. All of the staff were super and very keen to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.
There are a number of options for overnight parking close by: Queen Station & Buchanan Galleries - £10 overnight (cheaper if you arrive after 5pm and leave before 8am).
The bedroom areas are quite 'tired' and in need of decoration - our bedroom had a damp, flaky part on the bathroom ceiling, if you like the 'old fashioned' taste in furniture, you'll be fine. The bathroom was huge and everywhere was spotless.
You're paying for the location so if you're out and about most of the time, the accommodation is absolutely fine.
Wi-fi is an additional cost in the bedrooms - not sure about the public area.

Room Tip: We were in 426 - we asked for a quiet location however our room was immediately adjacent to the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights last week - First impressions of reception spoiled by weird doors - fire doors that double as main reception doors. The actual reception and public areas once inside were very well presented and staff very nice.
Headed to the room (after a room allocation mix up) and noted that 3rd floor carpet outside the lift was warn and lifting in some places. This theme continued when I got to my allocated room (220). Whilst large and more than adequate, it is apparent that the décor above the eye line needs attention - peeling paint on the ceiling and wall (bathroom). Overall woodwork was tired and once you note it you see it in more locations in the halls etc.
Overall appointments in the room - average when comparing with other comparable chains and price range.

Breakfast - on par with other chain hotels.
Location - very central and easy walk to everything. George Square is bright and at night these lights shine onto the windows of the room on the front. Add old sash windows means that noise from the traffic is noticeable - traffic lights and bus stops mean constant until midnight then recommences around 5am.
Don't take a front room! but consider that the rear is close to the railway station.

Overall - better options in the City that maybe 5 minutes walk further outside the centre

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooleynuts969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

"The hotel was booked primarily for its location which is right smack in the centre of Glasgow. Top marks, you come out of the train station and it's there. 2 minute walk from the shops. Can't fault that. The foyer looked beautiful, modern decor with a splendid Christmas Tree. The dining room was also lovely, breakfast fine, no complaints there.
The room, huge, dated!!! Nets were dirty, curtains lovely with swags but old fashioned. Bathroom, large, shower over bath, shower a bit powerless, toilet not a great flusher, radiator rusty very much in need of rubbing down and painting. Towels huge and fluffy! Bed not uncomfortable but not hugely comfortable either, bedding white, nondescript.
We were on the third floor and were interrupted by noise below. Security is tight, to use the toilet in reception you need the code.......to go up in the lift you first have to insert your room card before pressing your floor button, the same if you want to go up the stairs. Security door which requires you to swipe with room card. No undesirables wandering around the floors!!!!
I think over priced and money really needs to be spent to bring the rooms up to the same standard as the reception area. Wouldn't stay again for a treat but would if I got a special offer purely for convenience and location"read less

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliesangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Looking for a central hotel in Glasgow for the weekend you could do a lot worse than to look at the Millennium Hotel on George Square. Ideally situated for car parking or the train station the hotel is not in its first flush of youth and can look a bit worn in places but the reception was first class the room was clean and tidy and the seating area for the bar is great for watching the world go by.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the train station end of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John508598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here on a trip to Glasgow on 31st January. I was concerned after reading reviews on here and I was pleasantly surprised on arrival at the hotel, as I don't think many are accurate reviews.

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful. My room was on the third floor overlooking George Square. The room was of good quality and clean, the bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was also of good quality, I will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on George Square side have a better view than others. If you park at Buchanan Galleries, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

had An overnight stay in the millennium glasgow on 25/1/2014 and have to say I really enjoyed my stay our room was A bit dated but this was not A problem as it was clean and very comfy and the bathroom was very nice and clean. We found the hotel very convenient to the city and the view we had of George Square from our room was fantastic .In the morning I had breakfast and I have to say probably the best breakfast I ever had it kept me going all day the staff are friendly and helpful so I will stay here again in the near future

Room Tip: ask for room with A view of George Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 258mark1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,740 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing