We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent hotel and close to other amenities good value for money. would recommend staying again. Will think of taking up on the offer of the gold card customer to gain points to use in other Hilton hotels

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Paul G

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your stay at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much, and that this has encouraged you to not only return, but to enroll in our Hilton Honours Programme.

I have passed your compliments on to the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    502
    211
    95
    68
See reviews for
234
521
71
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a traditional facade with a modern well designed interior, located on Byres Road / Dumbarton Road which serves the city well and touristic adventures across to Loch Lomond.

As the hotel was full we were not able to upgrade, however the standard room was fine with loads of electricity points and a great shower. Whilst there was no individual temperature control the room was comfy, a wee bit noisy from Waitrose deliveries at the rear and other ambient issues but not disturbingly allowing for city life. The car parking is an issue and inadequate for a hotel of thus size, perhaps thirty or so spaces accessed primarily via a lift through the supermarket doors which isn't ideal, resolution would be a massive undertaking.

Breakfast was good served in the room and it's definitely a hotel I would return to in the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear AyrshireBacon

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your recent visit.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would be happy to return in the future.

Unfortunately, due to our location in the heart of the West End, our parking is limited, however our Front Desk team are happy to advise of alternatives should our secure parking be unavailable or unsuitable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Grosvenor is a lovely comfortable hotel. The rooms are modern and very well equipped. I think the room lighting was the best I have encountered in all the hotels I have used recently. There is a ceiling pendant, downlighters, a bedside lamp and reading lights. Great if you are on a business trip and have to work in the evening or for ladies putting on make up. Nice bathroom, shower was a bit tricky to use but that was the only downside to our stay. Towelling robes in the wardrobe.
Nice choice of fruit, yoghurt, cheese etc for breakfast. Hot breakfast was hot.
Limited parking is available beside the hotel or on the top story of the Waitrose car park for 10 pounds. Would stay her again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poltney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear poltney6

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

We pride ourselves on the standards of our rooms which were fully refurbished in 2011 and I am glad that you appreciated the extra lighting we chose to install.

Please be assured that your compliments have been passed to our entire team as this encourages us to continually provide the best service possible.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night, 8th Feb. We were attending a wedding reception just across the road, so we picked it for the convenience really. Perfectly good hotel, though finding a parking space was a bit hit and miss. The receptionist was welcoming and cheery, and looked after our bags until check in time. When we did check in, the bags were already up in the room, nice touch. The room was a standard room on the 2nd floor, so no view to speak of. Comfy bed, decent bathroom, good shower, so no faults there. The hotel restaurant – Bovine – is certainly worth a visit – the fixed price menu was a bargain and the steak I had was terrific. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear SurreyTraveller

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor recently.

Our team always strives to provide the best guest experience and I have shared your compliments with them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I attended the Hogmanay ceilidh with my group of friends. It was a big disappointment and not at all worth the money it cost. The food was ok however my friends with special dietary requirements (diary free and vegetarian) were continuously given inappropriate dishes for their requirements. Almost every course was incorrect for them despite us informing the waiting staff every time of their requirements. The dance floor was tiny and ceilidh dancing was impossible. Dancers were crammed into a tiny space and moving was just not possible so the ceilidh was unenjoyable and it almost felt unsafe at some points. Very disappointing and would not recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear TravellerK2013

Thank you for your review of your visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was disappointing to hear that you were disappointed with your evening, here, however I believe that all the issues you raised were addressed directly with yourself.

Your feedback has been passed to our General Manager and the Heads of Department for consideration.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked a King Deluxe room for three nights the weekend before Christmas. The room didn't look anything like the picture on the Hilton website, but was fine, and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom fairly basic though, with poor ventilation. Lots of condensation. We had a mild panic on our first night as there appeared to be no hot water. However, we realised it was a water saving shower head and the water was taking several minutes to come through. Suggestion - turn on the bath tap instead at full blast - the hot water comes through much quicker and then you can switch to the shower. Room service menu is pretty limited. As a vegetarian, there were little or no choices other than the soup, as I recall. This was very good though. We were a bit staggered to note that the kettle's base was glued to its tray ! Obviously a high class of clientele in this hotel, if you have to do that…..

Breakfast was, frankly, very poor. No healthy cereal choices. What looked like supermarket bread. A few sweet pastries. Fried breakfast food in bain maries. No eggs cooked to order - only pre cooked fried eggs. There were small bowls of fresh fruit salad, thankfully. The breakfast staff were efficient and friendly though.

We expected party noise, given the timing, and were not disappointed. Quite a few people returning to their rooms and making a lot of noise in the early hours. We had asked for a quiet room and were situated at the end of a corridor. However, the doors aren't exactly sound proof and you can hear corridor conversations. They also use a very strong deodoriser in the corridors. I am not sure what smell they are trying to cover up, but the deodoriser is pretty full on !

The best thing about this hotel though is its location. Fantastic for tourists as you are close to a lot of the sights. We visited the Botanical Gardens (2 minutes walk), the old university (10 minute stroll), Kelvingrove Park and Museum/art gallery (15-20 min stroll), the fabulous Hunterian museum and art gallery (10 minutes) and even walked into the heart of the city - a further 10-15 minutes from Kelvingrove Park. There is a subway station about 3 minutes from the hotel. Too easy. There is a wide choice of cafes and restaurants near the hotel. We tried the Ubiquitous Chip and had an excellent meal, despite the noisy Christmas parties going on around us !

I would stay here again because of the hotel's location, but not for anything else I'm afraid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Allcorners

Thanks for reviewing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed our location in the heart of the West End.

I have passed your feedback regarding the breakfast to our Executive Chef as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Usually we stay at Du Vin and while clearly not directly comparable i have to say Hilton surprised us! We booked as part of BA package. Lovely staff Immaculate Room and shower. Early check in. Concierge happy to book us taxi's etc. Only minus was we were in 202 and the service lift started up behind us early on saturday. The traffic doesnt bother us us its exactly the same traffic noise as you get at one D! Would definately try them again next time. The location is perfect for getting around glasgow and tube into town. no need for car.

Room Tip: not 202 next to service lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear AuntyH

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was fantastic to hear that we exceeded your expectations following your stay at another hotel in the area, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the area.

Please advise us when you book your next visit and we will try to ensure that you are not placed in the specific room you mentioned.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing