We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Hotel in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite Hotel in Glasgow”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not to be confused with the much bigger Hilton. This Hotel (locally called the Grosvenor) has all the personal touches of small hotel, but with the consistency of the Hilton brand. All rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard - though all in the same neutral colours, guaranteed not to offend. I have stayed here often. I prefer the even numbered rooms which are the larger and overlook the Botanical Garden AND the Great Western Road. If traffic noise bothers you the rooms to the rear tend to be smaller with smaller windows but overlook nothing - and are very quiet. All rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and well equiped. Basics such as hot water towels shampoo and shower gel are to all to a good standard. Plus the extras such as hair dryer, safe, iron and ironing board work well. Most of all however it is the staff that make this hotel outstanding. They are consistently very couteous and helpful. They have a very positive attitude to their guests and their work. The hotel is in the heart of the West end of Glasgow, Ther is a restaurant (Bovine) see separate review, but there are twenty or more good restaurants within 5 minutes walk if you prefer a change. Parking is fairly simple but the undergrond is three minutes away and buses and taxis are plentiful in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank redsky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear redsky33

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that as a repeat visitor, you always enjoy the atmosphere and location within the hotel, and I agree that our rooms are decorated in lovely calming colours.

Please be assured that I have passed your comments to our entire team as this encourages us to continue providing the best service.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    516
    219
    101
    70
See reviews for
244
547
74
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here 13/8/13. The room itself (a double deluxe) was fantastic. Very modern and clean. However, there are several hidden charges are to be aware of. If you use their multi story car park, its a £10 overnight charge. Some bottles of water (which are left in your room) are £3.50
We ordered breakfast (through lastminute.com) and the Hotel knew nothing about it. So £11 per person was asked for. Thats not the Hiltons fault, infact after a big debate they gave us the parking for free as a good will gesture.
One last point. If you are trying to find this hotel with a sat-nav, be very careful. Its quite tricky!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a poor view when you look out of the window (if that bothers you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Tony J

Thanks for writing a review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have passed your compliments on to the entire team.

All feedback is appreciated, as we use this to continually improve our service and property and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel has super location and nice rooms, service was adequate, and breakfast very standard, which in the UK means terrible bread, sickly fruits, and fat at every turn. At 15 pounds. Internet is a kings ransom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Rob M

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel following your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and rooms, but was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast options. We do provide both a hot breakfast buffet as well as healthy and vegetarian options all freshly cooked. I can only apologise if our staff did not point these out to you during your visit.

I have passed your comments regarding the cost of in-room internet to our General Manager, as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

We hope you choose to return to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Using a GPS, the address and postal code take you a very roundabout way to the back door of the hotel because that is where their address is. It would have been nice if they had provided that information with my confirmation. Even though we are Hilton Honors Gold members, we were told when we checked in that no upgrades were available. However, the next morning we chatted with staff who advised us that they had only been half full the night before, but were going to be busy that day. We had requested an upper floor in a quiet area, but instead were put on the ground floor in a room opposite a grocery store unloading area, where they very noisily unloaded trucks until 11:30 p.m. At check in as we started to walk away after we received our key, we asked about wifi and breakfast and the staff replied, oh yes, you do get those. Not much more of an explanation, so we had to keep asking questions, as they were not forthcoming with any information. The Hilton program in most areas appreciates brand loyalty, but this hotel not only did not appreciate it, but treated us rather shabbily.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiRobTLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear MiRobTLH

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was disappointing to hear that you feel we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

I have addressed your comments regarding your stay by email directly to you, as our staff did their upmost to accomodate your requests but were unable to at the time you arrived.

Many Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Main advantage of this hotel is it's location in the university area. Lots of restaurants within a short walk on and around Byers Road. Rooms are OK, staff are very efficient, polite and friendly. A good hotel for business or a leisure break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Hugh D

Thanks for your review of the hotel.

It was good to hear that you enjoyed the attitude of our staff, and our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow.

We appreciate all feedback we receive as this assists us in continually improving our service and proeprty, and thank you for taking the time to share this.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Small hotel with no cab rank outside.
Couldnt get the room wi fi working, and the phone also wasnt working so had to go downstairs to report both.
They never did get the wi fi working in the room..
Not a patch on the Hilton in William Street

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RadlettGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear RadlettGastronomer

Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that on this occasion we didn't meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

I have highlighted the problems you experienced with your in-room internet connection and the telephone to our maintenance team to rectify.

In regards to the lack of taxis directly in front of the hotel, unfortunately, the local council have deemed that as the hotel is too close to the nearest public taxi rank, that we are not able to have a dedicated rank. However our Front Desk staff are happy to call for taxis at any time of the day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

While the location for visiting Glasgow is excellent.The hotel rate/ value for money is very poor.Breakfast was a sad experience, meager and frugal and not too healthy good if you like toast, a lot. The furnishings are all very dated through out.On the upside the staff were all smiling and helpful and tried.Overall impression ,totally overpriced

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Zoe M

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.

It is always lovely when a guest enjoys their stay, I am only sorry that on this occasion we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

Please be assured that we do offer healthy choices both as part of our breakfast buffet, and I apologise if these were not pointed out to you at the time of your stay. I have passed your feedback regarding this to the relevant Head of Department, to share with the team.

Once again, thank you for your comments as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,209 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing