We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Conveniently located in what was once the dreaded Gorbals, this Premier Inn is central enough that you can easily walk to a lot of the city's attractions and amenities, such as Glasgow Green, the People's Palace, the cathedral and necropolis (well worth a visit), the Gallery of Modern Art, the central shopping areas along Argyle Street, central station, and quite a few pubs and cafes. It has off-street parking (very useful).

The room was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and helpful: all in all a great experience, recommended to anyone who's happy with a cheap decent no-frills hotel. My only quibble was that (unlike some others) I thought the breakfast overpriced at £8.50: I don't usually want to eat my own weight in bacon in the morning, and resent paying that much for a few pieces of toast and a cuppa. If you are a big eater, or travelling with kids (under-16s eat free), then the economics change a bit, and it may be worth it for you. But this wouldn't put me off staying there again, if I was in the area.

Room Tip: I imagine they're all of a muchness - and none are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Everything about our stay here was excellent. The room and bathroom was spotless. Everything we needed was provided. The staff were cheerful, welcoming and efficient. Parking was easy. Short walk to all Glasgow attractions.

Room Tip: There are no ground floor rooms so security is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just an overnight stay but very pleased with everything - especially the price I paid. Thought it might be a little out of the way, but easily accessible by bus (from Buchanan Street Bus Station, as well as other city centre locations) or taxi (£4 from Central Station).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My family and I stayed for two nights as we were to attend a wedding. On arrival found staff friendly, cheery and courteous. No problem with car parking. Rooms were warm, welcoming and spotless. Beds were really comfortable and linen was spotless. Can only say one thing about the breakfast MARVELLOUS, great selections and well cooked. This not just my opinion but the opinion of my family and grandchildren. Would definitely stay in a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

This was our first time in a Premier Inn, great staff, best breakfasts yet - better than most 4 star hotels we've stayed in and most of all very very comfortable beds.

Would definitely return to this and other Premier Inns if they are all of this quality and friendliness. Well done to all your staff at Premier Inn Glasgow South this is how all hotels should be run!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed here for three nights whlst working in Glasgow. I needed somewhere secure to park my car and it had a free car park. All was fine except the food. Dinner on two nights (I ate out on the thrid) was very poor. Steak was tough as old boots despite being sent back and a fresh one cooked. The burger on the second night was burnt and tough. I did not enjoy my meals there Chef needs a refresher course on cooking! However, breakfast was good value and nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a veiw of the carpark but are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasc1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed one night only, staff friendly and efficient. The fire alarm went off at 3 a.m. in the morning because a guest was smoking in their room, the efficiency and professionalism of the staff were excellent. Room comfy and big bed brill. Will definately stay in a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,242 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £43 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing