We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Firstly being given a room that wasn't ready yet, I was moved to a new room. The shower had a slight problem where part of it was broken but wasn['t really a problem. Comfy very clean hotel and had a good night at a family wedding in the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Chose this hotel for a one night stay due to its close proximity with the M8 motorway.

The staff were very friendly and our room was very clean as you would expect, we had a meal and breakfast at the restaurant both of which were excellent.

As well as being situated near Byres road which is perfect for Eating out, drinking and shopping it has everything you need on the door step. Will certainly be back in the future.

The only negative i would have is the lack of air con meaning we had to have the window open and were woken quite early by a truck emptying bins out the back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenKev83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear AberdeenKev83

I would like to thank you for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular our location and breakfast. I have taken the opportunity to share your comments with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed one week there in june. The hotel is very well located, with all amenities in a close neighborhood. It only takes 10 minutes by metro to be downtown, and the university is really next door. The room was nice, but nothing special. Do not expect the super dupper room, but a nice and comfortable one. The staff of the restaurant was very nice and always ready to help. The staff at the desk was a bit more ... Rustic, but still polite and helpful.
I would still recommend it for a business trip, not so sure if you want to go to Galsgow with your wife/girlfriend for a romantic weekend though.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank foblire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear foblire

Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and have shared your compliments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed 31st December -1st January
Aged 21

My boyfriend took me here for new year as we where going to the Ashton lane street party!

On our arrival we where checked in by a professional young lady and given our keys to our room, the staff where friendly

The room was gorgeous, very clean and nicely decorated! The bed was so comfy and the bathroom was lovely!

The location is perfect as the hotel looks onto the botanic gardens! And us at the top of byres road, it is very close to lots of pubs, shops, clubs and restaurants! It is also a 15 minute walk into town or you can catch a bus on the main road!

Would recommend visiting Ashton lane whilst staying here!


Great hotel, great staff, great location!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria123840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Victoria123840

Thanks for your lovely review following your visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel at such an exciting time of year. I agree that the hotel is in the best location to enjoy the festivities.

I've passed your comments to our entire team and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor again in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

First, let me say that the staff and the restaurant were excellent . . . BUT we did not enjoy several other aspects of our visit to this hotel.

We were there during an extremely hot week for Scotland, and the hotel had neither air conditioning nor fans, so the room was very uncomfortable. We were advised to open our windows, but on the first floor this felt like a security risk and let in even more humidity. In addition, our room was adjacent to a very busy road which meant that road noise made sleep nearly impossible with the windows opened while heat and humidity made it impossible with them shut. As if that weren't enough, we were put in a handicapped accessible room. This meant that the shower was simply a spray nozzle above a drain in the flat floor. I suppose this was so one could roll into the shower in a wheel chair. Unfortunately that meant that whenever one took a shower, the entire bathroom completely flooded, making it nearly impossible to use the bathroom and only adding to the oppressive humidity. It remained flooded for hours afterward. If you don't need a roll-in shower, be sure to ask for a standard room. (Due to a conference that filled the hotel during our visit, we were stuck with our room for our entire stay.)

The parking for the hotel was also less than ideal. The hotel entrance and access to the garage was down a narrow alley. Once, as we tried to leave in our car, the alley was completely blocked by trucks servicing the hotel and a nearby grocer, so we had to wait until they completed their deliveries before we could exit. If we had not allowed quite a bit of extra time, we would have been late for our appointment.

The staff was helpful and cheerful, and, as mentioned, the attached restaurant was quite good, but all in all, I would say that this hotel is less than you would expect in a Hilton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Carol W

It was disappointing to hear that on this occasion we didn't meet the standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

I can assure you that during the higher temperatures that Glasgow experienced, we had fans placed in our rooms, and had we been made aware that your room did not have one, our team would have ensured one was provided to you immediately.
Our parking facilities are limited due to our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow, however should our dedicated parking spaces be unsuitable, our Front Desk staff are happy to advise on alternatives in the immediate area.

I apologise if on this occasion you felt let down by your stay, however I hope you choose to return in the future to allow us a second chance to wow you.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Attended the T in the Park for the day on Friday 12 July - stayed for two nights. It was the first time we had stayed at this hotel, found it very central and loved its location. All staff were very friendly, the Breakfast was superb thoroughout - nothing was too much trouble. A big THANK YOU to all the team for your hospitality... truly appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_M186410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Janet_M186410

Thanks for your lovely review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that your visit to the hotel enhanced your weekend and that the staff made you feel welcome.

I have passed your compliments to the entire team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A smart, modern hotel at the top of the Byers Road. Great location. Rooms are compact but beautifully decorated with nice bathrooms. We asked to move from the front of the hotel (a bit noisy for us) to facing the back & this worked out well. Staff were very friendly & pleasant & went out of their way to assist us. Definitely a good decision to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Zumba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Zumba12

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your stay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the rooms and location and I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,488 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,538 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £76 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing