We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked this hotel as we were going to a concert very close by. We arrived in a downpour only to find that the hotel doesn't have any parking of its own at all so we were directed to the top floor of an adjacent supermarket - every single one of the twenty hotel spaces were occupied.

We called the hotel again and were told to try to park in one of the surrounding "lanes". Easier said than done! Cars were parked both sides of these lanes, we barely managed to squeeze our car between them as it's a larger car, we eventually found a space but it took us half an hour and was a ten minute walk from the hotel - still in pouring rain but now carrying luggage - not a good start!

The reception staff couldn't have been more welcoming and commiserated with us on the parking issue but said there's nothing the hotel can do about that and perhaps we should have travelled by train - not really an option for us as the hotel is a fair distance from both main Glasgow stations. We were allocated a 2nd floor room facing out on to Great Western Road at the front of the hotel.

As soon as we walked into the room we could smell cigarette smoke (it's a completely non-smoking hotel) coming from the bathroom, some of the lampshades and furnishings also smelled of it. We called reception and they sent someone up with a deodorant spray! We would have preferred a different room but the hotel was pretty busy so we stayed put, having sprayed copiously and opened both windows to air the room, it was just about ok after that. When we left the room later to go out we could again smell cigarette smoke, this time in the corridor, we did report it to a member of staff but he didn't seem too concerned!

The room itself was nicely furnished and perfectly adequate but the bathroom could have done with a bit of a spruce up, grouting, sealants etc. needing replaced. They could really do with putting triple glazing in the rooms facing Great Western Road as it's busy throughout the night and we were aware of traffic noise.

Breakfast was good, the young serving staff were friendly and helpful and there wasn't any shortage of choices.

I don't know if we'd stay here again, too many cons. with the hotel although the location is good if you are out in the west end.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear ladyguru

Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that on this occasion, the difficulties you had locating a parking space, and the smell in the room did not meet the standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

I can assure you that as a non smoking hotel, any reports of anyone breaking this is taken very seriously indeed and our staff would respond immediately. Unfortunately, as we are located within the West End parking is limited.

I have passed all your feedback to our General Manager and the Heads of Departments as this assists us in improving our service and property.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    512
    212
    99
    70
See reviews for
241
541
73
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We could have stayed anywhere in Glasgow and choose the Hilton because of its name. Having had a very poor experience many years ago with Hilton Sydney, I was hoping my judgement last time was an error, however, I have now confirmed I will never stay at a Hilton hotel again. Firstly, may I say the staff were excellent and if it was possible to give a lower rating, I would have except the staff were very happy and helpful.
Car parking is on the roof of a shop. Entry is through the grocery store! Then cross the lane. Great fun in the pouring rain. Delux room??? Small and in poor condition. Door to the bathroom wouldn't close, you could hear the people next door using the toilet from our bed, not flushing but actually using it, noise from the road was really loud, the wifi connected providing you were standing at the door of the room (as soon as you moved it dropped out) then they have the hide to charge £12 for it, dinner was bordering on inedible and breakfast not much better. To top it, off once back in the car the car park ticket needed to be validated by the hotel. Nice if we were informed of that as we were leaving rather than finding out as the car in front of us couldn't leave either. Having travelled extensively to many countries and cities, the average B&B offers better value than this place!!
There are plenty of other choices. I would suggest you exercise that choice and avoid this establishment.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Macca6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Macca6178

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your visit.

It was very disappointing to hear that you feel we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect.

Please be assured that our entire team constantly strive to provide the best service, and that we do receive a lot of compliments about our rooms and location.
Unfortunately, due to our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow, parking is limited, and we have tried to address this. Should our designated parking spaces be full, our Front Desk staff are happy to recommend alternatives within the vicinity of the hotel.

All your feedback has been passed to the relevant Heads of Department, and we thank you for sharing this feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Really like this hotel, the rooms are decent, well sized and clean, as expected for a hilton

I really loved the traditional scottish breakfast at this hilton,

The thing that lets me down, is the fact is it is not in the centre of glasgow, if you want to be in the west end, thats fine, but its a little bit away from town

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mark J

Thanks for writing a review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but it was disheartening that you felt we were to far from the city centre for your requirements.
We are lucky that we are situated in the busy heart of the West End of Glasgow, and usually this is only a 10 minute journey.

I have shared your feedback with the Management Team as this assists us in continually assisting us to improve our service and property.

We hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Hilton was an ideal venue for our 30 year veterinary reunion with some coming halfway round the world. Great location, helpful staff, comfy rooms, lovely buffet meal with drinks on arrival set in the spacious Kirklee Suite. Ticked all the boxes for us and we plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Jane H

It was lovely to hear that your 30 Year Reunion went so well and that it was enjoyed by all your guests.

It is great when we get to share in such special occasions and providing the best service is always our priority at functions such as yours.

I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback with the entire team, and we look forward to your next visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Fantastic location in the West End of Glasgow, with superb Bars and restaurants within less than a minutes walk. The staff in the hotel are genuinely happy to help with queries whenever asked and have a fantastic knowledge of the local area. A 10min taxi journey into the centre of the City for those who want to experience the wonderful architecture, warmth of the people and shopping experience that is getting better by the day

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Colin G

it was great to read your review following your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

We always strive to provide the best experience for our guests and feedback such as yours is appreciated by all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very poor experience. Leisure facilities are 3 miles away in another hotel (yes really !!). Bar closed far too early for residents and breakfast was dreadful (ran out of food and nobody seemed bothered). There was trouble with some residents late at night arguing after a (fairly drunken) wedding, and no sign of staff or security to sort it out. One child being dangled over a bannister by their drunken parent and no staff in sight. Definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear RichardMDixon

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit.

We were suprised to hear that you had such a difficult experience, as the feedback from the rest of your group was highly complimentary.

Having investigated your comments regarding the issues you raised, namely other guests arguing and the issue with the child you witnessed, I can assure you that no complaints were received from yourself or anyone else regarding this on the night, or since. Our Front Desk is manned 24 hours a day and therefore there would always be at least two members of staff as well as the manager on duty should any situations arise. Immediate action would also be taken if any of our staff witnessed such an incident involving a child, as the safety of all our guests is our highest priority.

I can only apologise if you feel that on this occasion, we did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH WEST ENGLAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I had the joy to stay at the Hilton Grosvenor on Thursday night. It was a very last minute booking, as I was not happy with another hotel in the city. The accommodation was excellent and the breakfast was great! Customer service was top notch as one would expect from the Hilton! I have not stayed here for many years, but it will likely be my first choice when next in Glasgow. Well Done to All!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AS1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear AS1690

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we exceeded your expectations.

It is always encouraging to hear that a guest has been convinced to return in the future, and I have shared your comments with the entire team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing