We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Good Place to Stay”
Review of Queens Park Hotel

Queens Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Park Hotel
Ranked #85 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Have stayed here several time for a week, its a very easy going place. Rooms are good but some suffer from facilities not working fully!! like the shower. Wifi is free but covarage can be intermitant. so you may have to sit on the stair well to get reception! Would have no problem returning but runs expensive in summer months (far to expensive!).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel seem to have worsed wifi coverage regardless of floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsShoreRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hostel provides no security. The front door was never once even closed during my stay, and the luggage storage that they provide doesn't lock. While both of these are by reception, the receptionist often was gone from the counter and left them unattended. There are no lockers or extra security features in the rooms, either. I actually had a large sum of money and an ipod stolen from me in my locked room while I slept. Staff did nothing for me, and told me I was wasting their time. Absolutely terrible customer service, and unacceptable. Bathrooms were hardly cleaned, and quite filthy every time I went in. WiFi was down during the majority of my stay, yet they still handed us all over the WiFi passwords telling us it would work perfectly. The only positive thing I can say about this hostel is that they provide towels for you every day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mallory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Clean room, comfortable bed with clean duvet covers and pillow case, towel provided, coffee and biscuits, and a complimentary breakfast bag in the morning. I booked the £13 with 4 bed dorm, but I was given a 8 bed dorm. I didn't enquire further, maybe they didn't want us girls to carry our heavy luggage all the way up. Good receptionist service and very friendly staff! Only downside is the location, a little far from the city.

Downside, terrible wifi connection!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilliancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We travel to Scotland quite regularly and as we're on a tight budget we're always looking online for cheap deals. This was the first time we'd stayed at Queens Park and as you'd expect for a budget hotel, the rooms are very basic but they're clean and comfortable enough. The location is good too, plenty of on-street free parking outside the hotel overlooking a lovely park and it's only a 5-minute walk to Queens Park Station where there are regular trains taking just a few minutes into Glasgow Central. There are also shops, pubs and eating places nearby though it did look a bit of a rough area if you prefer something more upmarket. Our room was quite small but had everything we needed and at £35 for two of us for the night was great value.
On the downside, I was woken up by a group of people coming in making a lot of noise in the early hours, but once they'd passed our door I never heard any more noise. We've stayed in lots of cheap hotels and late night noise seems to go with the territory so we half expected it. The hotel is supposed to have wi-fi in all the rooms but we couldn't get it to work in our room for some reason and the shower was not great but it could have been much worse. There was a breakfast left outside our door - cereal and milk, fruit juice and biscuits, which was a nice start to the day.
All in all, the good things about the hotel much outweighed the bad. If I'd paid a lot of money for the room then I would have been annoyed about noisy guests, lack of wi-fi etc, but at the price we paid I was more bothered that the beds and the room was clean which they were, so I would definitely book again if we were staying in that area of Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at the Queens Park Hotel on 01/05/2012. Spotless room, comfy bed, tea, coffee and biscuits and a breakfast bag in the morning. great value at £25. Next time I'm in Glasgow that's where I'll be.
Bill Price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billprice356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

A really nice place to stay.
Rooms are small, can't find any lockers, cozy launge, good showers, cold breakfast under the door in the morning, really nice personal, fine beds and a good place to sleep. A bit far from the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panic_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Great Staff, Room was good, Breakfast was sufficient. I dont understand the bad reviews this hotel does mre than it says on the tin (..budget..) I recommend it and will be staying again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Number 10 Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
808 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#83 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 93 in Glasgow
912 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,798 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Hotel

Address: 10 Balvicar Drive, Glasgow G42 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Park Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing