We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I spent one night in this centrally located hotel on a trip to Glasgow with friends. Some confusion at reception with two rooms being paid for by one party.
Room was okay. Clean, comfortable bed, decent bathroom, but pretty cold room with heating up at full blast making no difference in temperature and a noisy fan, which we had to turn off to get to sleep. View from the window pretty grim, looking out on extractor fans and view of side of station canopy.
Had drink in evening in area adjacent to bar. Very poorly lit there and unattractive. Tables overlooking square outside much better, but full.
Had booked dinner at reception, but it hadn't registered at restaurant. Despite very few tables being occupied, staff were a bit slow in responding to let us have a table. Reasonable price for meal, but limited choices. Three chose rib eye steaks at £9 supplement, but two steaks thin and overcooked - complained and not charged the supplements for steaks. Only desserts on menu were cold ones, very uninspiring.
Self-service full Scottish breakfast with a few speciality choices available on request. Eggs Alaska was good, but porridge was thin and watery (had much better porridge in Fuerteventura!). No fried eggs available at all. Otherwise, breakfast selection and quality of food was good. Attentive service and coffee and tea provision.
Some confusion again at check-out and dinners charged twice - but sorted out eventually.
Reasonable value for money, but could have been better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCM208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for one night on my own. Got a good deal in the hotels January Sale. Was offered a single or double room when booking - picked the double room but when I got there I was given a single anyway. What was the point in offering a double? Location is excellent, the bed was very comfortable although the TV is placed in such a way you couldn't watch TV in bed. The bathroom was fine although mould around the window and condensation running down the pane - might be time to change that window. Overall good value and would stay here agin for the right price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heldo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

service was excellent from the minute we entered,til we left.WE didn't stay,just went in for dinner.Food average,&not cheap.Four of us enjoyed our starter,WE were disappointment in our mains.Myself &one of my pals had dessert,Again abit expensive for what you get.The couple next to us had a voucher,wish we had one

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is immediately beside Queen St Station on George Square which is ideal for shopping and fab bars and restaurants in the Merchant City as you can walk everywhere.
We paid £80 room only for our double and bought breakfast vouchers @ £8.95 each on arrival.
The public areas are great and breakfast was very good, great selection and some choices cooked to order. All of the staff were super and very keen to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.
There are a number of options for overnight parking close by: Queen Station & Buchanan Galleries - £10 overnight (cheaper if you arrive after 5pm and leave before 8am).
The bedroom areas are quite 'tired' and in need of decoration - our bedroom had a damp, flaky part on the bathroom ceiling, if you like the 'old fashioned' taste in furniture, you'll be fine. The bathroom was huge and everywhere was spotless.
You're paying for the location so if you're out and about most of the time, the accommodation is absolutely fine.
Wi-fi is an additional cost in the bedrooms - not sure about the public area.

Room Tip: We were in 426 - we asked for a quiet location however our room was immediately adjacent to the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights last week - First impressions of reception spoiled by weird doors - fire doors that double as main reception doors. The actual reception and public areas once inside were very well presented and staff very nice.
Headed to the room (after a room allocation mix up) and noted that 3rd floor carpet outside the lift was warn and lifting in some places. This theme continued when I got to my allocated room (220). Whilst large and more than adequate, it is apparent that the décor above the eye line needs attention - peeling paint on the ceiling and wall (bathroom). Overall woodwork was tired and once you note it you see it in more locations in the halls etc.
Overall appointments in the room - average when comparing with other comparable chains and price range.

Breakfast - on par with other chain hotels.
Location - very central and easy walk to everything. George Square is bright and at night these lights shine onto the windows of the room on the front. Add old sash windows means that noise from the traffic is noticeable - traffic lights and bus stops mean constant until midnight then recommences around 5am.
Don't take a front room! but consider that the rear is close to the railway station.

Overall - better options in the City that maybe 5 minutes walk further outside the centre

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooleynuts969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

"The hotel was booked primarily for its location which is right smack in the centre of Glasgow. Top marks, you come out of the train station and it's there. 2 minute walk from the shops. Can't fault that. The foyer looked beautiful, modern decor with a splendid Christmas Tree. The dining room was also lovely, breakfast fine, no complaints there.
The room, huge, dated!!! Nets were dirty, curtains lovely with swags but old fashioned. Bathroom, large, shower over bath, shower a bit powerless, toilet not a great flusher, radiator rusty very much in need of rubbing down and painting. Towels huge and fluffy! Bed not uncomfortable but not hugely comfortable either, bedding white, nondescript.
We were on the third floor and were interrupted by noise below. Security is tight, to use the toilet in reception you need the code.......to go up in the lift you first have to insert your room card before pressing your floor button, the same if you want to go up the stairs. Security door which requires you to swipe with room card. No undesirables wandering around the floors!!!!
I think over priced and money really needs to be spent to bring the rooms up to the same standard as the reception area. Wouldn't stay again for a treat but would if I got a special offer purely for convenience and location"read less

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliesangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Looking for a central hotel in Glasgow for the weekend you could do a lot worse than to look at the Millennium Hotel on George Square. Ideally situated for car parking or the train station the hotel is not in its first flush of youth and can look a bit worn in places but the reception was first class the room was clean and tidy and the seating area for the bar is great for watching the world go by.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the train station end of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John508598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,172 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,829 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing