We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn City Centre South, Glasgow - November 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here before a gig having stayed 2 or 3 times previous in the last few years and have found it to be one of the best Premier Inn's I've stayed in. Without fail the rooms are always clean, the showers really good and the beds nice and comfy. This was the first time I'd taken the car here and there was plenty of parking available.

Only negative was that when I went to get some toast in the morning I found the bread to be mouldy. This was pretty disgusting and would not expect this from any hotel, especially one where you are paying £7.99 for the privilege. I don't usually get the Premier Inn breakfast due to the high price but did on this occasion due to convenience. A tip would be to get up earlier and travel into the city centre where there are many tastier and cheaper alternatives for breakfast.

Overall based on the room I give this hotel 4.5 / 5, rounded up to 5. I've stayed here before and have a booking for next month also and will continue to stay here during most visits to Glasgow.

Pro's: One of the comfiest and best value Premier Inn's out there and in a decent location for visiting Glasgow, ample parking.

Con's: Mouldy toast and the rip off Premier Inn breakfast price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Another great stay in this hotel. The staff are friendly, professional and very efficient. Our every need was catered for and our requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently. If the hotel provided a daily paper outlet, it would absolutely perfect. Car parking is excellent and a short walk takes you into the centre of the city. All in all, a great place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

After reading great reviews we where lookin forward to this stay, Room 120 is above kitchen, constant noise and vibration in room horrid nights stay. Given refund and duty manager agreed the noise not acceptable but had no other rooms to give us, not even offered any other premier in rooms in other hotels in Glasgow. I have seen reviews about the welcome which was fantastic, but when you complain the young lad on reception starts shouting down the phone at you. The food was excellent however. Complained to customer services via email and no response.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

After a seven and a half hour train journey, we arrived at this hotel to be greeted by a young man on reception with the biggest smile and sunniest nature ever. What a gem he is! He checked us in swiftly and asked how our day had been AND was genuinely interested in us. If only all receptionists were like him......
Our room was at the front of the hotel next to the main road but was very quiet, hardly any traffic noise. The room was spotless, everything was perfect.
We were attending a concert at the SECC, which was very easy to get to - a short walk to Argyle Street station for a short train ride. We felt safe walking back to the hotel late at night.
We didn't eat at the hotel due to a shortage of time, but the restaurant looked nice and the menu appetising.
When we checked out the same young man was on duty. Again, he was so cheerful and happy. Had a good natter before we left with a smile on our faces.
Will definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morvenscaraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Went to Scotland for a couple of days last summer. It was the first Premier Inn we were going to try and the funny thing was that the recommendation came during the flight to London. We stayed here for a night with our daughter, and all I can say that the price/value is great. The staff was excelent, the hotle was very clean, and the restaurant was nice. The price of the drinks at the restaurant was very low, regarding what we are used to seeing in hotels, and it is something that I believe all hotels should take into If we go back to Glasgow, we will surely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rooms were very clean, also bedding. Breakfast we couldnt fault was exception. Fruit juices, cereals, full scottish breakfast buffet, all you could eat, brilliant. Staff were exceptionally helpful especially young lad on reception.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank moondust203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have stayed in a few premiere inns in glasgow now, but this was the best for me. It is so central and has an inhouse restaurant not an added one ( don't get me wrong I enjoy them too but it was nice not to have to leave the building) I like the lounge area and the check in area as some premiere inn's only have a little check area without seating. Just over the bridge is the city centre and all the fun that goes with this. The room we were in 304 overlooked the front of the hotel and was still quiet. I will hopefully be staying here again. Free parking was an addded bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the back may be a little quieter - not that we had much noise anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing