We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is absolutely the only acceptable thing about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is undergoing a facelift for the upcoming Commonwealth Games. The 2 front entrances are. Locked by scaffolding, and there are no signs as to how to access the hotel.

The staff is not very friendly at all. The rooms are dirty and extremely warm! The bathroom is also very dirty, and it took several attempts to flush the toilet. They do not service the rooms if you stay multi nights, unless you request it. We requested service twice and they never came through, finally we asked for just some clean towels. We were told will bring them to you when we can. They brought us towels at 10:30 at night!

The restaurant food (dinner, tea, breakfast) is beyond DISGUSTING! There is a daily charge for WiFi and the connection is terrible at that.

The location is prime! Other than that, I would never again stay here, even for no charge at all!

Room Tip: If you can see the train stop from your window, you probably will not get much sleep!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJevelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Hotel Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had lunch today at the brasserie and really enjoyed the experience, staff were lovely and professional and the food was value for money and very tasty. If you fancy dining in the brasserie book a table in the glass fronted conservatory and enjoy the people watching, really enjoyable afternoon would go again, hopefully soon!! Many thanks to all staff!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel was great looking from the outside but the rugs in the room were filthy. The location was great and staff was accommodating. We had medication that had to be kept between 36 -46 % Fahrenheit the staff moved us to a club room with a fridge, it didn't get down to 46 % so they froze my freezer packs and gave me a bag of ice which did the job. If the rugs and inside the room were cleaner I would have left a much better review.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a shame! Despite its great location next to the station and George Square, grand downstairs spaces and heritage as one of Glasgow's great hotels, the Millennium has clearly had its day. Once I'd ventured upstairs (stairs preferable, lift tiny and slow), the decor of beige corridors and tired bedrooms is revealed. I couldn't stay in the first room assigned to me. It over the alley into the train station, and had a large, single-glazed sash window that let in all the noise from the station, including an unbearable drone. My second room was on the 4th floor and faced the station car park so was quiet, though quite stuffy and dark. Furniture OK though all stuffed at one side and a bit cramped. Bathroom ok.

Can't comment on the food. Returned to my room at 10.35 to discover that main room service finished at 10.30. As a very limited number of items were still available, I tried to order a sandwich. Efforts failed as no-one answered the phone. This is not 21st century service. I didn't have breakfast as my room rate didn't include it. Maybe. Two receptionists, two different answers. Either way, I wasn't sufficiently motivated to try it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Polkadotdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location, rooms clean and tidy, staff nice but not over friendly,breakfast good. However, one room not ready despite it being after three when we checked in. Waited over twenty minutes for four cocktails on the Saturday afternoon as there was only member of staff serving the bar, snacks and people having afternoon lunch and tea. The young girl did apologise and I did feel sorry for her. She seemed pretty overworked which really shouldn't have been the case as there were a number of staff standing around doing nothing. Quite an early breakfast time on a Sunday too. But overall a great deal for an overnight stay in the city.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the train station a you can hear the anouncements, not great early in the morning.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Favouriteword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It was bad enough, having booked a double room a month in advance I was put in a single room, I asked for the room I had booked and paid for but was told that the "hotel was full up" I complained and the incredibly indifferent duty manager stomped out, hit the keyboard and stomped out, the apologetic (and rather nice and helpful I must say) receptionist said that he had put me in a double room after all.

En route to my room, the only working lift of the two was tiny, not sure you would get a wheelchair in there, more on lifts later. The corridor pretty, originally a light tan, was patched up with wedges of black sticky tape, which at least matched the heavy staining.. Room? I'll be kind and say tired, but stained, worn out and generally about to give up would be more accurate.

I went out for a bottle of water as there was no vending machine nearby - and that was a walk and a half late at night to find anywhere open. I got back and waited for the lift, as the doors opened a young "lady" was pulling her trousers back on, having clearly urinated on the floor. I know you caning blame a hotel for such disgusting behaviour, but even my comment to reception was met with no apology and more indifference.

Can I say anything nice? Well the bedlinen was threadbare, the furniture on its last legs, but the TV was decent.

Cannot comment in the breakfast, although I had booked and paid for it, and had the luxury of a late start the next morning, I was packed and checked out by 7.30 such was my disdain for this place.

I find it incredibly hard to believe that some genuine customers rate this place as four or five stars, frankly I find it hard to believe that anyone could give it three.... Find somewhere else in Glasgow find anywhere else in Glasgow.

Even stay in Edinburgh and commute if this is the only room available in the city

Avoid, you have been warned.....

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

When first arriving I was impressed by the location and the reception. However the rest disappointed me. Having to wait ten minutes to be checked in despite only one person being in front of me who only took a few minutes to check in. The receptionist just wandered around not doing anything despite looking in my direction a good few times. When he finally did call me over he asked my name then gave me someone else's reservation. His reason for mixing them up was because our surnames were similar. Despite there being two lifts in the hotel only one was working and took a very long time to arrive. The room had pretty bad lighting and the window did not block out the noise from outside. The staff in the bar were lovely as was the food however the staff in the restaurant where I had breakfast seemed snobby and like they would rather be anywhere else. Due to the outside noise I did not sleep well. The receptionist who checked me out was a lot nicer than the other and is an asset to the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,802 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing