We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night and must say it's very good. Room was spotless and had a lovely clean soft bed. Usually stay at other premier inns in Glasgow but will start using this one in future. 10/10. food in restaurant was very nice with lovely friendly staff. Breakfast was all fresh and good quality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrenstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Warrenstacey,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We were delighted to read your comments, its fantastic to hear that we contributed towards making your stay at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South so enjoyable. I shall pass on your comments about the food to our kitchen team who will be pleased to hear they contributed to your stay.
We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    336
    72
    24
    22
See reviews for
287
406
65
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Arrived very late before a Commonwealth games interview. Was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful. Had a great nights sleep and was really close to the city centre and fresh for my interview the next day.
I often stay at Premier Inns and this was certainly one off the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phill_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Phill_Essex,

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Glasgow city Centre South. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. I hope your interview went well, and we will keep our fingers crossed for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Clean, modern rooms with comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast, which is free for kids. Friendly, helpful staff. A bonus of free parking and an easy walk into the town centre. We have stayed here many times and would recommend to anyone who wanted to stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catashglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Catashglo,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay.

Your comments will be very well received by all our team members as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days/nights last week for work reasons. Was offered the usual "quality" Glasgow hotels as one does on these occasions but asked to stay here because it's so good and I can park the car knowing it's safe. It's close to the main thoroughfare and to Glasgow Green, it's so clean and spacious, it has the comfiest beds, friendliest staff and it's really hard to find fault. For value for money, it's hard to beat. Breakfast was lovely and as a woman on her own, very unintimidating (as can be the case elsewhere). Almost wary of giving it such plaudits incase it gets too popular... Thanks again folks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear TAmember8,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. Your feedback is very important to us and it is always nice to hear that you enjoyed so many apsects of your stay with us. Even if it makes your booking a little harder, we really appreciate all your comments!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Having travelled from the south to Glasgow to watch a football game, we found this hotel to fantastic. The management team must very proud of what they have as it's as colose to the perfect package as I have seen! Staff were not just professional, they were themselves as well. Some hotels can be very bland as there is no personality when they provide customer service, not the case at 'Premier Inn Glasgow - City Centre South', we found the whole experience a 'pick-me up' as the were very, very helpful but also have this certain 'banter' that makes guests feel right at home.

As the hotel is currently being refurbished, we were fortunate to get a room that still gave the appearance of being new and we found it to be very comfortable, fresh and relaxing. Needless to say we got a great sleep as well. The breakfast was excellent, even though this plae was packed and the staff busy, they always found time for a quick chat to see if everything was alright and always with wit and banter.

This hotel will now be our hotel of choice whenever we visit Glasgow, long may it reign

Room Tip: We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and can honestly say that we have not been bothered, ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlandLass769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear HighlandLass769,

We are delighted that your stay with us at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. I have passed your comments on to the team who will be delighted to know that you enjoyed their chat and appreciated the time they spent with you.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, and we look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Premier Inn Glasgow City South in Ballater St. is very easy to find, with easy access to and from M74 motorway.
Pre-booked a family room for 3 nights B&B in a family room, for £215.50. (We stayed here in March, 7 months ago, and decided to return, mainly for the free parking, lovely breakfast, and walking distance to St Enoch centre.)

2 nice young ladies checked us in to Room 128. I checked first that this room is at the back of the hotel, having read on Tripadvisor that the construction work at the College out front is very noisy. (As it happened, we arrived on Friday afternoon and there was no work over the weekend.)

Room 128 has a (UK) King bed, and a divan, by the window, which could no doubt be made up as a single bed. 2 small shelves and a bedside lamp at each side of the bed. A choice of 2 pillows. A standard lamp in the corner by the window. Desk-height table with a reading light, a chair. Wall-mounted flatscreen TV. Open wardrobe with 6 shelves, 6 wooden hangers and a mirror. Tea-making (but bring your own biscuits). Hairdrier (no safe, trouser press or fridge). No phone in the room, but Reception is open 24 hours.

Shower room : double shower stall with sliding glass door (very slow to drain - needs attention :-) ). Dispenser of hair/body gel, and a dispenser of hand wash by the wash basin. 2 bath towels, a good size, but one of them rather thin, and only one hand towel. It turned out that you have to collect another hand towel from Reception if you wish one. (Bring your own tissues.)

Wi-ifi free for 30 mins per day, with easy access, then £3 for a 24 hour period.

Buffet breakfast, excellent value at £8.95 pp, and free for under 16s. (It was £8.25 in March, but still excellent value if you are hungry enough!) Jugs of 3 juices and 3 milks, all on labelled mats. Fresh fruit salad (mostly apple and orange, with some grapes and supposedly pineapple, though never found any). Large bowl of very delicious mixed berry compote. Yogurts. 6 cereals in dispensers (wonderful granola), plus weetabix and muesli, with fixings: sultanas, banana chips, dr apricots, dr cranberries, and pumpkin seeds. Cooked breakfast items well-stocked and -replenished : fried eggs, scramble, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, canned tomatoes, hash browns (sadly no black pudding). Croissants (very nice and crisp, but rather tasteless), mini muffins, plus crumpets and sliced bread to toast. Coffee machine (coffee OK). Nice friendly Scottish staff, good at clearing and resetting tables.

- Easy parking, in car park along front of hotel, and more at the back.
- 5 mins walk to Bridge Street subway station
- 10 mins walk to St Enoch Centre.
- 15 mins walk to George Square

Will will stay again, on our next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear eleanola,

Thank you for your review with Premier Inn glasgow City Centre South. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and great facilities met your expectations.
I have noted your comments regarding the drain in the shower and have passed this on to our maintenance team to investigate and attend to.

Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service.

We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

stayed there for a week last week. the rooms were very comfortable and all the front of house staff were great. the let down was the restaurant in the evening methinks.
the front staff were excellent but were badly let down by the kitchen .
on one night i waited an hour from starter to main course. two nights the dessert was not as described on the menu and on one night the steak was 80% sinew and 20% meat and was still over cooked.
i would recommend the hotel for a stay but would struggle to promote the quality of food of an evening methinks

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dandr_mccormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing