We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Glasgow Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Glasgow Hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from weekend stay at Menzies. Great stay, hotel clean, easy to get too off 8. Secure car park opposite Hotel for bargain price of £3 each day. Our room was large, clean and well equipped with hairdryer, iron and board, fridge, tv and tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom had the most powerful shower I have ever experienced - fantastic. Bed huge- 2 single beds pushed together but made up as a double with enormous duvet - very comfy. We slept well, the hotel was very quiet and the black out curtains very efficient! The staff were excellent, always helpful, cheerful and polite. We used the pool and gym which were good and also ate twice in the bar area. The food was good and served with a smile. We only ate breakfast one morning and didn't arrive till 9.30a and did find some food was running out, there was no bacon left and the scrambled eggs looked a bit ropey however the haggis was delicious. We couldn't see nay cereal but it may have been there somewhere. Overall we would definitely stay at Menzies again but i think i would just book a room only rate as there are lots of places to eat and the hotel is only a 15 min max walk into town or a fiver in a cab. Highly recommended and well done to excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eviepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    756
    293
    106
    76
See reviews for
374
899
69
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dundee, scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

just back from a 2 night stay-hotel is getting shabby and needs updating- the rooms and the main areas are tired. Nice pool. nice staff, food in the restaurant was fantastic and for that reason alone it made the stay better. Stayed in lots of hotels in Glasgow and the competition is hard so Menzies you need to try harder!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breaklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Breaklover…

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review. I was pleased to hear that you found the food quality fantastic for dinner and thank you for fyour eedback I have passed on your kind comments to my Head Chef and his team.

I was concerned to read that you felt that your room was shabby and the public areas in need of updating and have tried to contact you through the site to understand more. I would advise that we have just finished one phase of bedroom refurbishment and have now completely replaced every bedroom carpet throughout the hotel and two corridors only last week as other reviewers have positively highlighted.

We are constantly upgrading areas throughout the hotel and certainly will take on board your feedback when planning further refurbishment works.

I was pleased to hear that you found all the staff very friendly and you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Glasgow in the near future.

Best wishes


Philip
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have stayed at the Menzies Glasgow 5 times and dont have anything to complain of the rooms are large clean and well furnished, the spa area is relaxing and the beauty salon treatments at Savannah Spa are good but booking in advance is advised.

Breakfast is nice and have lots of options but cooked food is on a hot plate not made to order, close by parking is value for money at only £3.

i have eaten at the resturant once annd it was okay but there are so many better places to eat in Glasgow that i would recommend eating out if possible.

Room Tip: room at back are quiet, if staying more than 1 night i would book an apatments they are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I recently stayed at Menzies in Glasgow and I have to say they never fail to provide a service that keeps us coming back again and again.

We hired a room to work from during the day and a young boy called David was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. In the evening we stayed in a beautiful clean room and our breakfast was fantastic. The car parking facilities are very convenient as well.

Thanks again. We will be back!

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jamese83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is rated 4*. Compared to other 4* with similar prices in Glasgow the rooms are quite poor. We were on 6th floor in a deluxe room. The room itself was large but dark as only one small window in the corner. The wallpaper was peeling in parts and the carpet and walls were stained in areas. The fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy and overall it just looked and felt very dated and tired. Certainly not to 4* standards.

The food (dinner)on the other hand was fantastic. Excellent menu, service and food itself was fantastic and very good value for money (£20 for 2 courses). Breakfast was a bit of a letdown after that. Food stored in greasy containers, very small serving area so crowded. After the previous evenings meal we were very disappointed.

The pool is very small and the Jacuzzi was hotter than I would normally bathe in. Not pleasant. Crowded pool and again facilities felt a bit tired.

I would go elsewhere to stay in future, but would definitely go back to the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules221974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We used this hotel for some meetings and overnight accommodation this week and the service was second to none. Very friendly and attentive staff from reception and food service staff. Although I didn't get chance to use the leisure facilities, they looked very impressive and the hotel was immaculately clean and tidy. I will definitely use this next time I'm using a hotel in Glasgow for business or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Very enjoyable stay here for a 3 day conference in Glasgow. Had an executive room - probably the most spacious hotel room I've ever stayed in! Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet, comfortable, clean room. Firm bed. Good breakfast. Nice swimming pool.

5 minutes walk to the Airport shuttle bus stops into and out of the city centre. Easy 10 minute walk into the city centre and pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the river to the SECC (The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre).

Area immediately around the hotel is a little austere but I can't say that bothered me. Would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avigdorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,946 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,421 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing