We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unwelcoming”
Review of Tickled Trout

Tickled Trout
Ranked #1,076 of 2,590 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A little pub history - The land on which the inn stands was originally purchased by the owner of Boclair Farm in Milngavie and began life as a shop selling vegetables grown on the farm. The Antonine Wall, built after Hadrian's Wall, runs nearby and a Roman bath house was found a mile to the west of the pub at Bearsden. Also found, at the near by Chapel Hill, were altars and religious stones with Roman inscriptions. A mix of The Tickled Trout's location, character and history attracts many visitors. The River Allander that flows through the town has played an important part in its development and fly-fishing is a popular pastime
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We took a taxi to the Tickled Trout on 11 July, looking forward to a nice meal outside and a bottle of wine. When we went in, the pub was virtually empty, although there were a few people eating outside. Having been seen and ignored by three waitresses who were doing little or nothing, we sought attention. Eventually, we asked for menus and said that we would look at them outside with a drink. We were told in no uncertain terms that we couldn't eat outside (it was 7.30pm). Meals outside stopped at 7pm. I protested that no one told us that when we booked and asked why? We were informed that it was just the company policy. After much discussion we ordered a bottle of wine, made to go outside with it, and were instructed to pay for it first or we couldnt go outside. We told the waitress that she was making us feel very unwelcome. She told us that a few people leave without paying so everyone has to suffer. But clearly this only happens after 7pm! When we eventually got our meals, they were mediocre at best. We asked to speak to the manager, who was very polite and well trained. She admitted that the pub was missing a trick by not allowing people to eat outside after 7pm. She said it was because that's when the midges come out!! The service in this pub is poor, the food is poor value for money and generally the company policies seem to be of a self-destruct nature. The whole evening was an aggravating waste of time and money and waste of taxi fares. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank McAlpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We have a new team and new menu now. We are ambitious and customer focused. Our guests are the most important visitors for us. looking forward to seeing you and show you how we have improved. Best wishes
Laura and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 357 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had passed this establishment on numoerous occasions being a lorry driver and decided to give it a try.

The meal was good and hot when it came, the menu I felt was a wee bit restricted and could have had a bit more on the steak side of things.

We enjoyed our visit and have been about a half a dozen times since then

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. we are so greatful for feedback. Hopefully next time we can turn your 4 into a 5* review rating. Best wishes
Laura and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We had not been to the Tickled Trout for a couple of years. We decided to go for a meal, we were not disappointed with the food all the main courses and sweets were really tasty and everybody enjoyed their meals. The only complaint would be it seemed to take a while from ordering the food to the arrival, however, we noticed other tables who had ordered starters had these served quickly. Part of the restaurant is being refurbished currently and is sectioned off. We will be back again.

Thank DuncanKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. we are so greatful for feedback. Hopefully next time we can turn your 4 into a 5* review rating. Best wishes
Laura and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Haven't eaten at this restaurant for years so as we were in the area today we decided to take a trip down memory lane and have lunch. Decor still the same although our waitress said it was getting a smart refurb next week. Hope they don't spoil it as I love the cosy country pub style of the place. Nice friendly welcome and waitress came promptly with menus and drink order. Hubbie had a three course,soup of the day,fish pie and ice cream. I had gammon steak with fried egg,pineapple,peas and chips and to finish gooseberry crumble served with icecream and hot custard. (such a huge serving husband got half of it.) That and soft drink for husband and glass of Pinot Grigio for me came to just under £35. Generous helpings of everything and all piping hot and delicious. Only complaint,they don't serve decaf tea - come on it's 2014 !!
Yes,we'll certainly be back and would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. we are so greatful for feedback. Hopefully next time we can turn your 4 into a 5* review rating. Best wishes
Laura and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This restaurant used to be a favourite place to eat with friends. But some years ago, the quality of the food deteriorated markedly and we vowed not to return. Since moving away from Glasgow we've experienced many high quality pub meals and especially enjoyed the Vintage Inn pies which are based on James Martin's recipes. On a recent visit back to Glasgow we saw that the Trout is now under the Vintage Inn 'banner' so we decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. A big mistake. The chicken in the pie was fine but the pie pastry was anaemic and the accompanying vegetables were a complete disgrace. The cabbage leaves were yellow and old and should have been consigned to the bin. They and the two carrots were lukewarm as were the very ordinary chips. We'd just spent 7 hours driving and hadn't the energy to complain. The serving staff were friendly so it's regrettable that the chef lets them all down so badly. We will never eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JayBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We have a new team and new menu now. We are ambitious and customer focused. Our guests are the most important visitors for us. looking forward to seeing you and show you how we have improved. Best wishes
Laura and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tickled Trout also viewed

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 
Milngavie, East Dunbartonshire
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Bearsden, East Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Tickled Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing