We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel last weekend with friends.
We were in Glasgow for a concert,only live 30 miles away but decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay in the city.
What a treat it turned out to be.On arrival the reception staff were lovely as were all the staff throughout the hotel.
The room was spotless and overlooked the Botanic Gardens so was very peaceful at night.
We had lovely big fluffy dressing gowns and complimentary water and fruit.
The shower was great and came with huge soft towels.
Breakfast was superb with anything you could wish for and again the staff were very friendly and helpful.
All in all this hotel was excellent and great value for money.
We will certainly be going back there for our next visit to the city. 10 out of 10!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear Mags60,

It is incredibly encouraging for our Team Members and myself when we read reviews like yours. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I wanted to be in the West End of Glasgow so this hotel was conveniently located. However it is also very easy to get back into the City - underground station is close by, so may use it again even if wanting to be in the City Centre, because the value for money makes it competitive with the city centre hotels. The staff on reception and in the dining room were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great, so much choice, and for a DIY job, it was refreshed on a regular basis. the only down side is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms, and the weather was quite hot. There appeared to be air conditioning in the public areas of the hotel. Didn't dine in the evenings at the hotel, but the Bovine restaurant looks interesting, so may well dine there next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel was such a disappointment. We booked it because it was 4 star and decided to treat ourselves and spend the extra money. What a waste of money.. The rooms are shabby, small and very stuffy.. and we were supposedly in the nice rooms over looking the park. We complained about the standard and the staff admitted that the rooms need a refurbishment.. in that case don't charge premium prices!! They included breakfast as compensation... I would prefer if they rated the hotel properly as a 2.5-3 star so that a complaint isn't necessary!! If this is Hilton standard I would hesitate in booking a Hilton hotel again... The only positive thing about this hotel is the staff and location.. there must be a better hotel nearby!!!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CorkMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Dear CorkMod,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff, I will make sure to let them know your remarks.

On the other hand, I am very sorry that your stay in our hotel was marred by the overall quality of the room. Just for your information, we are in the process of refurbishing completely all our rooms but, due to the high level of demand we normally experience, we have only completed 1/3 so far.

Kindest regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hilton Experience
We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival, check in was done in a very friendly way which put us at ease.
The room was ok but very basic and the view from the room was not very good but everything else was ok with in the room.
The location was very good and very covenant for getting into Glasgow City centre and very easy to get to Loch Lomand etc.
Amenities were also good and again staff very friendly and helpful.
What we liked best was the way we were treated and greeted, in all areas of the Hotel.
Parking was not easy as Hilton only have a few spaces however you can park in nearby streets.
Bert and Audrey Lumsden

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSLFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear RSLFife,

It was a real pleasure to have you stay at our property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

this was our second stay this year. Last time was in February when we had a really nice room. This time the room was very small, very warm with very little ventilation which mad it difficult to sleep. On a positive note though the new restaurant is now open and is really great. Next time we visit we will check the room out first before agreeing.

Great service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear BriNig,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us.

I am only sorry that your stay was slightly marred by the temperature of the room. As you are probably already aware, we are a listed building and we are looking to install A/C units in our rooms as soon as we receive authorisation to do so.

On the other hand, your comments on our brand new BoVine restaurant are more than welcome. Our chef and the restaurant manager will be really happy to learn about them.

Look forward to welcoming you again to our property,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My partner and I spent a free "bonus" night in Glasgow for the West End Festivals. We were met by very friendly staff, and also the room was very nice and with modern decor, as well view to Byres Road. We would very much consider to come back for another stay.

Thanks
Espen

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed in the Hilton Grosvenor attending a conference at Glasgow University. The University is within walking distance (5 minutes). The hotel is generally in good shape, in a partly historical building. My room was nice and quite commodious, and breakfast was excellent! The table lamp in my room was broken, but replaced after told to the room service. Generally very friendly staff, arrived late in the evening and felt very welcome. Room service was great, very good food from the restaurant! Up-to-date, there's no A/C in the rooms; that can be a little bit uncomfortable in hot weather, but according to the manager at the reception, they are currently refurbishing all the rooms and plan on installing A/C units in them shortly. There's a computer corner, a business center and internet high-speed access in the rooms - but not for free. Surrounding area is quite lively, quite a lot of shops, cafés, restaurants, and traffic, in other words: cool but not too calm. All in all - very good hotel, specially for business guests and visitors of the near University.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylongstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,411 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,008 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £81 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing