We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great except for wi-fi access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great except for wi-fi access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Absolutely rubbish free wi-fi. Constantly crashing. Was in the process of writing a 15 min review of restaurant and lost everything. Problems with video calling home: screen freezes; lost connection, etc. That aside hotel and facilities really good. Food to a high standard but despite advertising a set menu you have to pay for extras such as veg or potatoes at a cost of £3+ per dish.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback and also thank you for talking to me.

I was however saddened to read that wifi connection via BT Openzone has being problematic and thank you for your assistance in speaking with BT to help us resolve this and be assured that this is not indicative as we discussed our costs to offer this service are substantial and therefore we take this very seriously as with all customer service.

I am also sorry that you did not call down to reception and report it, as I am sure had we being given the opportunity we would have done all we could to resolve this to your total satisfaction

I was pleased to hear you are with us throughout a April and I hope to meet you at some point during your stay.

Thank you again for submitting your great review.

Sincerely

Philip
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    710
    264
    93
    67
See reviews for
341
823
64
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandria, Cyprus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Menzies Hotel has everything you will need when visiting Glasgow. It is very conveniently located, has lovely ensuite rooms, an excellent gym and spa facility and super dining and drinking areas. During our stay (in Apr 12) we found the staff to be incredibly courteous and polite. Would we visit again? Hell yes!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I loved the swimming pool, jacousie,and spa facilities, so nice to be integral so you dont get cold going back to your room afterwards, and they'd even included a machine to dry your swimming costume which I'd never come across before. I swam three times in the two days! Food was excellant (had a bar snack and two breakfasts).
Room was luxurious and the drink supply topped up with hot choclates as well as tea and coffees. Room was nice and warm despite being cold December, and bathroom all clean and working well. The only negatives I could say was that it was next to the door for the cleaning staff to go through so staff chatter could be heard first thing; and there was a slight damp smell at the room entrance which seemed to linger. I would go back evry time!

Room Tip: cant compare prices as work paid..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel from10 - 15 April 2012. Excellent breakfast, clean and spacy twin room (room 417). All the rooms have free access to Internet (Wifi).
The staff is very efficient, helpfull and friendly. The hotel is close enough to walk to the citycentre and the central train station (8 minutes) and has the perfect distance to make the hotel quiet without the noise of a citycentre. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, you can take at this stop the regular bus of the public transport or the "hop on hop off" sight seeing bus (a 2-day ticket for the hop on hop off bus costs only 11 Pounds). This is very convienient and makes exploring Glasgow very easy. A taxi from or to the airport will cost you between 20 and 30 Pounds.
We didn't use the spa, swimming pool or sauna of the hotel, but it is all there to please the guests. Filling the bathtub with hot and cold water only takes a few minutes, I have never had this before, such a high pressure on the watertaps!
If there is anything the hotel could improve it would be the menu of the dinner in their restaurant. Eating a dinner in hotel Menzies is pretty expensive and the choice of courses is limited. You always have to take a combination of 2 or 3 courses with a fixed price. An Angus beef brings you to a supplement of 15 Pounds on the price of the 2 or 3 course. The quality of the food is excellent what goes for the staff of the restaurant too.
The breakfastbuffet was as I mentioned excellent, the staff takes care that the food is topped up all the the time and also keeps looking tasty. A large choice of cereals, followed by bacon, poached eggs, sausages, black pudding, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes and pancakes. For those who want a continental breakfast there are rolls or brown/white toast with Chedar cheese, ham and 3 kinds of marmelade/jams. On request they can frie the eggs to your liking. Of course a choice of juices.
The healthy choice offers you fruit and yoghurt.
When you enter the breakfastroom the staff brings you to a table and asks you or you want tea or coffee. This is all well organized and gives you the guarantee of fresh tea and coffee (in a cafetiere, so hot and tasty coffee).
Resuming we were very satisfied about Menzies hotel and can recommend this hotel for both pleasure and business. They are also very child friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing Argyle street because of the traffic noise when you sleep with the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volvoMalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Apart from the surly receptionist, I couldn't fault this hotel. Good value for money, not bad location, comfy clean room and a decent breakfast spread. Would use again for a trip to Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from weekend stay at Menzies. Great stay, hotel clean, easy to get too off 8. Secure car park opposite Hotel for bargain price of £3 each day. Our room was large, clean and well equipped with hairdryer, iron and board, fridge, tv and tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom had the most powerful shower I have ever experienced - fantastic. Bed huge- 2 single beds pushed together but made up as a double with enormous duvet - very comfy. We slept well, the hotel was very quiet and the black out curtains very efficient! The staff were excellent, always helpful, cheerful and polite. We used the pool and gym which were good and also ate twice in the bar area. The food was good and served with a smile. We only ate breakfast one morning and didn't arrive till 9.30a and did find some food was running out, there was no bacon left and the scrambled eggs looked a bit ropey however the haggis was delicious. We couldn't see nay cereal but it may have been there somewhere. Overall we would definitely stay at Menzies again but i think i would just book a room only rate as there are lots of places to eat and the hotel is only a 15 min max walk into town or a fiver in a cab. Highly recommended and well done to excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eviepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee, scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

just back from a 2 night stay-hotel is getting shabby and needs updating- the rooms and the main areas are tired. Nice pool. nice staff, food in the restaurant was fantastic and for that reason alone it made the stay better. Stayed in lots of hotels in Glasgow and the competition is hard so Menzies you need to try harder!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breaklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Breaklover…

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review. I was pleased to hear that you found the food quality fantastic for dinner and thank you for fyour eedback I have passed on your kind comments to my Head Chef and his team.

I was concerned to read that you felt that your room was shabby and the public areas in need of updating and have tried to contact you through the site to understand more. I would advise that we have just finished one phase of bedroom refurbishment and have now completely replaced every bedroom carpet throughout the hotel and two corridors only last week as other reviewers have positively highlighted.

We are constantly upgrading areas throughout the hotel and certainly will take on board your feedback when planning further refurbishment works.

I was pleased to hear that you found all the staff very friendly and you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Glasgow in the near future.

Best wishes


Philip
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The "Waves" health and leisure club offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing