We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location and nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel on the first night of our driving tour of Scotland. Hotel was in a great location on the inner outskirts of Glasgow, with a short walk to underground station and botanical gardens across the road.

Hotel is well presented and the room we had looked very stylish, yet still maintained some period charm. Breakfast was nice, with good selection and friendly staff and was able to have my first experience with Haggis.

We did arrive to a couple of wedding parties checking in to Hotel when we arrived, so people were everywhere, however staff member we dealt with was very pleasant and professional and remembered who we were, despite large number of people at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonsReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear ClaytonsReviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was fantastic to hear that we managed to start your tour of Scotland off on a high note, and hope you enjoyed the haggis!

I have passed your compliments regarding the Front Desk staff to the team as feedback such as yours encourages us to constantly improve our service and property.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Scotland.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,449)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent a night in this hotel after our wedding.
No congratulatuions at the front desk on checking in despite receptionist seeing the note.
No complimentaty champagne, or wine or even bowl of fruit.
No card/note congratulationss in room.
Pile of cigarette butts outside window of King Deluxe room. Deluxe??. Not!
One robe between a couple. Toilet wouldn't flush properly. Toiletries enough to wash a mouse.
When we complained, ignored by the duty manager.
Stay here if you want to be treated generically and sleep in a very average room. So OK for work/business trips. Amazing for speedy check out - they slip your receipt under your door at 2am even though they know you're booked in for breakfast with your family!
Want a little bit of attention because of a special day? Please don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Choose the Marriott or Sheraton, or independent hotel....
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear DVZM

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit for your wedding night.

I am sorry if you feel that we ignored your special night, however I can assure you that this was not the intention. As you were having a wedding breakfast with a party of ten people, rather than provide you with one item aimed only at you and your partner, we choose to provide complimentary Bucks Fizz for the entire group.

I apologise if you feel this did not mark your wedding appropriately, and I have passed your comments on to our General Manager.

May I wish you all the best in your married life.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed overnight in September as our daughter was going to Glasgow University. We chose this hotel for its location but I would definitely recommend this hotel as an alternative to staying in the City Centre. Really good transport links -regular buses and the underground was only 5 mins walk from the hotel. It was well situated for all the restaurants and bars in the West End and also some really nice quirky shops in Byres Road. Breakfast was the best I've had compared to similar quality hotels. The hotel was nicely furnished and exceptionally clean. Also the 12 pm checkout was convenient. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank AMY.BURNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear AMY.BURNS

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your visit.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor, and the entire team appreciates hearing this.

We are lucky to have a brilliant location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow and many of our guests comment on this.

We wish your daughter all the best attending Glasgow University and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Really helpful staff and excellent service from the moment I arrived at the hotel. Upgrade for my birthday - a lovely comfortable room. The restaurant was smart and food delicious. 100% recommend - would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAOD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear SAOD62

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your birthday visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor, and that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.

It is always lovely to hear feedback such as this, as it encourages the entire team to continue striving to provide the best service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel room was very cold and I could not use the restaurant because "it was full". the Food served in my room was very much below expectation (cold) and poor quality. I won't be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Patrick O

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that on this occasion we did not fully meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

Having investigated your comments, I can assure you that during your visit, the hotel's restaurant, Bo'Vine, was indeed fully booked, as this restaurant is open to not only hotel guests, but to the general public also. I apologise if you feel that the food you received in your room did not meet your expectations, and I have passed these comments to our Executive Chef.

Thank you for taking the time to share this experience with us and I hope you choose to return in the future and allow us to provide the service you expect from the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Good location near shops; good-sized rooms by UK standards, everything very clean for our arrival. Very friendly service from all staff we encountered. Breakfast buffet choices were of a high quality and nice variety. We only stayed one night but would be happy to stay again.

There is no Executive Lounge in this Hilton so we were offered drink chits and complimentary breakfast as our Hilton Diamond amenities, at our arrival.

Room Tip: Like many older Hilton hotels, the hallway noise can transfer to the sleeping rooms so a room away f...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Several surprising (in a negative way) issues. Room next to freight elevator was very noisy. Handicapped shower configuration == shower water across entire bathroom floor. Parking garage elevator drops you into a grocery store (!!) across the street from the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,334 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,968 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £79 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing