We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold rooms, less than helpful management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cold rooms, less than helpful management”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We are from London and booked the hotel after having phoned them asking specifically the location and amenities- we got a very good price , so we booked online for 2 nights, non refundable. When we got here, we realized there had been a mistake and we should have been staying at the other Hilton in Glasgow that has the pool for the children and next to the theatre. We mentioned it but had to leave to go to the theatre ( taxi journey away, instead of 2 minute walk) . We decided to ask the following day if we could move to the other Hilton - the one we thought we had booked, which had the same deal same room and lots of availability- the answer was no it is non refundable !!! We have since spoken to three different managers, they don't care that we were given the wrong info by the Grosvenor - they will not change it ( despite this hotel being full and the other not) The exceptionally rude way my husband was spoken to on the phone by Hitlon reservations makes me very grateful that there are other better Hotel chains on the world ! There are many alternatives on Glasgow I would suggest you stay in one of them . Apart from being in the wrong hotel- the beds are like rocks, the room is freezing ( still waiting on maintenance to come! , soundproofing terrible, bathroom freezing and not particularly clean ! So all round not the best experience !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    529
    229
    104
    74
See reviews for
254
560
77
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed in this Hilton during a business trip to Glasgow and it was great. The room was very spacious, quiet, breakfast was good value for money (9.50 for Buffett and/or English breakfast) and the location is ideal. Reception staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Jojo Negrao

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially the breakfast and your room.
Please be assured that your feedback has been passed to our General Manager and Heads of Department as this assists us in continually improving our service.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elderslie, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We recently enjoyed an overnight stay in a king suite. The suite was spacious, clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom, although a bit old fashoined decor and furnishings. As has been said on this forum the room was very hot and we were unable to regulate this. The hotel staff were helpful, however we did experience very poor service from the staff in Bobar, the bar attached to the hotel. This possibly explains why it was so quiet in comparison to other local bars. In addition the room service breakfast that was served including the coffee, used poor quality ingredients and was very disappionting given the price. Due to the location and no significant issues we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Kev5

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however it was disapppointing to hear that the decor in the rooms was not to your taste, and that you did not receive the standard of service in the bar that you have come to expect. Please be assured that I have passed these comments on to the Head of the Department to feedback, as this assists us in improving our service.

We hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Good hotel but entrance and car parking bit of a challenge. Rooms lovely and very clean also very quiet in hotel although there were weddings on - our room was very warm no complaints
Breakfast was very good - all in all good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holfanatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Holfanatic1

Thanks for your review of the hotel following your visit.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us, as this helps us constantly improve our service.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time here, especially your room and the breakfast.

As the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor is located in the heart of the city, secured parking is limited, however our Front Desk staff are happy to advise of nearby on-street parking should this be more suitable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

What an absolute misery of a night. For £40 we were all herded (and yes, I mean herded, the staff run around like border collies, strategically placed to keep the crowd moving in the right direction) in to the smallest, most overcrowded and most uninspiring white box of a room. The tables were so packed in the wait staff had no room to move and the people unfortunate enough to be at the end of a long table set against a wall had no chance of getting up to go to the washroom or bar without disturbing everyone else, like you do at a movie theater. The staff then started appearing in a frfenzy with the food, with their 'head mistress' overseeing everything. They seemed harried and anxious and so there was no sense of fun or relaxation. The food was mediocre. Tasty but I had the fish and got one and a half mini new potatoes and a pile of leeks, and it was warm, not hot. Meanwhile the NOISE LEVEL was DEAFENING. There was no way you could talk to the person across from you, it felt like you were eating in a high school cafeteria. Food done and dishes wisked away, the lights were dimmed and everyone hit the dance floor...the literally 6x6 dancefloor!! It was a joke. And for £40???? Never ever again...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bay_girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Overall was a good standard of hotel, rooms modern. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked & plenty choice. Great location,close to plenty bars. Didn't have dinner in resturant, but had drinks in the bar,busy on a saturday tea time. Only moan was that it was far too warm ( usually a luxury for us scots!) struggled to sleep ,even with window open all night. Saying that would go back,can't beat the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sc0ts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Sc0ts1

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your recent stay.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast and location. I agree that we're in the ideal location to visit the local attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Entrance a bit difficult for drop off especially with on coming traffic from the nearby carpark.
The room was spacious but very cold as the heating was not on. staff brought a portable heater until maintenence arrived and kindly offered a free drink at the bar until the room heated up. nice touch.Only fault was our room was beside the service lift which was loud, overall an excellent stay, great food, helpful staff and good location.

Room Tip: make sure your room is not near the service lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammyandSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear HammyandSil

Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent visit.

It was lovely to hear that you liked the room and enjoyed your stay, it was disappointing to hear however, that you found the room cold.

Please be assured that your compliments about the staff and the quick resolution to the problem has been passed to our General Manager, and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,291 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,298 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing