We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Small hotel with no cab rank outside.
Couldnt get the room wi fi working, and the phone also wasnt working so had to go downstairs to report both.
They never did get the wi fi working in the room..
Not a patch on the Hilton in William Street

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RadlettGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear RadlettGastronomer

Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that on this occasion we didn't meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

I have highlighted the problems you experienced with your in-room internet connection and the telephone to our maintenance team to rectify.

In regards to the lack of taxis directly in front of the hotel, unfortunately, the local council have deemed that as the hotel is too close to the nearest public taxi rank, that we are not able to have a dedicated rank. However our Front Desk staff are happy to call for taxis at any time of the day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    529
    229
    104
    74
See reviews for
254
561
77
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

While the location for visiting Glasgow is excellent.The hotel rate/ value for money is very poor.Breakfast was a sad experience, meager and frugal and not too healthy good if you like toast, a lot. The furnishings are all very dated through out.On the upside the staff were all smiling and helpful and tried.Overall impression ,totally overpriced

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Zoe M

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.

It is always lovely when a guest enjoys their stay, I am only sorry that on this occasion we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

Please be assured that we do offer healthy choices both as part of our breakfast buffet, and I apologise if these were not pointed out to you at the time of your stay. I have passed your feedback regarding this to the relevant Head of Department, to share with the team.

Once again, thank you for your comments as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

All very good from start to finish and i will be returning,i will be telling family&friends about this hotel.As it was my partners birthday from arriving to leaving we had a fantastic stay,the room was well decorated and laid out,the bed was very comfy,we requested more pillows and these were brought to us real quick,bathroom was very clean and extra towels were there prior to our arrival.Overall,great hotel,location&staff.Thank you ALL...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul19121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thanks for your great review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Glasgow and the hotel so much, especially the service you received and your room.

I have taken this opportunity to pass your compliments on to our entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Apart from the hotel location, there is very little to recommend this bland corporate hotel, which is a disgrace to other hotels worldwide in the Hilton Group. No air conditioning or climate control in rooms or public areas, terrible car parking arrangements and very high prices - we paid nearly £250 for room only for two nights and in hindsight, we should have gone somewhere else. Save some money and gain some character by staying in a smaller, more characterful hotel and get a taxi to wherever you need to go instead (we were here for a wedding).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank harveyhalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Thomas V

Thank you for writing your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton, but thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Unfortunately, due to our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow, parking is obviously limited, however should the hotel's dedicated spaces be unavailable or unsuitable, our Front Desk staff are happy to suggest alternatives within the immediate vicinity.

Please be assured I have passed all your comments regarding your stay to our General Manager and the management team as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in August as we were attending our friends wedding. The room was very clean and we had enough space to get ready,etc. The location is great the hotel is surrounded by lovely places to eat, drink & explore.

We had a few problems with the room it was warm but there was so much noise outside you couldn't sleep with the window open & the bed was so hard & uncomfortable that my husband & I had a terrible sleep.

Wasn't very impressed with breakfast either a few things I had from the buffet were cold.
The staff were nice in the hotel but that didn't make up for the lack of comfort in the room

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lassie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear lassie29

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit.

It was good to hear that you chose to stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor for such a happy occasion, and that you enjoyed our location and the size of your room,

Please be assured that I have passed all your comments, especially the ones regarding breakfast, to the relevant Heads of Department as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

We hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I booked into the Grosvenor for two nights. The night before and the night of my son's wedding in Oran Mor (just across Byres Road). The room was well appointed and equipped ... all that I could have asked for. On two very warm days, air con would have been good but a fan was provided and helped enourmously. Great Western Road/Byres Road is a vibrant part of town and the Grosvenor is right on the doorstep. I had to stay a third night and decided to try different large hotel a mile further down Great Western Road. What was I thinking? Never again! No hesitation in recommending the Grosvenor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Ian M

Thanks for your lovely review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to return in the future.

I have taken the opportunity to pass your compliments to our entire team and thank you for sharing your experience.

The temperature experienced in Glasgow during your stay was unusual, and I'm glad you appreciated the steps we took to make this as comfortable as possible for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night paying a reasonbly rate. Room was too hot, no aircon, no fan, no lighter bedding. Had windows open but room was at front of hotel on noisy junction. We got back to the room late and didn't appreciate the problem until in bed so didnt complain than night. Informed reception checkout to be told it was a known issue and that there should have been a fan in the room. There wasn't. Wouldn't mind if we hadn't paid full price for a room with a known issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherMill84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear HeatherMill84

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that on this occasion we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton, and thank you for sharing your experience.
I have investigated your comments and can assure you that during the high temperatures, we were placing fans within our rooms, however had we been made aware that there was no fan in your room, our staff would have immediately provided one.

I apologise for any discomfort you may have experienced during the unusually high temperatures, but hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,295 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,950 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing