We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Oban
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Noisy”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel-nice/Staff-VG/Room-Excellent BUT!!! so noisy.Our room faced Great Western Road at Byres Road junction.Nice view of Botanic Gardens and old BBC but so noisy.There is no way you could equate to Premier Inn "Good Night's Sleep"-Street noise and traffic noise prevented any sleep.Surely secondary glazing is "planned".If not then will not be back!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night do not have a room overlooking Great Western Road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWTHOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    513
    213
    100
    70
See reviews for
242
543
73
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff at this hotel are excellent - we enjoyed great service. However, a good hotel is primarily about a comfortable and restful stay - this we did not get. The bed is the fundamental issue here - it was hard and uncomfortable. Our travelling companions experienced the same with their beds too. Our room was on the busy Great Western Road, so the room was noisy as well. There is no airconditioning, requiring the window to open to let some fresh air in - together with the noise.
Strangely for a so-called' premium" brand, there was no bar fridge in the room either.
Overall, its a tough call for more than a couple of nights.
The hotel is located in the trendy west end of Glasgow, close to shops, restaurants and bars. This is a good thing, but overshadowed by a poor standard of comfort that should not exist in a hotel this well located and with such great staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a lovely room for our four day stay but it's a shame the walls are so thin as we were disturbed at 3am by the TV at high volume next door and another night by a party going on in the same room until 2am. We called reception on the first occasion and they came immediately to speak to the occupants. The bathroom fan did not work and although we reported this twice no-one came to fix it. But overall it's a lovely hotel, is very convenient and breakfast staff especially were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TiggerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
184 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The welcome was great - door man and reception staff were friendly and very helpfull. The hotel is very nice, bar very modern and welcoming. I think the rooms could do with a little updating though you do expect a bit more from a Hilton hotel. Breakfast was good but a little hectic and I was surprised that we weren't served out tea or coffee by a waitress we just had to help ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECMATTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We came for a friends wedding, who had organised rooms at this hotel as this was the venue for the reception. The whole weekend was very good; the staff were all great before, during and after the wedding. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank tomdA6385HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel is located in the popular West end of Glasgow, at the top of Byres Road as it meets Great Western Road with its vibrant shops and people. Hotel parking is in a shared car park opposite the hotel, accessed via a lane at the hotels front doors. This is a beautiful hotel and the night I stayed their were five weddings taking place but you would never have known it. service was outstanding, food was great and rooms were beautiful, excellent breakfast, rooms only lacked some air con.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very smart hotel and convenient for University and Hospitals. Good rooms and quiet. Convenient parking in a Hilton area in adjacent multi storey. The breakfast is excellent with a wide selection of cooked, continental and fruit. All fresh and well done. The wi fi is complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing