We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
1 review
“Great Location, Great Service, Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from a very happy weekend staying at the Millennium Hotel - the George Square location is superb with excellent access for everything - shopping, local attractions (Scotland Street School Museum well worth a visit), good restaurants (not forgetting a great chip shop on the corner), subway and train network, airport bus stop and so on. Having read some of the reviews after we'd booked we were more than pleasantly surprised as we couldn't fault the hotel - it was warm, cosy, clean and tidy - as were our rooms - our group had 3 rooms on the 3rd floor. The hotel staff excelled themselves - so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for Raymond and his great team at the front desk - perfect service all round. We enjoyed a lovely lunch in the bar by the windows overlooking the Square where Amanda & the bar staff made us feel very welcome. We'll definitely be back when the opportunity arises. Thank you all for making it special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manifestyourdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    452
    425
    261
    188
See reviews for
198
594
87
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Glasgow close to Queen St rail station and the airport bus passes the front door. Major shopping centres of Buchanan St and Sauchihall St are nearby.
The staff here are very willing and helpful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hotel fabric is adequate though in need of some refurbishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgbatlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel with friends this weekend while visiting Glasgow for the Michael Buble concert. It could not be any more central being situated in George Square in the very centre of Glasgow, just round the corner from Queen Street rail station and a short walk from Glasgow Central. On arrival our rooms were not ready (although we had arrived before official check in time, so no problem) the friendly male receptionist took our bags to store safely until the rooms were ready, we decamped to the front conservatory type lounge where we had a nice glass of wine served again by friendly and efficient waitress, and people watched in George Square. On gaining access to our rooms, we were pleased to find them spacious and airy and extremely well equipped with everything you would expect in a hotel of this calibre and beautifully clean, comfortable beds with extras pillows if required, have read other reviews and can definitely confirm the rooms we had were definitely not tired but accept that some other rooms may be in need of some update as the hotel is a fair age - The rooms did not overlook George Square, so we all had a really quiet night with a good sleep and were not disturbed in any way by noise from other guests. The breakfast in the morning was buffet type but everything was available and plenty of it and although the hotel was very busy, we didn't have to wait to be seated. We checked out so the rooms could be serviced, but again, our bags were kept for us until we were ready to get the train back home in the afternoon. I have stayed in Glasgow many times but first for me in this hotel, but will definitely return. Thanks to the Millenium for being part of what was an amazing weekend for us.

Room Tip: We were in 137 and 139, 139 was slightly smaller but still fine - overlooks the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannytofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The staff are lovely at the hotel and can't do enough. However, the rooms are very disappointing. They are in dire need of redecoration. The original shower in our room had obviously broken and had been replaced by a very inadequate domestic over the bath shower affair. The only way I could rinse my hair was to put my head under the bath tap! The wallpaper in our room was peeling, paintwork grubby and old and there were numerous stains on the carpets and chairs. Some work has been done to the hotel but in my opinion rooms such as ours (a club room) should not be used. Even areas such as the dining room need to be maintained to a higher standard. My chair at breakfast had a huge stain on the seat and I noticed several others in the same state. This in an area that has obviously been the subject of more recent refurbishment. I could excuse the state of the hotel if it was independent, but this hotel is part of an international group. Please do something about because the Premier Inn rooms are much better quality.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 322. In need of desperate refurbishment and too much noise from George Square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have now stayed twice at this hotel in the past 6 weeks whilst visiting a client.
The hotel is in a great location and the staff are incredible friendly and helpful. the accommodation however was rather disappointing with my room being at the back of the hotel overlooking the railway station and the roof top air conditioning units. Both times I stayed the bath and the sinks had noticeable cracks and the mechanical plugs did not work and I had to use my finger nails to pull them out to let the water away, add to that the rooms were a bit dark and dingy.
The bar was great and you cold sit by the windows watching the world go by and food was ok if a bit overpriced as were the drinks.
For a business trip the hotel and the room prices were fair for a city centre hotel but I would not stay here for pleasure.

Room Tip: If you sleep at the front there will always be the traffic noise so try to get a room at the back th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettermandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My Daughter and Now Son in law chose this venue for there wedding, and I can honestly say that the entire team was amazing, I have to say everything and more was done for us, we felt truly spoiled. We were able to relax nothing was to much, the concierge desk also deserves 10 out of ten, they could tell us places to go, give us as much information on public transport that we needed, they knew there city very well, all were very friendly helpful and patient with the grandchildren, I was so so impressed as our first Daughters wedding was not as well organised as this. The booking team, the events team, the hotel managers were truly amazing. Cakes, flowers, dresses, table center pieces, everything appeared in the right place at the right time. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. Though some of the guests done table swaps half way through the meal which made for fun.The reception was so good that no one wanted to leave at 1am and they had all been there since 2pm in the afternoon. So we are going back there for our next event. All in all Glasgow "You Rock for Friendliness" Also this hotel is right next to Queen street station we walked out of the Station and into the hotel, and Queen street station is not that big to negotiate. You have various restaurants within five minute walking distance, the Soho was great as was Jamie's Italian. Go to the Kelvin Grove museum, but take a fold down chair the architecture on this building is fab you will want to spent more than a few minutes looking at it.

Room Tip: This hotel has a bus stop two seconds from the hotel and the station is right next to it so much so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was our 30th anniversary and we decided to visit my son in Glasgow and book into a hotel. After using various comparison sites we got a price we were happy with which included breakfast. On arrival we couldn't have been more welcomed by a young man at the door who insisted on carrying our case to reception and waited and till we had checked in and escorted us to our room. The room was fine except for the view which was onto a roof of the station next door. We didn't question it as were only staying one night and didn't want to spoil our time by waiting around. There was a wedding on so there was a good atmosphere in the public areas. When we returned from our night out and went for a night cap we were told it would be brought over but after about 15 mins eventually my husband went to the bar and fetched it himself. In the early morning you could here station announcements which would put me off staying in that room again.Breakfast was ok except when the tea had we had to wait until the waitress exchanged the teapot for one which actually had a tea bag in. All in all the stay was fine but with a bit of a view this could have been even better.

Room Tip: Facing onto the square would have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,693 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing