We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“PamP”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Normally stay in a hotel closer to city centre however booked into Premier as usual hotel had no availability. What a surprise, lovely clean, large and modern rooms, friendly staff, good food and value for money deals. Overall no complaints as it is still within easy walking distance of city centre. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taraboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    328
    68
    22
    22
See reviews for
281
397
63
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Good clean modern rooms, to say this hotel is Glasgow centre I didn't hear any noise from inside or outside the hotel. Large car park and very close to motorway access, so great for business travellers. Meals are great value and a very good standard, and the staff make this hotel feel like a 5 star experience. I had the same experience at the Wembly Premier recently so they are really upping their game, even at full price (don't forget to sign up for the meal deal!) this hotel is a well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very modern rooms,
Very good breakfast .. you can eat as much as you like
Very helpful and friendly staff
It was a bit hot and the room didn't have any ac's so if you're going in summer it will probably be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is one of the larger Premier Inns located just south of Glasgow City Centre in The Gorbals area. The Gorbals was once a by word for urban decay and deprivation but no longer, this hotel has a great location very close to bus routes and Glasgow's best secret The Subway!
The hotel has plenty of secure parking and is in off the road. Despite being very busy the lady on reception was cheerful, friendly and very good at her job, plenty of people were eating in the restaurant and enjoying a drink in the lobby. The bedrooms as usual are spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds, wide screen digital television, free wi fi for 30 minutes and tea and coffee making factilities. The bathroom is spacious although there is no bath, but it could do with better lightling. The hotel has thoughtfully provided a decent fan for what is supposed to be summer! However this hotel like so many others suffers from the rooms simply being far too warm, overheated, the thermostat showed 23.5C! There was no way of bringing this temperature down, so it was a case of using the fan and opening the window. A terrible waste of energy.
Overall though The Premier Inn offers an excellent product at a very good price and if you're planning a trip to Glasgow its a great place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the road is quieter and you're not missing much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stay in Glasgow for business on quite a few occasions, probably 2 or 3 stays of 2 or more days per month. I have tried (and reviewed) the other Premier Inns that are in Glasgow and I can quite comfortably say that this is the best one. It has the most modern rooms (if lacking a bath) and an up to date restaurant and menu. The staff are always attentive despite how busy it gets in the restaurant at both dinner and breakfast. The breakfasts are great, just how I like them, self serve and plenty of it!
The evening meals are always nice. There just enough choice for a short stay. If I was to stay longer than 3 nights I think I might venture out and about. The city centre is only 15-20 mins stroll north (1 mile). It's in a good position for me for motorway access and getting to where I need to be (Cathcart) as the traffic isn't bad before 8:30. After that, you'll struggle.
The only issue I think I would mention is that the music in the restaurant is too loud and really crap! Its all dance music and makes me want to eat quicker (personal taste more than the restaurants fault). According to Ross, it's piped from HQ and he wasn't able to skip the current track! The other issue is that my key card has stopped working after day 2. On one stay, the night I'm writing this, it stopped after I got back from the office at 6pm and then again after dinner at 9pm. I was at the top floor with only 1 lift so I was a bit annoyed at that. Again, technologies fault, not the hotel! I like it here, I will stay again as the parking is free (not so much at the others) and its just, well, jolly nice. Well done PI, you're in my top 3 (Kings Cross and Watford Croxley are top at this moment in time Jun-12)

Room Tip: Stick to 1st floor as only 1 lift and during peak, it can be a bit of a wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were lucky to get this for a super bargain deal. The hotel is within easy walking distance to Glasgow city centre. The room was well furnished and the bed very comfortable. It's a good place to stay and a super one if you get a deal!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank immaterialman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The rooms were fantastic, lots of space. Easy walk to the city centre. Lots of shopping and pubs if you go upto sauchihall street. Hotel is quiet at night, can be bit noisy in day with doors slamming, but thats the only thing.

Friendly staff, always want to help if can. Comfortable and affordable. Will be visiting again. :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,009 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing