We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay, especially given the cost!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible stay, especially given the cost!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Lowlights of our stay included:
- a member of our group being given a key card to an occupied room
- an adjoining door between 2 bedrooms which only locked from one side
- a locked ensuite bathroom

The staff were very pleasant but that wasn't enough to overcome the issues. I would recommend that you book into another city centre hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    453
    426
    262
    189
See reviews for
198
596
89
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had been put in a very old shabby room when I first arrived on the 4th floor. After submitting my review online here and plucking up the courage to ask if I could change rooms the next day I was upgraded to a 3rd floor room which was very more modern and not stuffy as had been the issue on the 4th floor. Lovely front desk man called Marco helped with the switch and I was so grateful as I had another couple of nights there.

It really does depend on the room at this hotel so don't feel shy to ask for a room change. I think they're probably used to it by now!

Room Tip: Rooms round the back that face the train station aren't as noisy as you may think and definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanweiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed one night here and was very pleased with the room and the location. Room was very
large almost like a mini suite with a walk in wardrobe area comfy couch and a huge king size bed
the bathroom was large and well fitted out all in all a very good deal at £80 per night.
Had to miss breakfast due to toothache, so I cant comment on the food, but I will definitely
use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location, fantastic service from every single staff member that I came across.
Decent sized rooms, great food at the restaurant (recommend you sit out in the conservatory area for great views of St George's Sq). Will definitely look to visit again, when I am next in Glasgow. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gingershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it was central to everything we wanted to do. No on site parking but we were guided to nearby shopping center at a bargain price. Although the hotel was past its best decor wise, and bathroom needed replaced, the beds were great and the room was cosy. We ate evening meal an breakfast which were lovely and very good for my coeliac issues. But the best thing about the stay was the welcoming and helpful staff. They could not do enough for my teen daughter and me. This alone will see a return trip. I may become a regular as daughter is going to units nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was the conference hotel, so no choice but to stay here. The location is great for sightseeing and access to the Queen Street rail station, but the hotel itself is old and very tired. We had a "Club Room" which was large but the carpeting was dirty and wrinkled, the wood around the doors was rotting and the window glass was only single pane which is surprising since our room faced a busy street. The traffic noise and partying out on the street at night into the early morning made sleeping a challenge.
"Club Room" gave you access to the "Club Lounge" - they must have taken old furniture and put it in a room and called it a lounge. No bottle opener one day, next day one of the staff had taken home the keys to the cabinets, so no drinks could be laid out. One fiasco after the other. Avoid this place at all costs!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the front of the hotel. Avoid the "Club Room" on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Although the Hotel does look a bit old from the outside the room I had was very clean and well appointed, it was called a clubman room, it was very large having room for a lounge at one end.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet was good. The location was excelent right in the middle of Glasgow, my room overlooked George Square, the double glazing on the windows stopped any noise from the street which I thought was going to be a problem.
Great Hotel I would have recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,703 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing