We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before and i loved, it seems the hotel, the rooms and especially the staff have lost their love of Hospitality and it shows. Gone are the charming conversations i had last time with the staff and now it is all very matter of fact and souless!

The check in was done well and girl was very nice, my rooms was ready which is always a bonus. The walk to the room is an experience, i understand very well Housekeeping must do their jobs to get the room ready, but the mess on the corridor was a shocker. Bundles of linen at every 5 meters, glasses, cups and bottles left outside room doors, and the strangest thing is 2 big bins opposite the exit to the lift, not a nice sight to greet you, maybe you should move them to another location that may be less convient for your staff, but would look better for the guests. There was also a strong air freshner smell and i thought it was awful, very synthetic.

Room itself was nice, nice view, comfortable bed, very nice decor. Room itself was clean, but the towel was not. Amenities in room were nice. SHower head i found to be too soft, a light fine mist. People want rain and power showers these days! Also one day (Sunday) my room was not serviced till 4.45pm, dispite me being out all day. So as i had just got back to the room, i was tired therefore had to say no to the service and make my own bed.

Dinner in Bovine was very nice. Service here was good and staff seemed more happy to be at work than in the rest of the hotel. Bo Bar for drinks too was a great place to wind down in the evening and the new opening into the hotel is better than the walk round the outside.

Breakfast was just ok, nothing to right home about and nothing to complain about either. Well except the coffee and OJ, both of which were not good.

So this stay was no where near as good as my previous few stays a few years ago, even though i can see there is nice renovations done, but maybe its some of the staff that maybe have been there too long and given up on trying to please the guest! So on that note, i will say i will not choose to stay at the Grosvenor next time, next time i will stay at the Citizen M, as it seems to hav the fresh, vibrancy the Grosvenor used to have!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilees K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

When we complained to the management about the noise from the downstairs Disco we were told that as it was a saturday night in Glasgow we should have known to expect it and that it was normal!!! I have stayed in many Hotels in Glasgow and never experienced such noise and never been treated in such an offhand and insulting manner. My advice to anyone contemplating a trip to Glasgow is not to consider the Grovenor Hilton!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank 175alexanderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

On our first night in Scotland we stayed at the Hilton before starting a golf adventure . This was a very nice and comfortable hotel, convenient to shops and nightlife in the West End of Glasgow. They had a very nice breakfast buffet and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again, if back in Glasgow!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

No complaints at this Hotel. Everything was as expected with a Hilton Hotel. The decor was nice and the location was convenient to where I needed to go. Well, the only complaint is about the internet connection. I had a few instances where I had to re-log in and the speed was different, but I don't know what is normal for the area. Overall good stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Jessica D

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and have shared all your feedback with the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My new husband and i stayed here for two nights after our wedding. The staff could not have done any more to make us feel welcome and looked after during our stay. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank LozzaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear LozzaGlasgow

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I have ensured your compliments have been passed to our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A postgraduate student at Glasgow University and my wife a teacher in Glasgow primary schools near George's cross in the 60s we always return to the west end. The Grosvenor retains a Scottish feel, staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms recently restored to a good form. Located at Great Western and Byres Road it us near the University and many of the best restaurants and pubs. Our next return trip will find us at the Grosvenor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear EugeneLong

Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your return to Glasgow, especially the atmosphere in the hotel and the area.

Please be assured that I have passed your compliments to our entire team as this encourages us to continue providing the best service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a very good experience in staying the hotel that we chose to attend a wedding. It was centrally located, nice and clean, lots of choices in breakfast room, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Delux rooms are overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShamsuzzamanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear ShamsuzzamanK

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit and especially our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow.

Please be assured that I have shared your compliments with the entire team as this encourages us to continue providing the best service.

We hope to welcome you back to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,526 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,416 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £79 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing