We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food has gone downhill lately.”
Review of Royal Garden

Royal Garden
Ranked #1,037 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food has gone downhill lately.”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This place used to be great but has gone way down hill, the satay was chewy and slimy and the chips were soggy.
Pull your socks up guys, you are too over prices to sell sub standard food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Name familiar? It should be - as great as it used to be!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The name may be familiar to anyone who has lived locally in Newton Mearns, about 15 years ago the best Chinese Restaurant in Glasgow closed, it used to be based at the Harvie Avenue shops. Over the years we have had some great Chinese food across the world, however the benchmark has always been against the Royal Garden. We noticed a new Chinese take away has just opened at Greenlaw Village and decided to give it a try - the name was familiar, but we just presumed it was a common name for a restaurant. As we walked in to collect it we were absolutely delighted. To find that it was the same owner that used to own the restaurant in Harvie Avenue was a real surprise, when we got home and tasted it - yes it was definitely the same quality, style, gala our etc.......welcome back Royal Garden, you have been missed!!! Would definitely recommend! The only complaint is that it is only a take away and does not include a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish-Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The choice and quality of food in here is excellent - I particularly recommend the salt & pepper squid and the chicken satay!

Staff are always friendly and helpful and make an effort to get to know their clientele - a rarity in this day and age.

Prices are decent and they do a good take away service too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gruff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

staff r friendly, good is good too, like this place when i fancy chinese, clean environment

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juliet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Garden also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing