We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grad Ball Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grad Ball Venue”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I attended the University of Glasgow SMLC Graduation Ball on the 24 June 2010 at the Hilton Grosvenor Hotel. The ticket price was £45, which included a three course meal. Never in my memory have I eaten a worse meal at a hotel: the products were cheap, frugal and wholly lacking in flavour. The soup was glutinous and salty, the vegetables were frozen and the chicken was insipid. The pudding was a milky jelly. In all my years of air and rail travel, I have never eaten worse. For University staff, the ticket was already costly; for students, the ball ticket is a major investment, particularly if they attend as a couple. We do not expect to receive so little (the food per unit could not have cost little more than a few pounds) for what we paid. I shall dissuade future Grad Ball Committees from holding events at this local venue. This is a shame because the hotel is conveniently placed and the building is well-designed for such events; despite the food, the atmosphere was excellent. But the hotel definitely took advantage of local students in terms of the very poor quality of food served up.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Dear VicReid,

I am sorry to hear that the menu selected by your committee for your function was not to your satisfaction. We have had nothing but good feedback from the organisers so I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef so that we may find out whether something was wrong with your particular plate.

Regarding the cost of the tickets, please bear in mind that it was your organistion who fixed the price. The Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor does not demand a minimum retail price or try to influence ticket prices in any manner.

Finally, you accuse our property of "taking advantage of local students" based solely on decisions made by your institution. I find this unnaceptable, especially since our only aim is to provide the best level of service to our customers so I would encourage you to refrain from posting baseless accusations in a public website like this one.

Should you have any further queries please feel free to contact me at any time.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    516
    219
    101
    70
See reviews for
244
547
74
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed for one night in the Hilton. As soon as we checked in to our room we could tell someone has been smoking in the room. The staff apologized profusely and gave us a new room which was also an ungrade. A free bottle of wine and free bottled water was in the room. Our room was very large, clean, comfortable and the area around the hotel is lovely. The botanical gardens is across the street and there are some really nice local restaurants. Parking is free as well and breakfast was very good. Large selection and good quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear emmaline,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We aim to provide only the best service so knowing that we suceeded in making your stay a memorable one (despite that small smoke-related hiccup) is just the perfect reward.

We look forward to having you again as our guest soon.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel last weekend with friends.
We were in Glasgow for a concert,only live 30 miles away but decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay in the city.
What a treat it turned out to be.On arrival the reception staff were lovely as were all the staff throughout the hotel.
The room was spotless and overlooked the Botanic Gardens so was very peaceful at night.
We had lovely big fluffy dressing gowns and complimentary water and fruit.
The shower was great and came with huge soft towels.
Breakfast was superb with anything you could wish for and again the staff were very friendly and helpful.
All in all this hotel was excellent and great value for money.
We will certainly be going back there for our next visit to the city. 10 out of 10!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear Mags60,

It is incredibly encouraging for our Team Members and myself when we read reviews like yours. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I wanted to be in the West End of Glasgow so this hotel was conveniently located. However it is also very easy to get back into the City - underground station is close by, so may use it again even if wanting to be in the City Centre, because the value for money makes it competitive with the city centre hotels. The staff on reception and in the dining room were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great, so much choice, and for a DIY job, it was refreshed on a regular basis. the only down side is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms, and the weather was quite hot. There appeared to be air conditioning in the public areas of the hotel. Didn't dine in the evenings at the hotel, but the Bovine restaurant looks interesting, so may well dine there next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel was such a disappointment. We booked it because it was 4 star and decided to treat ourselves and spend the extra money. What a waste of money.. The rooms are shabby, small and very stuffy.. and we were supposedly in the nice rooms over looking the park. We complained about the standard and the staff admitted that the rooms need a refurbishment.. in that case don't charge premium prices!! They included breakfast as compensation... I would prefer if they rated the hotel properly as a 2.5-3 star so that a complaint isn't necessary!! If this is Hilton standard I would hesitate in booking a Hilton hotel again... The only positive thing about this hotel is the staff and location.. there must be a better hotel nearby!!!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorkMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear CorkMod,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff, I will make sure to let them know your remarks.

On the other hand, I am very sorry that your stay in our hotel was marred by the overall quality of the room. Just for your information, we are in the process of refurbishing completely all our rooms but, due to the high level of demand we normally experience, we have only completed 1/3 so far.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hilton Experience
We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival, check in was done in a very friendly way which put us at ease.
The room was ok but very basic and the view from the room was not very good but everything else was ok with in the room.
The location was very good and very covenant for getting into Glasgow City centre and very easy to get to Loch Lomand etc.
Amenities were also good and again staff very friendly and helpful.
What we liked best was the way we were treated and greeted, in all areas of the Hotel.
Parking was not easy as Hilton only have a few spaces however you can park in nearby streets.
Bert and Audrey Lumsden

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSLFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Dear RSLFife,

It was a real pleasure to have you stay at our property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

this was our second stay this year. Last time was in February when we had a really nice room. This time the room was very small, very warm with very little ventilation which mad it difficult to sleep. On a positive note though the new restaurant is now open and is really great. Next time we visit we will check the room out first before agreeing.

Great service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGrovenor, Front Office Manager at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Dear BriNig,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us.

I am only sorry that your stay was slightly marred by the temperature of the room. As you are probably already aware, we are a listed building and we are looking to install A/C units in our rooms as soon as we receive authorisation to do so.

On the other hand, your comments on our brand new BoVine restaurant are more than welcome. Our chef and the restaurant manager will be really happy to learn about them.

Look forward to welcoming you again to our property,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,210 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing